2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Summary:

A piece of junk!

Faults:

I am having the same transmission problems as everyone else is. The transmission has been replaced, and the camshaft sensor has been replaced. The problems still exist.

I have a popping noise in the front end that I suspect is related to the motor mounts, but the dealer said that there is no problem.

I have replaced the CD changer once already. The replacement unit is now acting up.

I have called Nissan North America and was "supposedly" a regional manager was to call. I am still waiting. I have contacted lemon-law/consumer protection attorneys. There is more than one way to skin a cat!

General Comments:

This is my first Nissan AND my LAST!

Just got a call from Nissan consumer affairs. "Unfortunately Nissan can't help me because of the mileage and due to the fact that I purchased the car from a non-Nissan dealership". I have heard it all. I am through with Nissan!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2011

28th Mar 2011, 21:55

Nissan had some problems with the newer Maximas... not all the cars, but some... If you get a lemon... you have to lick your wounds and trade it in... but before you buy any car/truck/SUV...please read the new consumers report annual auto guide that just came out... it will give you the good and bad of a lot of cars made.. new or used...

Cars can be a minefield out there... with mechanics charging 80.00 an hour... and parts inflated for a large profit margin... even cheaper cars like a new Honda Fit can run you $27,000 to own over a five year period... and that's a cheap car...

18th Oct 2012, 08:15

So you bought the car at 7 years old? Could the previous owner have trashed the car for 7 years? How would you know?

Buy a new car, treat it nicely, and see how it treats you! Buy an unknown used car and you see what happens!

Stop blaming the manufacturer of the car, and blame yourself for buying a used and abused car!

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Summary:

Very nice car, but with a lot of problems

Faults:

I bought a Maxima SE 2004. The big problem that I am concerned with, is that when I'm driving, the RPM goes up by itself (more than what it's suppose to). I don't have to be accelerating real fast. I asked my mechanic, he told me the problem is a sensor. I went to Nissan, and the service was so bad that I left. Can anyone please help me? I just got my car two months ago. Thank you.

General Comments:

Very fast car with good handling.

Not good for U-turns.

Brakes wear out fast.

I have problem with my transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th March, 2011

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Summary:

My car needs a new transmission per the Nissan dealership who do the diagnostics

Faults:

Hard shifting 2nd to 1st and 3rd at 47,000. This is one owner car. The car has lots of squeaking when backing up.

General Comments:

Power has decreased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2011

6th Jan 2011, 15:59

Get a second opinion from an independent mechanic.

10th Jan 2011, 10:31

You might want to elaborate a little here. Is it a manual or an automatic? What does the dealer want to charge you for the new tranny? I agree with the above poster, that you should take it to a private mechanic. Dealers are always looking to just replace things when you may need just a simple fix. Never just rust the dealer on a major fix!

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Faults:

Ditto on the timing chain issue. Bought the Nissan new in 2004, always maintained oil changes and checkups, but have had major issues annually. I started hearing a rattle a few weeks back that got progressively worse. Took it to a local mechanic. He said he would love the chance to replace the timing chain, because it would be a week's worth of work for his mechanics, but he said it would be in my best interest to drive the car til the engine dies, then just replace the whole engine. Said that there was no telling what other problems he might find with valves or whatever once he opened up the engine, so it wouldn't be in my best interest to fix it.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable to sit in. That's it on the good. It has had numerous problems over its six years in existence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2010

15th Dec 2010, 19:44

I would fix this fast.

A new engine is a lot of money, and doing the chain work is a lot cheaper.

IMHO.