2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America - Comments

26th Dec 2009, 13:03

I have an 01 SE, which now has over 242,000 miles on it! The clock doesn't work anymore (I used to have to tap it a few times for it to light up); the CD player doesn't work anymore; the heater/AC blower motor is shot, so I have to rely on vented air versus recirculated air for heat and cooling. Yes, the windows are SLOW also!!!

Overall, I absolutely LOVE this truck! It has been good to me. The body is in terrific condition. The interior is great, although some of the leather is starting to crack. I've used this truck to tow my 24' boat to and from the landings. The only thing I have doing this is a knock, which could be from low-grade gas.

I just replaced the alternator, which was the ORIGINAL, with factory-installed wiring straps. Believe me when I tell you, that job was a real 'B'!!!

2 weeks after replacing the alternator, the MAFS (Mass Air Flow Sensor) went up. Problem was, the indie shop first changed out the fuel filter because of the lack of fuel pressure to the cylinders. So, the whole job for fuel filter and MAFS was $700. I was able to cut the price in half from an estimated $1200 by getting a 'used' MAFS. New one was $400!!!

I now have a dead battery, but it is from 12/06, so I'd say it's about time!

Just to say all in all, I LOVE this truck and am planning to keep it until it dies completely.

6th Jan 2010, 13:03

I don't feel so bad anymore!

I have an 01 Pathfinder with 85 thousand miles on it.

That darn engine light.

I have a stuck CD player, and yes the windows take forever to roll up.

I had 3 codes come up p1320, p0303, p0138. Something to do with cylinder 3 misfire, throttle position sensor and random misfire.

I don't want to get into long detail, but had the spark plugs changed and still the light, switched the coils around, it worked for 2 days, had a fuel injection, oil change fuel filter changed and all liquids, hoses and belts are great! Just that darn light. I know it's gotta be the sensors, then I priced them - ouch! We have 4. 2 in the front, 2 in the back, not to mention all the other sensors in the car.

Bottom line, the car runs good, the mechanical part of the car works, I feel safe, so YES I put a sticker over that darn light!!! I will worry about tags and smog inspection next Jan 2011. I was lucky it's not this year!

18th Jan 2010, 22:11

I fixed my clock by following these steps: http://forums.nicoclub.com/pathfinder-clock-fix-t465835.html

Apparently they didn't do a good job soldering the resistors. It's an easy and cheap fix!!

26th Jan 2010, 13:17

I work in a shop, and I'm working on a 01 3.5L now, and I must say... these things are the biggest piles of junk I ever seen!

They are the hardest, most expensive to fix cars next to Mercedes and Audi. I'm a master mechanic, and have been working on cars for 11 years, and have never ever seen bigger piles of crap!

Good luck guys.

1st Feb 2010, 22:24

Same shake/shudder issue here and looking for solutions.

I have a 2001 Pathfinder LE 3.5 with about 80K miles. Always kept it well maintained and even did a $1500 tune up at 65K.

This week it started to shake at times while driving. The shuddering is very noticeable when accelerating or decelerating. I ignored it, thinking it could be the road or tire pressure. After 1-2 days the Service Engine Soon light started blinking and sometimes it stays on. The vehicle now shakes many times at any speeds.

Took it to Nissan dealer, he says ignition coils issue or misfire and could cost over $1000.

Wondering if Nissan is listening. The least they could do is reduce the cost of this stupid known issue everyone seems to be having here.

SanJoseMan

25th Feb 2010, 15:47

02.25.10 We have a 2001 Nissan Pathfinder with over 110,000 miles. No problem with the CD player (thus far). Unfortunately, we do have many of the other issues posted here.

1) SES light on, had it reset twice (has now been on for several months).

2) Started shaking occasionally, now happens with sudden deceleration or whenever it feels like it.

3) Shakes constantly at stops (usually lessens in neutral).

4) I think vibrations have caused tail pipe to come loose - makes an awful rattle.

5) I also had the sudden rpm acceleration issue - once.

Nissan dealer wants over $3,000 to address the problems listed (not a guaranteed fix). Dealer also said we would have to change all 6 coils. How can they NOT be able to identify which coil needs to be replaced??? Local mechanic wants $1200 for the same work. Having read all these posts for the last couple hours, we may give it a shot ourselves. Wish Us Luck!

Maybe we CAN initiate some sort of recall on these issues. For every post on here, how many hundreds or thousands of people do we represent with the same problem (s)? So many people, with the same vehicle, and the same problems cannot be coincidental. Should we start a petition?

Still driving the Pathfinder.

5th Mar 2010, 13:09

I had the same issue. I had my check engine light on for 5 years, after having a mechanic tell me it was just a faulty CAM sensor. Finally, the car started to shutter and the engine light started blinking. I had the mechanic replace the CAM sensor and the car runs like a champ now, with 139,000 miles on it.

22nd Mar 2010, 10:42

Daughter's 01 Pathy. Only two of the common problems. Slow wind and broken CD. CEL on. Ran hot. Mechanic says thermostat and housing. 2nd opinion changed thermostat. Still running hot. Now says it may be head gasket. Doesn't know which side. Any ideas out there???

22nd Mar 2010, 12:29

22 Mar 10 - 01 Pathfinder 3.5 LE, have 190,200 miles. Bought used in 2003 with 36,000 miles.

Overall had no problems with the car. Normal stuff, oil change, brakes, 2-batteries, broken turn signal assembly.

CD had err 2, got fixed at dealer, 2 yrs later CDs got stuck again with err 2, stayed broke for 1 yr then spat the CDs out and only disk 5 and 6 worked; 1 yr later stop working again.

I do have the slow windows.

Had the #1 and #3 coil changed with all 6 spark plus in 2008. To find out which coil is bad, went to a mechanic; he used the volt meter thing on all coils and found the low voltage. My "in his garage" Nissan mechanic did the work for me.

Currently the SES light on, went to dealer, had air flow meter changed ($780), need timing control solenoids ($480) and need a valve cover gasket ($680) for an 1 yr oil leak.

So with these, I hope the SES light goes out. My goal is 300,000 miles!

~Pathy owner in S.C.~

31st Mar 2010, 12:58

I too have a 2001 Pathfinder with the same problems, slow windows, bad CD player, and "Check Engine Light" randomly coming on. I did find a way to get the "Check Engine Light" to go off for awhile. Next time you wash your car, spray off the engine. Within the next 1-2 days the "Check Engine Light" will go off.