1995 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America - Comments

14th Sep 2005, 20:56

1994 Pathfinder-Just had the Pathfinder in for brakes at Midas and they called me to say that we probably don't want to put another dime into our 10 year old, 100,000 mile suv because of the completely rusted out frame. What is that about?

20th Sep 2005, 09:48

Our 1995 Pathfinder SE was excessive frame rust too. I agree with the statement concerning a possible class action suit. Any thoughts on this. My Pathfinder cost me a small fortune and now has failed inspection due to the excessive frame rust.

11th Oct 2005, 15:52

I have a ’94 pathfinder XE with 169k miles. My rear upper links have completely rusted away from the frame. Also, I can stick a screwdriver through the frame at many of the other frame weld points. I was considering a ’95 SE until I read this thread. I really like this truck, but extensive frame rust is not repairable.

18th Oct 2005, 12:55

Add me to the list of rotted frames. 1994 pathfinder, total loss due to frame rot at the rear wheels. Luckily I got over 200,000 miles out of the truck and it is still running fine, but the frame leaves it one good pothole from the junkyard. It's a shame, the exhaust lasted longer than the frame!. I've been looking for another of the same vintage, figuring to have lots of spare parts if I hang onto the old one, but every one I see has the same condition to some degree. Once it starts to rust it doesn't take long to become a mess. Definitely a quality issue with the steel used in these trucks, in my opinion.

24th Oct 2005, 09:29

My ex-wife's 94 pathfinder just had the frame section above the rear axle brake on both sides to release the entire rear axle. A 15" length of the box frame separated on both sides. The brake line failed to the rear and only the sway bar links held the axle from falling off completely. Fortunately it was at low speed in city driving.

16th Feb 2006, 20:44

I have a 94 Pathfinder as well and I took it in to have the brakes done and was told by my mechanic not to waste my time either. The frame is rusted so bad in the back that people could fall through the back seat. Furthermore, the coils are about to break off of the frame and come through the body because the rust damage is so bad. I have photographed everything and I am taking a case up about this because I just had it in the body-shop 6 months ago for a fender bender and I was assured by 3 different people at the body-shop (a Nissan dealership and bodyshop) that there was absolutely nothing wrong with the frame. They took me for 3600.00 in body work and then proceeded to send me on my way in a deathtrap. I will let you know what the Attorney General says though.

12th Apr 2006, 20:10

Just found that my 94' Nissan truck has a rusted frame on both sides in the front down slope. I think I am going to try to repair it, for there's nothing else wrong with it. It would be nice to get something from Nissan for it though? Good luck everybody.

13th Apr 2006, 17:16

I own a 1995 Nissan 4x4 XE. I had a brake line repaired and the mechanic told me that the truck needed more brake work, but that it might not pass inspection because of the frame. On closer looked I noticed a sizable hole under the passenger side. I took it to another shop that was in the phone book for frame repair. I was under the impression that were going to weld on a plate and fix, some other slight holes, and undercoat. I picked it up and paid for it. When I took a closer look at it I noticed it was bubbled out slightly. I touched it and it collapsed inward! They only filled it! I'm so mad. I'm going to bring it back tomorrow and tell them to fix it the right way or give me my money back. If I can get it welded it might be a temporary soultion. I bought this truck used, I'm guessing the seller knew about this problem, but he has since moved to another state. Other wise the truck is in pretty good condition. This web pages is the first that I've heard of others having frame problems. It wasn't listed in any of the reviews I looked at before buying the truck.

3rd Jul 2006, 11:13

I am also a victim of the pathfinder. My 1994 SE looked to be a good buy. I had great luck with my 1998 so I figured the same to be true with the 1994. No such luck. When I went to rotate the tires after having the truck a month I found fist size holes in the frame above the axle. Took it to the body shop and was told the only way to fix it is to replace the frame. Not exactly what I wanted to here about my new purchase. As far as the lawsuit count me in.

5th Jul 2006, 17:15

I also have frame rust on the right rear side over the rear wheel area, on my 1995 Pathfinder SE. This definitely is a manufacturer safety defect in my opinion, as it seems to be a wide spread problem. Mike R.

12th Jul 2006, 21:43

Same problem with my 1995 Nissan Pathfinder. Went to have it inspected and was told that the entire frame was rusted through. Was told that a new frame would cost approximately 2800.00. Count me in on any lawsuit.

Dennis N.

18th Jul 2006, 09:30

I have a 93 pathfinder SE. I discovered recently that the rear horizontal stabilizer?/sway bar. (3" OD tubing welded to the frame about a foot in front of the rear axle;) has broken completely loose on the passenger side. I have 160,000 miles and this problem has appeared in the last 5000 miles. A trusted body and frame shop stated that the amt of rust would make the shop feel like they were stealing my money; if I paid them to invent a fix. I have also found many places where I can poke my fingers thru the frame on the passenger side. Strangely though the drivers side is rock solid. After reading this thread I think I will reconsider my plans to buy a 95 as a replacement. I guess I will look at 4runners of the same vintage.

20th Jul 2006, 18:30

My 1994 Nissan Pathfinder SE has just been told to get off the road due to the frame being rusted out over the rear wheel wells. I have had this vehicle since new, no accidents, 425,000kms, no major work of any kind and it still runs /looks great. I am not sure what to do about the frame now.

21st Jul 2006, 16:16

I have an 88 Pathfinder with no rust whatsoever. It seems to me that everyone that's saying "terrible design", "poor design" and "death trap" have neglected to properly care for their vehicle (or the previous owner, of course), and have simply allowed the rust to continue unchecked until it gets so bad that the frame breaks or things start falling off. Proper care includes undercarriage inspections and rust-proofing or treatment to prevent rust if necessary. If you do find rust, you CAN have it fixed before significant damage occurs and/or expensive repairs are necessary. Rust is not invisible. If you live in a salted road area and do not clean your vehicle's frame and undercarriage frequently, what do you expect? Just my 2 cents...

-88pathoffroad

http://www.nissanpathfinders.net/forum/

Nissan Pathfinder forums