2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 10 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance46864 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

BAD

Faults:

Timing chain broke. Happened all of a sudden, no warning. With 46864 miles I have taken good care of this car. Taken to the dealership for service on time, and this happened to such a low mileage car.

General Comments:

This untimely break down cost me $1718.42. This is horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2010

4th Feb 2010, 17:00

I am having trouble with the timing on my 2004 Nissan Maxima as well. It is making a noise and I was told it is the timing. This is one car that Nissan made that is trash.

26th Mar 2010, 09:13

I have the same car 2004 Maxima.. What kind of noise do you hear and where?

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Great looking car, very fast

Faults:

Lately my problem is like every other owner, ABS brakes making lots of noise. Warning lights just recently started coming on, I sure hope they come good for it with a recall. This car looks great and drives awesome, but with these new problems you might hear me start yelling...

General Comments:

Overall it's been a great car until the brake issue started.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2010

2004 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Burn it

Faults:

My valve body in the transmission had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Save your money or choose another manufacturer; if not, face the consequences of headaches and stress... the only thing good about this car is looking forward to trading it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2010

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

Get extra warranty always, 100,000 miles

Faults:

I got the car with 32,000 miles on it. It is a 2004 Nissan Maxima S.E. I have been having trouble with shifting into reverse and drive. Then when you drive, the car starts to lose power a bit, and then jerk into another gear. It does that on and off, sometimes. I had it checked out, and the mechanic did a diagnosis on the car and found nothing. Checked out the computer and scanned for a code and nothing appeared. It still does the jerking and the automatic shifting on its own. Now, the transmission is gone and now I am getting a new transmission from Japan for my car. A grand total of $3,700 for the work!!!

The Nissan Maxima is a great car.. don't get me wrong. In the long run, I just feel that you should take care of your customers that buy your products!!!

General Comments:

Great car and very comfortable for long rides. Quick and fast for a sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carInfiniti G35

Summary:

There should be a recall on the transmission

Faults:

The transmission has starting slipping around 65,000 miles when the car has warmed up around the 20-30 mph range. The tach jumps up about 2000 rpm.

General Comments:

Nissan has known about this very dangerous problem and refuses to acknowledge that it exists. They knew about it from documentation discovered from 2004!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Loved the ride, but was expecting a lot more in quality

Faults:

The transmission is starting to slip when the car is down shifting from second to first gear. After the car warms up, the car slams hard into gear when shifting into reverse. I am preparing to take to transmission specialist to see if they can correct the problem, but after reading the comments on this website, it appears that there is no fix other than new transmission.

I am disappointed in this car and Nissan. We purchased a Nissan because we thought they made a quality vehicle, but this car has given us other problems as well; air conditioner noise, bad tires, leaking windshield.

General Comments:

We are very dissatisfied with the vehicle, and would not buy another Nissan product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance80600 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I have been very fortunate with this car, and I love it!

Faults:

I moved to Florida in December of 08. I have never had any problems with my Maxima until I moved here. In February 09 my car was having trouble starting. This went on until about April or May, and then I didn't have any trouble until a few days ago. When it happened at the beginning of the year, I had the battery checked, but it was fine so I'm thinking it might be from the cold weather? Is there anything I can do about this problem??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2009

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews