2001 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

I love this SUV!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Overall a very low maintenance, dependable vehicle. I am car maintenance illiterate. All I do is change the oil and rotate the tires regularly and major mfg. checks.

Minor annoyance - seat belts don't retract all the way after about a years use. They were the same on my '97 Pathfinder.

Minor annoyance - I'm 5'2" and I have trouble reaching and closing the rear hatch. It is stiff and heavy. My friends Jeep is much easier to close.

When you need the power, it delivers immediately, unlike my '97 Pathfinder which merged & accelerated like a snail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance58450 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A good SUV overall

Faults:

There are two plastic grille covers right next to each fog lamp which have fallen out twice. These covers seem to fall out of many pathfinders. They do not lock in properly.

General Comments:

I would like the company to replace them for I have paid twice to replace them or to correct this defect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

8th Jun 2006, 00:29

I've never had a problem with mine. But I have 101,000 miles on my pathfinder and had to replace the oxygen sensor twice at $350.00 a pop!

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

The perfect 4x4

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great vehicle. Over 100,000 km and not one problem. I have only had this vehicle in the dealer for routine maintenance (new tires, front brake pads).

I love the heated leather seats and the Bose stereo.

The engine has lots of power and the acceleration is pretty good. I am impressed with the automatic 4x4 mode.

My only complaint is that the transmission shifts are a bit harsh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Great SUV, poor windows, poor service

Faults:

In cold weather the windows get slower and slower to raise and lower until they almost stop.

General Comments:

I have tried numerous times to get Nissan to address this problem before my warranty wears out, but they refuse. The dealership will merely oil the window tracks each time it happens.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

11th Nov 2003, 21:39

The oil could be the reason the windows are binding. Oil gets thicker as it gets colder. Check into it.

T.

24th Jan 2004, 14:18

I have the same problem with my 01 pathfinder. While it was under warranty, the dealer replaced the motor and track on my drivers windows. Now all of the windows have the same issue. I live in new england and when it is cold out I can't close my drivers window if I were to open it. WHen I attempt to close it it binds then shoots all the way down and won't go up. Talk about a cold ride. I take my dogs with me and like to crack the windows open a few inches for them and they just don't work. I know others who have this problem and would like to find people who would consider a group action against nissan.

2001 Nissan Pathfinder Z30 3.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A true 4WD with the comfort, performance and fuel economy of a two litre sedan!

Faults:

Nothing at all!

General Comments:

A true 4WD with the comfort, performance and fuel economy of a executive sedan.

I own a Tristram trailer boat which weighs 3 tons (which is a lot for most of the competition) which I often bring on our family holidays, and the power and torque produced by the engine is sensational.

The only problem I think the car has is the noise produced by the turbo, it sounds like a high pitched siren.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

9th Dec 2003, 16:32

I to have this model pathfinder and noticed also that after towing my boat on a long trip, the high pitched siren of the turbo appeared.

After another year went by the turbo sound became annoying so I got a new turbo under warranty. The good thing about waiting a year or so is that Nissan acknowledged this fault in the turbo and redesigned the unit.

This means that the new turbo is quiet as, even under load. I have given the new turbo a thrashing and its still quiet.

I was so pleased that they fixed it, as I am back to loving my car again. The really go well.

13th Jun 2005, 01:03

I to own a z30 Pathfinder, purchased new in August 2001. It has know covered 125000 km. They are a great vehicle to drive. The diff was repaired at about 25000km, the air flow meter was replaced and continually needs servicing. The air bag light wouldn't go out and was repaired. It now has some sort of flat spot under certain acceleration situations, but I'm still very impressed with this vehicle, power, handling, ride etc.

15th Aug 2008, 03:40

I have a 2001 Z30 Pathfinder with 225,000KM on the clock. Had it since new. At 175,000KM it blew a whole in piston number 3. Apparently all the Z30 motors will do this at about the 175K mark. Motor rebuild cost $10,000.00.

I am reluctant to buy another Nissan diesel.

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2400 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Best SUV for the money

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the car. I use it daily to go work and a little weekend get-away once in a while.

General Comments:

This is the first SUV/truck I've owned. I previously drove high performance cars. I had a Nissan 300ZX TT, a Toyota MR2, and Toyota Supra. All three are serious performers. The Pathfinder is surprisingly quick for an SUV. Has plenty of passing power, comfortable ride, and long list of standard features that you would otherwise pay extra for with other models (e.g. Toyota 4Runner).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.5 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance9000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 240SX LE

Summary:

Excellent quality and performance

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Excellent SUV. Now has class leading power (250hp) and merging onto freeways is no longer a scary issue (vs. earlier models). Power is immediate and you can easily do a "brake stand" (believe me, I left a nice smoke cloud at the intersection.... surprised the little Honda Civic that was trying to race me!).

Fuel consumption is good for an SUV but range is still fairly limited (18 mpg). The only other SUV that I think that can compete with the Pathfinder is the new Acura MDX (240hp).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 31 reviews