29th Aug 2009, 13:02

Actually, Infiniti is Nissan's premium brand. The vehicles are better quality because they are all made in Japan unlike the Maxima and Altima, which are both manufactured in Smyrna, TN.

29th Aug 2009, 13:19

Infiniti IS manufactured by Nissan. In fact, most of the Infiniti and Nissan vehicles are mechanically IDENTICAL. The only difference between the two is that Infiniti is based more on luxury than Nissan.

28th Sep 2009, 23:02

I bought my 2004 Maxima SL and fell in love with it. It was my first brand new car!!! That was short lived however, within the first few months I had the exact same problems many of you mentioned!!!

I had to replace malfunctioning front struts at least 5 times. This should have been my cue to get rid of the car, but since it was covered under warranty, I didn't make a big fuss.

The next problem however was far more worrisome. I started experiencing weird vibrations when I stepped on the brakes. Took the car several times to the dealership where I purchased the car and was told nothing was wrong. I first thought regular brakes needed maintenance, but soon realized it was the ABS. The Nissan dealership gave me the run around about replacing the ABS sensor/module for at least three months. Customer service was horrible, but I was finally able to get it covered after speaking with Nissan Corporation. Thanks to my extended warranty, all I had to pay was my $100 deductible for the $2500+ repair bill.

I also had a slew of cosmetic problems, i.e., the chrome on the grill eventually peeled off, the glove box is misaligned and the paint started chipping.

As I type this, the ABS sensor/module is shot again and the multidisc CD player is busted. This care looks great, but it has a multiplicity of problems. It is not worth the money nor the time you have spend sending it to the shop!!!

30th Sep 2009, 18:55


OK, everybody agrees Nissans are the worst cars.

A Nissan Maxima 2004 is the one I have.

I changed the brakes like year later, and as soon the guarantee finished, the timer chain and rotor needed to be replaced, and the corporation never wanted even to listen to me.

Neverrrrrrrr again Nissan in my life and my family (6 members).

Very very disappointed.

1st Oct 2009, 17:48

Those are both wear items that eventually need replacing.

18th Dec 2009, 21:05

I own a 2004 Maxima SL with the Elite pkg. It now has 99k miles on it, and it is one of the best cars I've had to date. Of course you're going to have to put money into the car (wear & tear items), but you will have to do that with every car. The only problem I've ever had with it was one of the HID headlights went out and the recall for the wire under the seat. In my opinion it is one of the best cars! You can count on it that I will definitely own another two or three at least, and after that, if not Maximas, I will own a Nissan.

4th Jan 2010, 10:42

I see I'm definitely not alone in regard to the ABS issue. I was just told that I need to replace my ABS actuator at a fine tune of 2100k (by the time it's all done). I only have the certified pre-owned limited warranty. I just placed a call with Nissan customer affairs to have my claim reviewed. This is ridiculous, obviously there is an issue with their ABS systems and they should be liable to cover the repair for their defects!

31st Jan 2010, 08:37

I also see that I'm definitely not alone in regard to the ABS issue. I was just told that I need to replace my ABS actuator... This is ridiculous, go to Maxima.org and you can see more people with this ABS problem; obviously there is an issue with their ABS systems, and they should be liable to help out their customers and cover the repair cost, or have a recall for their defected parts! This is my last Nissan.

31st Jan 2010, 18:26

I certainly agree this ABS sensor problem is an engineering design issue, and Nissan should be liable for it. Nevertheless, I have driven with the ABS fault light on for three years now since they gave me the story. Aside from having to drive a vehicle without ABS, it performs extremely well otherwise. It is too bad they are letting this issue tarnish an otherwise well designed piece of machinery.


6th Feb 2010, 13:24

I agree! I have an ABS problem too. I just ran into my house coming home from work last night. I had my foot on the brake, and the brakes let loose and the car sped up and hit my house! Had it towed to the dealership. We'll see what happens from here. It's only been out of the shop 19 days after having the right wheel sensor replaced.

7th Feb 2010, 11:20

Hello everyone, I just bought a Nissan Maxima 04 SE two weeks ago. I love the shape, the color, the look, it has 83,000miles on it. Out of curiosity, I came online to check the reviews on this car, and what I read scared the living thing out of me... I am very confused about what to do, should I keep this car or return it... I need help... Can someone who owns this type of car give me a sincere answer about this car... Honesty please... Thank you in advance, my name is Israel iulubiyo@hotmail.com, send me an email or comment below.

8th Feb 2010, 17:04

Look, I'm going to be perfectly honest, I owned a 2003 Nissan Maxima with an automatic transmission. I never once had an issue with the transmission. Not a single time. Maybe things were changed in '04, but I never had an issue. That's just me though.

11th Feb 2010, 02:26

I own a 2004 Nissan Maxima with 152,000 miles on it. The only problems I can say I have with my car is.. the glove box is not perfectly aligned, the headlights are a foggish yellow color, the CD player will not play CDs, the chrome on my grill is chipping off, and I don't know if anyone else has this problem, but when I've been on the gas, it makes this awful smell like sulfur. Anybody else have or have had this problem? If so, what can I do to fix it?

15th Feb 2010, 12:22

If your car smells with sulfur, it is either an oxygen sensor or the catalytic converter that needs to be replaced.

15th Feb 2010, 21:30

I have noticed that smell from the day the car was brand spanking new. It only ever happens when aggressively accelerating; for example, when passing. The odor wafts in to the cabin right around the time my foot comes off the accelerator and I am pulling back in to my lane. I am sure it is related to fuel/combustion etc.

3rd Mar 2010, 23:27

I own the fully loaded 2004 Nissan Maxima SE and did a four year lease beginning in 2004. In 2008 I bought it on a four year note and I am halfway through it. The car has 82,600 miles on it and has no more warranties. I am coming off being unemployed for a long time and this car is falling apart. It jerks horribly going between gears, the brakes make horrible noises, the tires have all been replaced due to sidewall problems. The engine is racing with little acceleration and is losing power. My mechanic has looked at it three times and claims that nothing is wrong and the engine light came on tonight. I also need a whole new suspension system including control arm. I have NO money or anyway to repair this car. What do I do if I can no longer drive it? What if you take it in and can't afford the repairs? Do they keep your car? My note is insane. Help!!!