2001 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 3 of 7

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Faults:

I seemed to be having the same problems with my 2001 Pathfinder SE as everyone else. My CD player went out a few years ago so I just replaced it with an after market JVC. I figured that would be better than worrying if it would go out again.

Also I have had problems with the driver seat not moving forwards or backwards. All of the other functions of the electric seat work properly though. I figured out that if you push the seat forward at the bottom while pushing the button to make the seat move forward, it will start working again. I guess it just goes back to far or maybe gets wedged somehow.

Another problem is the windows. All of my power windows stop going up on their own. I bought a can of silicone lubricant and sprayed it in the tracks, and that seems to have made a huge difference.

Hope this helps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2009

2nd Jul 2012, 16:41

Dude, you just totally saved me a trip into the dealer and possibly getting ripped for $1,000. Pushing the empty seat forward, while pressing the seat button forward, fixed the problem.

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Faults:

Ignition coils, mass airflow sensor, CD changer, slow windows.

General Comments:

Why is it all of you on this site are driving my car? This is amazing, it would seem that Nissan could save a lot of money by just training their mechanics to fix these issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th October, 2009

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carVolvo S80

Summary:

Crappy car, crappy reliability

Faults:

Wow, cannot believe other 2001 Pathfinder owners have the same problem I am having with the coil packs failing, the CEL coming on! I also have the slow window, but it is the passenger one that is slow in my car. Will track the lubrication suggestion.

My CD player works fine, but my cassette player went out and I hardly used it, just won't take the cassette anymore.

Not sure what to do about the coil packs. Have changed two of them now. Last time the dealer wanted to change all 6. How would I know if the MAF were at fault? Where is it located and how easy is it to replace?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2009

2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carHyundai XG300

Faults:

CD player is broken.

Windows go down slow in the winter.

Check engine light stays on.

POOR GAS MILEAGE.

Loss of power on steep grades, can't get over 65 mph on hills.

Shift lock out broken.

Rough idle during winter months.

At least the heated seats still work!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2009

2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE 3.5 liter from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Expensive necessary maintenance

Faults:

Six coil replacement. Five of the six are the same, one is different. When you have trouble, instead of replacing all six, buy one of the five and the different one - can't return parts.

Replace the odd one, then start replacing one at a time to see which is bad. Worked on mine, only had to buy two instead of all six.

General Comments:

Lots of expense at 100,000 miles. Oil drip by oil cooler (for automatics) is caused by the gasket, which hardens. About $20 for the gasket, tedious to replace.

Also it's cheaper to replace the rear trailing arms (causes sway at about 100K) than to replace the bushings.

It's been a good vehicle, but I won't buy another because of the expensive maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2009

23rd Jan 2009, 12:00

That is not maintenance. Those are repairs. Japanese vehicles are not what everybody thinks they are.

2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Bag of money

Faults:

172000kms, drives and handles great.

- SES light has come on, was told by dealership MFA sensor needs to be replaced at 900.00$ hahha.. crooks, I bought from ebay for 140.00.

- Replaced alternator myself after boosting my brother, don't do this. Dealership quoted 700 plus labour, I got it for 220$ installed... crooks

- Interior clock has no light any more.

- CD deck has been replaced, but works fine now.

- 4h and 4L transfer case does not engage smoothly, be very careful when doing so.

General Comments:

172000kms, drives and handles great.

I also have a 94 Pathfinder XE for 8 years, and never had any issues with it like I do with my 2001. Quality sucks and service is a ripoff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2008

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 31 reviews