11th Nov 2007, 02:25

I am the owner of two Pathfinders.

The first, a 1991 SE is parked in a field because the coil spring bucket on the passenger side, tore away from the frame, cracking the rusted frame in the process. I can literally punch a hole in the steel frame with my finger (oxidized as it may be).

The second is a 1995 LE which was obtained recently from a relative. It also has a hole in the frame from where I inserted my finger. It is on the outside of the driver side rail, but behind the rear wheel, so I don't think it is structurally significant. The rest of the frame was able to resist penetration from my fleshy thrusts.

I am hoping for at least two winters out of it, but I am hesitant to transport my 5 year old son in something that is potentially lethal, knowing that its crumbling beneath us.

If there were a feasible way to repair it, I would do it in a second. I really enjoyed my 91 Pathy and it was very reliable.

Otherwise I am stuck with two vehicles that run great, but can't drive.

22nd Nov 2007, 18:50

I see these comments are going back to 2004. Has "anybody" made and effort to contact an attorney to see if any thing can be done?

And yes I own a 94 Se Pathfinder that has been garaged for the last 10 years and the rear frame above the right rear tires is gone.

Mike from Ohio


4th Dec 2007, 22:19

I'm the original owner of a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder. March of 2007 I got rear ended at a stop sign. I spend $1300 a year on insurance and my truck was accident free. My insurance agent advised me that they are not going to cover the damage due to frame rot under part 111 section 52. My mint truck now sits in my driveway, Not fixed, Not compensated, And a letter saying that my truck cannot be registered until I fix the frame. Sign me in for the lawsuit. Any feedback greatly appeciated. Contact me at hole_beater@hotmail.com.

29th Dec 2007, 00:33

My wife and I bought a new Nissan Hard-body in '87 and loved the truck. We sold it (sadly), with 80,000 miles on it. The '93 POSFinder I bought 4 days ago seemed to only have surface rust at the tail of the frame. Further inspection showed that the reason the owner had an Arkansas "transporter" plate on it (in the New York metro area!) was because it wouldn't pass inspection due to frame rot. Yes, all of the Nissan salesmen desperate to save their jobs should just give themselves a promotion and start selling booze, drugs and cigarettes to kids. NEVER ANOTHER NISSAN! Linemechanic1@yahoo.com.

11th Feb 2008, 12:50

I got a pathfinder 1994 and the rear frame is a complete mess if there a law suit count me in pierc.7981@sympatico.ca.

24th Feb 2008, 18:10

I own a 95 Nissan Pathfinder SE. Purchased the vehicle 3 years ago with 200,000 miles on it. I currently have 285,000 and runs like a top. I heard a strange crunching sound about a week ago when going over a rather large pot hole, but drove it home and forgot about it. It recently passed NJ inspection, but when inspecting the under-body noticed all the rust everyone is describing at this web site and some cracks in the rear of the the Frame. Now I'm not sure what to do, but will have it inspected and find out if it can be repaired.

I'm already ahead of the game because I only paid $1000 for it. I would be willing to put more money into it if its worth it.

26th Feb 2008, 11:59

Wow, and thought I had an isolated case! Just bought a 94 Pathfinder LE 112,000 miles, everything on this truck works! and looks almost new. Then I noticed frame rot on the rear portion starting just past the rear (both sides). What do we do? I feel as though I'm out the $$$ I paid for this vehicle because it seems a major safety risk, I put a screw driver right though the frame in the rusted out area, and would never sell this to someone in this shape. I may try to fix it, but not sure if that's even possible. Count me in on any class action suit


11th Mar 2008, 16:54

Same story here. 94 Nissan 4x4 truck with frame rot. 150k miles. Any suggestions so far? synavpro@yahoo.com

27th Mar 2008, 21:33

I'm driving my son-in law's '94 Pathfinder just lately (he bought some newer disaster).

Today I thought I would check out the clunks, and lo and behold: there was the same rotted right rear frame members.

We all love these vehicles but we cannot drive them. Nissan needs to know this (they know already).

I drove (and also loved) my 1982 Datsun diesel pickup. At some point I went to look for the magnetic key holder I had attached inside the (undercoated) frame. Not only was there no magnetic key holder, there was no frame there!

I imagined that Datsun/Nissan between '82 and '94 might have figured out there was a problem.

Apparently not. They build vehicles for a maximum of 7 years on the road.

What a waste! In Cuba we (Feb 2008) rode in a 1987 Buick with a Renault Diesel motor (aftermarket, needless to say). The frame was still solid.

15th Apr 2008, 08:02

Yet another story... just bought a very nice looking 94 Pathfinder... runs great, looks great, low miles 65K. Figured I would do a total detail and also black out the frame and wheel wells with undercoating... I almost died with shock... The frame is gone, there is nothing left of it!!! This vehicle is a total loss and is beyond repair. Firestone gets sued for tires that were not properly inflated by the consumer... yet Nissan gets away with this! If there is a lawsuit, count me in. danklug@aol.com.

25th Apr 2008, 19:04

Although Nissan has not claimed any responsibility for their defective frame problem the rusting frame seems to be the rule rather than the exception on their vehicles. As information for everybody check out the NTSB web site or Google Toyota Tacoma frame recall 1995-2000. It seems unlike Nissan Toyota, who had the same problem on the Tacoma has stood behind their product and are offering 1.5 times blue book value for all Tacomas experiencing frame rot. Now why will Nissan not stand admit the problem and stand behind their product.

By the way my son a Junior in High School just got bit by the same problem on his 1994 Pathfinder, his first vehicle purchase. Way to go Nissan! Building a real repeat customer base by ignoring a defect that warrants attention.

30th Apr 2008, 09:22

1995 XE Pathfinder 175,000 miles. Frame: completely rotted front to rear.

To the folks saying this is normal or could have been prevented by washing out the frame, that is complete and utter nonsense. I have owned two of these Pathfinders. a 1991 XE I drove until the wife totaled it (It's still serving a friend as an off-road vehicle) and the current 1995. The 1991 frame is STILL in perfect condition. I live in KY and they salt the roads here. I never flushed out the frame on either vehicle. One rots and the other doesn't. Sounds like bad steel to me. For reference I also have a 1971 Toyota FJ40 and a 1972 Ford F100. Frames are in great condition. All vehicles driven in KY and only one rots... Hmmmm... I also have a 2000 Nissan Xterra I have owned since new: no rot Hmmmm...