14th Feb 2011, 04:38


The NHTSA is investigating the Pathfinder's problems with the frame. I just submitted mine for my 94 hardbody. You guys with hardbody problems might want to do the same.

13th Apr 2011, 09:46

I almost purchased a 95 Nissan pickup.

The body, engine, and interior were flawless. If I wouldn't have found this set of comments and learned about the issues with frame, I probably wouldn't bought the truck without a second thought. Instead I really poked around under it and found it had a lot of rotting sections of frame.

I'm sorry that the folks on this board are in this situation. I'm thankful that you all shared and saved me from a really bad situation.

26th Apr 2011, 14:18

I have a 1994 Nissan truck, 4x4 with only 73,000 miles, body perfect, frame been gone for years. If anyone can help me with a recall notice on the frame, please, please, let me know.

25th May 2011, 00:32

Same problem with my 1994 Nissan Pathfinder. Engine still good.

15th Oct 2011, 09:01

I have a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder XE V6. I just returned from my oil being changed, and I was told that the frame on the right front passenger side was rusting badly.

The mechanic took me back to look at it, and sure enough, about 2 feet of the frame was seriously rusted, and even had a hole in it. He said it should not be this way, since the car itself has very little rust on it.

I was told if I did not get it fixed soon, it could be a real problem; since the transmission and other vital parts of the car rest on it.

The mechanic suggested I take it to Nissan; since they may be offering to fix it; the same as Toyota.

The other option, would be to take it to a welding shop, where it could cost $300 to $500 to repair.

Does anyone know if Nissan is repairing this defect?

22nd Oct 2011, 09:30

People, Nissan are well aware of this problem. I have a 94 Hardbody in excellent running condition. I love this truck, but after taking it in for a minor service, my mechanic pointed out the frame is completely gone and unsafe to drive. We contacted the local dealership, who referred us to Nissan corporate, who sent us back to the dealership for an inspection. After a week of waiting, the corporate rep told us there was nothing they could do. I find this unacceptable. Toyota had this issue and fixed the problem. Why will Nissan not do the same?

We need to get together and contact our state attorney generals for a recall. This is a huge safety problem, and Nissan figures if they ignore us we will go away. I don't know about you, but I cannot afford this. Let's get the ball rolling.

22nd Oct 2011, 09:34

We are willing to do whatever you need to help in this cause.. We set up a Facebook page. Just search Nissan frame. It is time to fix this problem!!

22nd Mar 2012, 01:22

I have a 1992 Nissan Pathfinder XE that I had bought used from a truck dealership in Chicago about six years ago. The truck was in very good condition, and I have not had any major problems with the truck since.

In the last couple years or so, I had noticed layers of rust starting to form on the frame and beginning to peel away. I was told that this was common -- given the age of the truck. Little did I know that the frame rail was rotting away.

To make a long story short, I recently noticed a fuel leak on the ground, and took the truck in for an inspection. They had determined that I had to replace the fuel lines as they were rotting away. They then told me that the frame had extensive corrosion holes and cracks -- and said that the truck was probably not safe to drive anymore. Wow! Had I known that this truck had those kind of problems, I would not have bought this when I did.

I had filed a complaint with Nissan Consumer Affairs yesterday, and had spoken with the service department at my local Nissan dealer about it. They said I would have to pay for the tow, and to pay to have the frame corrosion inspected for $130! One can clearly see right away that there are corrosion issues! Why would they charge $130 to inspect it?!!

I can go on with my story, but I'll keep it short here for now. Does anyone have any advice on what to do? Will there be a class action lawsuit? How safe are the newer Nissan trucks? I was considering replacing my 1992 Pathfinder XE with a 2005 - 2008 Nissan Xterra. Thoughts?


Dan L.


22nd Mar 2012, 18:33

I understand this seems to be a problem with this model, however I honestly don't know what you expect Nissan to do for you at this point, when the vehicle is 20 years old.

I live in New England, and rust/rot is always a worry to me. I owned a 1987 Pathfinder from 1987-2000, and didn't see any frame issues, although I did notice the rear bumper and spare tire carrier rusting prematurely.

It seems like there probably should have been a recall years ago - but when these vehicles have reached 15-20 years old, it doesn't seem reasonable to expect the manufacturer to do anything, if they haven't already.

My dad had a 1974 Datsun Pick-up, and the body was rotted out at 5 years old, and that seemed to be the norm for those trucks back in that era. It ran like a top, but was a rust bucket.

26th Mar 2012, 02:22

Report it, so a recall can possibly be initiated. I have a 1992 Pathfinder XE with frame rot, and had reported it last week. I was told I am the second person to have reported it. The first person did so in 1993 -- 19 years ago! More people need to report this frame rot, so something can be done about it.

Here is the link to report it online. Or, you can call them directly to do so like I did. Make sure to get a complaint #.


5th May 2012, 18:36

I also had a 94 XE, which I purchased up in Maine with 135k on the odometer, and it suffered the rusted rear frame issue as well. It scared the crap out of me the first time I wrapped my hand around the rear tire portion and crushed it with my hand. I found a guy to weld it for me, and although I never did have an issue with that area, I did end up having a welded trailer hitch break off from the frame while towing a bike.

Even with that issue though, I cannot begin to express how dependable that truck was. I loved it so much that I began searching for a mint condition one while I was in Iraq. I found a 95 with 98k miles on it for 3500.00, and I know I'll still be driving it 10 years from now.

If I were filthy rich... I would give Nissan a couple million for a new 94 Pathfinder that you all just know they have somewhere in storage as a collectable :)