1995 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 3 of 11

1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Rotted frame, shame Nissan, shame!

Faults:

When I first got it, I put brakes on the front. Then about 2 months later I put tires on it.

The frame is gone on this SUV. My girlfriend is going to make some calls tomorrow on this. I can't believe Nissan hasn't done anything about this problem. These SUVs need taking off the road, they are nothing more than a death trap, accident waiting to happen. People will get hurt from these vehicles.

I can't afford to replace this truck, looks like I may have to start walking for awhile, I sure don't want to see anyone get hurt from mine.

My sister bought a new Altima, hope the frame doesn't rot on it. Nissan will have to do something about this, mine is a total waste.

I have 4 new tires and my Pioneer CD player and subs, the rest is trash...

My next vehicle is going up on a rack and will be inspected top to bottom.

General Comments:

The frame is gone at 155,000 miles and 14 years old. This truck would need a new frame for me to be able to keep it and be safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2009

9th Feb 2009, 13:09

You are absolutely right. Your truck should be covered by Nissan for 45 yrs or 1,000,000 miles, whichever comes first.

10th Feb 2009, 05:36

Ummmm... the Altima has uni-body construction.

The Pathfinder has a body on frame.

2nd Sep 2009, 20:09

I agree with the whole rot thing on these vehicles. I just purchased a 1995 Pathfinder two weeks ago, and besides the terrible gas mileage, it is an awesome vehicle until I looked underneath it. The whole body is mint, but for some strange reason the whole frame on the passenger side is pretty much rotted through!!! I am not sure if there is anything I can do for this (maybe weld some plates into place or something to reinforce it??). Nissan should have spent more time on the whole rustproofing thing, especially being a SUV and most likely seeing a lot of offroad use.

16th Nov 2009, 12:37

Yes, shame on Nissan for not offering a LIFETIME warranty.

Doesn't anybody look at the underside of a used vehicle before buying them anymore? Geez!

4th Sep 2010, 18:42

I had two 1995 Pathfinders safety inspected recently (pre purchase), and both frames were rotted to the point where it was officially unsafe. Too bad, because they are great SUV's.

30th Oct 2010, 07:54

A used vehicle should be looked at first, but the point is with so many of one vehicle being deemed unsafe, it's a terrible screw up on Nissan's part.

30th Oct 2010, 18:24

Japanese cars are all on the way down. Toyota just recalled 1.5 million MORE cars, Honda added another huge recall, and Nissan just recalled over 2 million vehicles. I lunched with a friend today who told me he is driving his last Toyota (a Camry). He plans to buy a Ford Fusion.

1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

For the money they cost, they should be of better quality

Faults:

Frame rot (at the rear tire wells) to the point of brake lines letting go and having no brakes on a major state highway.

My fingers can crumple the frame. What a scary experience!

General Comments:

This car went through 4 kids.

The rot was very quick (passed inspection in September)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2009

1995 Nissan Pathfinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Faults:

Like all others listed, my frame is rusted out, and I only purchased this 95 Pathfinder 2 years ago because it looked so clean, never realizing the issues they have with the frame.

Today the local tire company turn away my business for this defect, but also suggested to contact Nissan because he had a customer come in with a new Nissan who had the 95 also at one time with rusted frame.

The customer said Nissan worked it out with him. If I could afford a new one, I would look into this, but I just want it repaired for now. I just sent a e-mail to Nissan, and if they help out I will post it, thanks.

pghhoover@comcast.net

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th January, 2009

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 41 reviews