1995 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1995 Nissan Pathfinder LX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

Perfect mid-size SUV - good looks, extremely low maintenance

Faults:

Nothing!!!

Regularly serviced - replaced brake pads once, tires changed regularly.

General Comments:

Pros: Good looks, extremely low maintenance, cargo space, passenger space, off-road/4x4 performance.

Cons: Gas mileage (14-16 mpg), acceleration, blind spots (when changing lanes)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2003

1995 Nissan Pathfinder XE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, Good-looking, All-Weather, All-Conditions, Loaded, Excellent Value

Faults:

I had to replace the alternator about a week after I got it, but it was rebuilt before, so it had nothing to do with the reliability of the vehicle.

I have to replace the timing belt, which was supposed to be replaced at 105,000 (standard maintnence)

I am supposed to replace the exhaust manifold, but I won't. The dealer said it was necessary and I wouldn't pass the emissions test, but I did, fast pass. Make sure your car isn't cold when you get it tested. The crack is only minor and the dealer charges a flat fee of 600 to replace it, so going longer and bolts breaking won't make a difference in cost.

Very reliable!! I can always trust the car to start and get me where I am going!

General Comments:

I am extremley pleased with this car.

It is reliable. This car will always start if you take care of it.

The exterior designing is rugged and appealing, it's a great guy's car.

The interior designing is satisfactory, nothing great, but still good. Windows seem a little high, but no big deal. I would appreciate a better placed cup holder. I have the XE and don't like the seats. The SE offers more padded seats, and I feel like there is no support, I plan to solve this with some seat covers.

I got the XE model with 4x4, power windows, locks, mirrors, the works, cruise control, A/C, alarm, everything, and its great. I absolutely love this car. The only thing that really bugs me is the gas mileage because I take short trips and have a lot of short, cold starts, so I get about 15 mpg. But when it comes down to it, the feeling of security I get when my car sticks to the road as if it were pavement, is worth the extra 5 dollars a week.

Great on snow. I live in Colorado and when the roads are iced and snowed over, I am the only one out of my friends that can drive because they all have Eclipses and 2WD.

Feel great, this is a great car in any weather, will get you going, won't break and you look good in it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2002

21st Jan 2004, 18:40

This guy obviously has a Pathfinder and loves it, as do most of us Pathfinder owners. You just can't beat these beasts. They take a licking and keep on ticking!!! My 95 has 123,000 miles and drives like it was new! Great review!!!

6th Oct 2004, 18:42

I have a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder XE, and it has about 130000 miles on it. I've put about $5000 into it to make it very off road worthy. Just installed a 5 speed automatic transmission yesterday, and my Pathy runs strong!!!

Check out www.nissanpathfinders.net

Any help you need for anything Pathfinder, we will help you and your Pathfinder feel better!

1995 Nissan Pathfinder 4X4 SE 159 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 159 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Comfortable reliable car with a few expensive bugs

Faults:

I have had to change the speedometer ($380.00) which the Dealer says is not unusual and had one of the exhaust manifolds warp popping the studs ($690.00) which the Dealer also said was not unusual.

General Comments:

My Pathfinder is a very nice vehicle. I bought it 2 years ago at 98,000 and now it is at 123,000 miles.

It's a Very comfortable vehicle that will drive threw a large snow bank no trouble (4X4 with limited slip differential). It does lack power when driving in the mountains, but does OK. It needs better cup holders, the ones in the elbow compartment are hard to drive with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2002

6th Sep 2004, 21:10

This guy is right on the money. I have had a 95 pathfinder for about 5 years now. The cup holder situation is a drag. The vehicle is very reliable, terribly sluggish, expensive on gas, and I also had to replace the spedo (about 100.00 bucks at the dealer, easy to install).

16th Dec 2004, 07:24

I have just recently bought a 1995 Pathfinder (127K miles). Ditto the cup holders, and the speedometer move erratically at times, suggesting it will need replacing. However, I found another disturbing problem. The one I bought has not covers around the rear wheel well, so apparently all the salt and slush of winter driving was sprayed directly onto the frame. The rear frame, from the rear wheel well back has rusted out; in some places there are gaping holes in the frame. I didn't discover this until I went to have a trailer hitch put on. Have others had this problem?

25th Sep 2006, 11:05

Yes, does anyone know why it's sluggish? It was fast, but now it's so slow when climbing hills, people in the slow lane honk their horns for me to go faster.

1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

I'm going back to Toyota Forerunners

Faults:

Major transmission problem with this year vehicle which I did not find out about until 3 months after owning. Evidently the manufacturer corrected it in later models. Everyone seemed to know about it except me.

Harness wires were corroded and smoking.

Electrical problems.

General Comments:

Vehicle is very heavy, and underpowered for the weight.

It doesn't handle very well.

It can only do 5 point turns.

The seats aren't very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

18th Jan 2003, 23:44

I own a '95 Pathfinder and am looking at fixing the transmission for the 2nd time. Had to fully replace the first transmission, now looks like I will have to rebuild the used one. One day it decides not to go into reverse. Drives foward fine and shifts nicely, but will not go backwards. I have found that the problem lies in the cooling of the transmission fluid. If you have to replace or rebuild the tranny, make sure to replace or rebuild the radiator also. Unfortunately I found this out too late for the 1st go around.

1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Great SUV for a reasonable price

Faults:

The only actual repair I have made besides the normal maintenance items such as brakes, tune up, oil changes, etc has been the replacement of an exhaust bracket.

General Comments:

I generally don't take the vehicle off road, but I do drive it very hard. I am extremely pleased to date with the quality and reliability of this vehicle.

I feel that the 3.0 litre V6 engine is a little underpowered for this vehicle at times, but I would describe it as "bulletproof" based on the torture that I subject it to. Fortunately, the gearing is good, which helps to offset the lack of power of the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 40 reviews