21st Jul 2006, 17:16

93 pathfinder. Same rot problem happening. If theres a law suit, I want in!!! I LOVE this truck and I'm going to try to weld in some supports. But I can't keep fixing it every year that a new rot hole appears. I have way to much $$ invested in this truck, lift kits, after-market steering and such. Id hate to let it go.

21st Jul 2006, 23:24

I have a '92 Pathy and have had no issues what-so-ever with mine, though, gratefully, I do live on the west coast... I feel for those who do end up with frame rot, and, depending on the amount of damage, they can usually be repaired by reinforcement and good welding.

To those who have yet to get this issue, but are beginning to wonder.. rust preventer's such as POR 15 and the such like are your saviours.

Good luck!

22nd Jul 2006, 21:17

I too have a 1994 Nissan Pathfinder. The body and the engine is pretty in a good condition, but the rear frame is completely rusted and it is completely separated. I believe the reason for such a bad rust is the shape and bad drainage system at the rear frame. count on me too for the lawsuit.

25th Jul 2006, 17:56

There will be no lawsuit. Nissan is well aware of this issue, but has ruled out any recalls as the problem is preventable.

All years suffer from insufficient drainage, but the 90-95 year models had poor steel fabrication as well. Trucks near the coast rot very fast from the salty air.

It says in the owners manual to wash out the frame regularly. This is why.

Dirt and debris collects inside, scratches away the paint, and keeps the bare metal moist.

The repair can be simple or complex, depending on how involved. The most common method is patching over the bad metal after applying rust treatment. Another is professionally rebuilding the damaged areas. The most intense is a full frame replacement.

26th Jul 2006, 22:23

Well I bought a 95 with 102,000 miles and it has surface rust and is flaky, but it hasn't rust through just yet, but you can see after the flaky stuff falls off it will only be a matter of time.

It's really sad because the motor is so strong.

3rd Aug 2006, 12:20

I'm having the same problem with my '95. I got away with it during inspection last year, but it failed this year. Just like most of you, I feel the rest of the truck is in great shape, especially for its age. Does anyone know how I can get any money out of the truck now? CarMax? Junkyard? Or am I better off donating it for the tax writeoff? I can't have it very long in my subdivision without an inspection sticker, so any help would be appreciated!


7th Aug 2006, 23:28

If any of you want to sell or part out your Nissan, or want some answers on how to fix things, go to www.4x4parts.com and post in the lounge.

22nd Aug 2006, 00:31

There's been a lot of problems with frame on Pathfinders, but to get some things straight...

- The WD21 chassis or Pathfinder, started in 1987 and ended in 1995, the R50 chassis started in 1996 and ended in 2004, and the R50 was a unibody design meaning it has no frame at all.

- The D21 or Hard Body, started in 1986 and their bodies sat higher off the frame than the Pathfinders.

- The D22 chassis or Frontier started in 1998, and so far hasn't had a problem with rust.

- The WD22 chassis or Xterra started in 1996 I believe, and was the son of the Pathfinder, but some say it was a step down, due to the leaf sprung rear as opposed to the Pathfinder's 4/5 link.

I'm an off roader, my vehicle of choice is a Pathfinder, these things are looked down upon by the off roading community, but it's never let me down. If you start off roading your Pathy, the only thing you need to worry about is steering. You aren't going to suddenly lose control driving down the road or anything.

Here are some web links to Nissan forums...

www.4x4parts.com is a parts supplier as well as a forum.

www.purenissan.com is a parts supplier.

www.nissanpathfinders.net IS A GREAT SITE ABOUT PATHFINDER INFO!!! (gotta go to the forum though)

www.nissanoffroad.net is a forum.

www.nissan4wheelers.com is a forum.

28th Aug 2006, 17:28

I was going to buy a use 95 Nissan pathfinder Le. But now after reading this forum, I've decided to Keep looking for another Suv, such as a 4-runner.I'm glad I didn't buy the pathfinder. Man it was a nice strong engine, wheel drive leather interior, moon roof. oh well.

28th Aug 2006, 23:15

You'll go through head gaskets on 4 runners. Look else where once again.

8th Sep 2006, 19:24

I just found out that my 95 XE is worthless. I paid $4500 for it and put about $2000 into it since then... new paint, tires, an $1100 transmission fix, exhaust, front bumper... I am very salty at those b%#^@rds at Nissan. I work too hard for my money for this too happen without compensation. If anyone figures out a solution, please e-mail me @ denirostaxi@yahoo.com. Thanks. Eric D.

20th Sep 2006, 17:34

Same here. 1994 Nissan Pathfinder SE. Passengers side frame gone completely from front to rear. My drivers side looks somewhat solid, but when I smacked the bottom flaky area with a hammer...crash, the bottom gave out and left a big pile of frame on the ground. What a shame, rest of the truck is in good shape too.

25th Oct 2006, 14:44

1994 Pathfinder 150,000 miles, when clean, the thing looks almost brand new, went to get an inspection and it would not pass because the rear of the frame rails are rusted through. I had this vehicle since brand new. Never did I think there would be a problem of this magnitude. The SUV has been almost problem free for 12 years and now it might be worth nothing, but a parts vehicle. Count me in the class action law suit if it ever comes about.

6th Dec 2006, 10:56

Nissan should be concerned about their reputation concerning owner pride and overall owner satisfaction.When will Nissan understand that happy owners will buy replacement parts? All very profitable also. I will never buy another Nissan, because everything should go before the frame fails. Maybe some company will soon plan for the their products to offer full value rather than planned obsolescense. Pathfinder or Nissan never again!

13th Dec 2006, 07:40

95 Pathfinder frame rusts away. I also just found out that the frame of my pathfinder is rusting away when in the garage to have it winterized. Mechanic indicated he saw a similar situation with a 93 Pathfinder that dropped the full body on the axle when the frame became to weak. 248,000 km. on my pathfinder, runs well, I depend on it for extreme snowy &/or icy days in Northwestern Ontario. I will be going to the local Nissan dealer to determine what steps will be taken to correct this situation. Also count me in on a Class Action suit.

23rd Dec 2006, 21:37

Ditto on rust. I dropped my '96 4x4 Nissan truck off for inspection and the mechanic couldn't even put it up on the lift due to rust. Said it would crack the frame. Then he tapped the rear passenger side frame with a screwdriver and a baseball sized hole gave way. Like others on this forum, the rest of the truck (engine, body, etc.) is in fine shape and has been solid. I'm around 85,000 miles, so it is totally a drag to lose this vehicle to shoddy design. Count me in also on any class action.