1995 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 6 of 11

1995 Nissan Pathfinder XE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Love my Pathfinder, but it has a rusted frame

Faults:

95 Nissan Pathfinder XE. Just told by a mechanic to junk it due to frame rust. No rust on body, great interior, everything functions great including towing package, security alarm.

So, I read the comments about other Pathfinders. I just wrote an email to Newsome Law Firm on the net, who conduct class action suits for vehicles. If I get a response, I will post it here!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

18th Jan 2008, 04:18

Any updates on what the lawyers said?

30th Jun 2008, 21:49

I have a quick question. I am looking at a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder, and do not want to find out too late that all it's good for is scrap. Can you tell me where to look for the frame rot? Thanks.

15th Oct 2008, 16:26

Info on 1995 Pathfinder Rusted Frame Problem. I am surprised, I thought it was just my move from NY to PA that rusted by beloved truck so bad. But anyone needs more consumer rust problems, or has answers, please count me in.

MS in PA.

7th Aug 2011, 17:13

I have a 95 Pathfinder sitting in the driveway with the rear end ready to fall out. The frame has rusted into above both rear wheels. I am very interested in any response from the law firm.

I take very good care of this vehicle, just bad steel in frames, huge liability.

1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE V6 3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired156350 miles
Most recent distance158800 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

We like the ride and the car, but its chassis is not holding up at all while the rest of the car is

Faults:

The chassis has cracked over the rear right tire well area.

General Comments:

The motor is strong and very reliable. The body is OK. The chassis is dangerously falling apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2007

1995 Nissan Pathfinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

Automatic transmission has no reverse. All other gears work fine.

Exhaust manifold is cracked. VERY LOUD. I have heard the same thing from others.

Not worth fixing or selling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Faults:

Has been a fairly decent until lately:

1) AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION.

Won't go into reverse. Repair cost around $3000.00can. Nissan knows about it as it appears to be very common. On my transmission, the oil pump housing and a seal on that housing were badly worn. New oil pump, seal kit and reverse hub were required to complete the repairs.

2) RUSTED FRAME.

I was pulling the rear wheels off to install an airbag kit (rear suspension is very soft on the pathfinder) when I notice that the rear portion of the truck frame is rusted badly. I don't see how it is repairable without replacing the whole thing or at least the back half. The dealer advised me that the rust warranty expired after 5yrs and might I try to contact Nissan Canada. That will be my next step I guess. I am sure they will ignore me as well. Dangerous situation as I am sure the back end will eventually fall out causing a wreck.

General Comments:

Nissan needs to address this frame issue now. I live in a province that has no yearly inspection. People here will not be aware of this issue until it is to late.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2007

1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 VGE from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 VGE Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Excellent, would buy again

Faults:

Transmission @ 118k for $3500.

Transmission @ 120k.

Timing Belt @100k.

General Comments:

Hi this was a great vehicle, Never had any problems until the trans. I was out of town driving on 2 inches of snow when it locked up.

I personally think it was electrical, the trans shop played me for the whole replacement. Then it started making noise again, and they replaced it. Drove it for about 5k more and the noise came back. It was a sad day when I traded. Saw it on ebay, and they made some money off me. I hope it's being treated as nice as I did.. sob.. I miss it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2007

1995 Nissan Pathfinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles

Faults:

Frame Rust.

General Comments:

Underpowered Motor, but other than that, it's cool. Wish it didn't have the frame rust problem. Can't even sell this Mint Pathy because of the frame problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2006

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 40 reviews