2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 5 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Engine mounts, transmission.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive very fast, but if you own 2004-2009, get rid of it, it's not worth the headache.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2010

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

Transmission is going. Right before the warranty expired, I sent it in to get it checked out and they recommended a transmission flush. I had the flush done and the transmission is worse. It shifts hard from 1st to 2nd and if you drive it for a while it gets stuck in 1st and does nothing but rev up. There is a constant ticking noise when the engine is in idle.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable and sporty looking, but what's under the hood is slowly costing me a fortune and I'm not happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2010

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I will buy another, but with rear wheel drive

Faults:

Battery leaking after one year. Replaced under warranty.

Right front shock absorber leaking. Replaced under warranty.

Tires cracked/rear suspension recalled - all replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

It's a great car. It handles great due to the sport tuned suspension. Fuel economy is good and and it's reliable.

Interior feels cheap.

What I hate the most are the heat/cool controls. There are buttons to control the temperature (instead of a knobs). If you want to change temp. from hot to cold (or vice-versa) you have hold the button. It takes just a few seconds, but it could take less than a second if there was a knob (a dial) you could turn.

Too much torque on the front wheels while accelerating hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2010

11th Sep 2010, 05:30

Sorry, I don't think the Maxima has ever been available with rear wheel drive. At least not here in Australia, however I think our models are the same.

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

I am very upset, and will never buy another Nissan product because of the transmission problems!!!

Faults:

My transmission is stuck in fifth gear.

T.C.M. needs to be replaced (transmission control module).

The dealership says I have to replace the transmission also.

General Comments:

I loved this car until the transmission problems started.

The car is stuck in fifth gear.

The dealership says I have to replace the T.C.M. and the transmission!!! They WANT 5300.00 to do the transmission and T.C.M.

I have tried to get help from Nissan Canada, and a dealership in Calgary; they both say there is no recall on the TCM. But we have since found out there was a recall on the T.C.M. in the U.S.A. Classification AT04-004 Reference #NTB04-045, but still the dealership says they do not honor USA recalls, and the USA does not honor Canadian recalls. I am going to the media here, so we can get to the bottom of this mess now that I know there are SO MANY OF US... Going through the same thing, I also would love to join a lawsuit if someone is going to get it started.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2010

10th Aug 2012, 15:13

Had the same problem with the transmission getting stuck in fifth gear. Your transmission is not going bad (we are some of the lucky ones). The crank shaft position sensors have gone bad and the transmission has gone into a fail safe mode by keeping it in 5th gear. Make sure to replace both bank 1 and bank 2 sensors.

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

A good car that should be repaired by Nissan

Faults:

Trans banging when slowing from ND to first gear.

General Comments:

Up to now, had nothing bad to say about the car. I don't expect trans problems at 70000 miles in this day and age when you don't abuse the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2010

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

The Maxima has a great looking shell, but it's manufactured poorly, and can be costly to maintain

Faults:

Transmission failure at 102,000 miles.

Motor mounts had to be replaced twice by the dealer within 10k miles.

Front rotors were replaced after 1 year of ownership.

Radio/display panel went out in less than 2 years.

Sunroof opens mysteriously, and to this day, the dealer still can't explain why.

General Comments:

My wife's 04 Maxima transmission went into what the dealer called "Safe Mode", where it stuck in 3rd gear, and couldn't shift up or down.

I found this site, and was concerned the dealer would jerk me around, like it appears they've done so many of you. So I had a family friend, who owns a transmission shop, run the diagnostic. He was familiar with the Nissan transmission, including its issues, but found the problem to be 1 of 3 "positioning sensors". The diagnostic won't tell you which sensor failed, so you need to replace all 3 to be safe.

Now here's the good news, unless you take it to the dealer, the sensors cost less than $60.00, and I was back on the road for under $300.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2010

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews