2003 Nissan Micra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2003 Nissan Micra E 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carFiat Seicento

Summary:

A pile of scrap

Faults:

Timing chain replaced at 37000 miles; cost over £1000 to replace.

Airbag sensor constantly coming on £40 a time to remove.

Plastic trim falling apart.

Gear box sensor needing replacing.

Battery constantly going flat due to faulty immobiliser.

Gear box whining, and needs replacing after 47000 miles.

General Comments:

I purchased this car because of its low mileage and full service history.

The car was purchased to ferry my daughter and her child around, because it had a small engine and large cabin, and was reputed to be economical and reliable.

However, after owning the car for a couple of weeks, things started to make me deeply regret my purchase.

The first sign of trouble was the car kept cutting out. Then after a couple of weeks, the engine management light came on. A visit to the local garage and a full service and a new sensor seemed to cure the problem. However, a week later the light came back on; this time the dealer told me the timing chain had stretched and it needed a new one at a cost of over 1000 pounds.

After having the above work done, all was well for a couple of months until the air bag light kept coming on, following more trips to the garage, and hundreds of pounds later the electrical problems were cured. Or so I thought.

The next thing to go wrong was the rear lights not working properly. Again after more expense at the garage, it was found to be a faulty sensor in the gear box.

The following months were thankfully trouble free. Until I heard strange noises coming from the gear box.

I have now been informed that the gear box is worn and whining, and will need replacing.

The car now frequently refuses to start because of a flat battery, due to a faulty immobiliser.

Nissan are aware of all of all the above faults. They are all common faults to the new Micra.

However, the dealer still insisted that I be charged to have the car put on a diagnostic machine each time I visited the garage.

All the dealer is interested in is maximum profit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2008

10th Mar 2008, 14:51

I also had the timing belt fault; Nissan dealer wanted £1000 to repair it. I wrote to Nissan asking if they could help as it seemed a common fault, but they declined to help. I have written to the Watchdog TV programme asking them to highlight the fault. I urge all Micra owners who have had this problem to do the same. If enough of us complain they may do something about it.

2003 Nissan Micra Techna 1.2 1.2 lt from Greece

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 lt Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18 kilometres
Most recent distance65436 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

The worst car you can buy... Avoid it

Faults:

Everything went wrong with this car!

11000 Km Sensors

23000 Km Valve Problems

51000 Km Sensors

59000 Km Sensors

61000 Km Engine Problem.

General Comments:

This car sucks! It is simple the worst car anyone can buy. I was so dissapointed by this car that I will never buy Nissan again. I bought it because I liked the look, but it's only design... Many problems forced me to sell it after 3 years... Wish never had bought it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2006

9th Apr 2006, 05:13

You have all these problems because Nissan have got into bed with Renault using a lot of their engines. All the diesels are Renault as is your engine. The 1.8 in the Tino is still a 100% Nissan engine. Well done Nissan for ruining their reputation by getting involved with crappy Renault.

2003 Nissan Micra E 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Why change a good thing! There is no comparison with the older model and the new one!

Faults:

Not firing on all cylinders

Seat creaking, replaced twice, going in today (02-11-05) for third replacement

Ignition failure, new ignition barrel

Passenger seat faulty, doesn't work automatically and you have to pull leaver underneath to pull forward when people get in the back of the car. This has also been replaced three times.

Bonnet locking mechanism faulty when purchased car, had to return same night

Boot locking mechanism wouldn't lock, kept coming open, locking mechanism replaced

Driver side door now doesn't lock, came open whilst driving and had to drive home with one hand on steering wheel and one holding door shut. I have to climb in through passenger side until this is fixed.

Seat material has bobbled and they aren't that comfortable when driving for long periods of time.

I'm 2 days late with my service and have been told that if the service of £160 (2nd Service) isn't done, they can refuse to do any further work on my car. However, they have fixed everything else that has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The Nissan dealer has stated that the problems I've had are common in the new Micra and I should be thankful that I've had all the teething problems. I don't expect to pay that much money for a new car and be told that it has teething problems like I've experienced.

I've always had a Nissan Micra, however am very dissappointed with this model, they aren't as fast as the old shape (vibe) and are chug along when pulling away. I believe this is because the new body is heavier.

I had my last Micra 6 and a half years and it never went into the garage. I've had this car for 2 years and it's in the garage every other month with problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

27th Apr 2007, 09:29

I agree about reliability of new Micras. My girlfriend bought a pre-registered Micra L (basic model) in Jan 04. Have had continual problems with the crankshaft sensor - car cuts out & needs AA man to get it started. Dealer has put new sensor in, but problem still there.

Radio has had to be replaced - wouldn't turn off.

Ignition barrel is about to stop working. Only 22k on the clock.

I had an older Micra which I ran for 17 years & only problems were mechanical ones (apart from cambelt breaking which destroyed the engine!!).

1st Jun 2007, 17:12

Has anyone had problems with their windows scratching, screeching, sticking and rattling. Unable to get satisfaction from Nissan Customer Services - taking matter to court.

16th Jul 2007, 08:32

I completely agree about the unreliability of the 2003 Nissan Micra and the inefficiency of Nissan to deal with the problem.

I purchased my Micra in 2005, since then I have had nothing, but problems with it, all of which are electrical and I am told are standard faults with the model. I've had the tailgate switch replaced as the boot was opening when the car was in motion, the car actually went on complete lock down and I was unable to even get in it. I now have an engine malfunction which registers as a cam sensor fault and subsequently I require a new ECU unit on a vehicle that is only 4 years old!

I would not recommend this car to anyone, it has caused me so much hassle and expense its just not worth it. I just wish I could afford to get rid of it!

4th Jun 2010, 12:47

I have a 2003 Micra E at the moment. The problem being all the lights are correctly on, but when you turn the ignition to start, nothing. This only seems to occur on very warm days. Has had a new ignition barrel fitted. The garage changed the starter motor; no joy. Just as well that I am not living in Spain!!!

2003 Nissan Micra 1.2 SE 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles
Previous carFiat Seicento

Summary:

Nissan needs to get their build quality sorted

Faults:

Broken seat mechanism (3 times)

Interior trim coming loose.

Various rattles and creaks.

Jack retaining strap snapped.

Suspension clonks and squeaks (unresolved still)

General Comments:

A good car to drive, let down by atrocious fit and finish; and poor dealer service. Economy with air-con on is terrible, about average otherwise. Seats are unsupportive. They get quite uncomfortable after an hour or so! Engine really needs to be revved hard to get anywhere fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

8th Sep 2003, 06:39

Just hired one of these from Europcar - agree with the comments about build quality. Good car though!

30th Dec 2003, 08:49

I bought a Micra 1.2 SE automatic in June 2003 and have had no problems at all with build quality, and it is exceptionally well equipped for the price. My only complaint is with the poor acceleration, but I suppose that is to be expected in a small automatic. I frequently travel for 3 or 4 hours at a time in it and find it comfortable enough. I don't know where else you could buy a new car with five doors, air conditioning, automatic transmission and all the Micra gizmos for under £10,000. I would recommend it to anyone.

2003 Nissan Micra from Sweden

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Faults:

Clutch is difficult to control on the brand new Micra. This is different from the earlier models. In worst case you can smell smoke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2003

Average review marks: 4.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews