5th Aug 2008, 12:33

I have a 1991 Nissan D21 pickup, four wheel drive. I bought the truck used about nine years ago. The truck runs great, but two weeks ago I was returning to my yard towing a 19 foot open boat. When I went to unhitch the trailer, the hitch was about 4 inches off of the ground. Wow, the rusted through frame bent like a bow. I have never seen such a rusted through frame. I have been driving for over 60 years. My son has a Toyota and it is in the recall. Minor frame damage. Would be interested in any recall action on the Nissan.


23rd Aug 2008, 15:40

Hey guys, I cant believe I'm in here too. I just bought a very very clean truck 3 days ago, and as I was filling up the front tire with air I noticed that yes my new 1994 Pathy has a rotted frame. I went back to them and they pretty much told me to go take a hike. So now I'm out $3500 on this deathtrap. I am going back there to speak with owner on Monday; they're giving me crap about as is (to my understanding as is only implies to mechanical not structual integrity ). The general manager to me I was beat. Little do the know I am a cop in that town &%$#%^&* (^ see you guys on the road...

25th Aug 2008, 12:59

I have the same frame rot on my 94 truck which is now permanently parked. Great truck but can't drive it.

I tried to get satisfaction thru the Nissan corporation. They started a file for my problem, waited 2 months to tell me basically "too bad". They know about the frame problem on these vehicles, they know about Toyota's working to help with a similar problem on their older vehicles. Yet Nissan will not help. Don't waste your time.

I guess that all of us who own these vehicles will be more careful where our hard earned dollars go in the future. Speaking for myself, my money will not be spent on Nissans even tho I have been a faithful customer for many years.

I have read a lot of comments on this site and it seems to me there may be a lot of these vehicles that are accidents waiting to happen on the highways. Spread the word.

I am also like every one else here.

Count me in on any class action suit which hopefully get started.

27th Aug 2008, 14:22

I own a 1991 Pathfinder SE that I bought new that also has frame rot. I live in PA where salt is a major issue in the winter.

It has been repaired twice with new steel plate weld back to good metal on the frame around the fuel tank. The fuel tank also rotted out and had to be replaced.

I also had the rear stabilizer rod mounts rot out on me, and had to have them re-welded along with the front strut rod mounts, which also rotted out and had to be removed and re-welded. I also had the brake and fuel lines rot out and they had to be replaced.

The body is still in great condition with only minor rust issues. I plan to keep fixing this truck as long as I can, even though it is a real challenge to keep ahead of the rot.

Everything works and it does not use a drop of oil between changes, and it runs like new with 166k on the odometer, so that has been keeping me motivated so far to keep it running.

12th Sep 2008, 06:30

I also own a 95 Pathfinder SE with a rotted frame. I was told by my Mechanic during a recent inspection that there is no way I should be driving this truck, that it is way too dangerous. I am very disappointed in Nissan for not wanting to help. Now I have perfectly good running vehicle that I can't drive. If there is a lawsuit count me in.


18th Sep 2008, 15:30

September 18, 2008.

Nissan pickup truck owners with rusted and rotted frames, I am recommending you take all your complaints and send them to the NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Admin.) specifically, ODI (Office of Defect Investigation).

You can do this online by going to their website (nhtsa.gov) or call them at 1-888-327-4236.

Just writing on blogs or complaint boards won't help. These incidents have to be reported to (hate to say it) the Federal Government.

If they get enough complaints, they say they will investigate.

Good luck.

22nd Sep 2008, 16:11

From a once devoted Nissan user, I am more than ever confident that Nissan + trucks = Nissucks. Don't waste your money on them, try something you can still drive after 100,000 miles.

26th Sep 2008, 19:04

Yup, me too. 1995 Hard body frame rotted 170,000miles. Fearfully still driving. Thankfully my cousin is a welder. Will never buy a Nissan again. My next truck will be a Toyota.

29th Sep 2008, 15:13

Oh geez. I'm back again a year and half later.

My 1995 Nissan Pathy frame still lasting, even though the rear frame is gone.

My rear, under the trunk is completely rusted, and every time I hit a bump, I hear a loud clanging noise. It also feels terrible, and my shocks are only 2.5 years old.

My rear bumper is gone, covered with black tape. My front bumper is fine, but the passenger corner is covered with tape because there is a big hole in it. If I kick the frame, it rains debris.

I'm expecting the truck to last probably another year before collapsing. Perhaps it will happen at the gas station after I fill up the tank, collapsing to the weight of 16 gallons of gas. The frame is beyond saving at this point.

I have 224,000 miles, and the interior and under the hood looks flawless. I wish I could post pics here. I hate a dirty "underthehood", so I clean it every six months. I've washed the car religiously, when I first bought it, which is probably why it's rusting now... I don't know. Was an undercarriage wash such a good idea??

14th Oct 2008, 00:04

I have a 99 Pathfinder, I bought new, it is in excellent condition except for the rust at the rear latch and around the wheel well, which has torn and collapsed from the weight of the truck. I was planning to give this truck to my son, but I've been told it is too dangerous to drive and too costly to repair. I just found out about this problem after purchasing a Murano. Had I known that so many people were having problems with their vehicles and Nissan didn't give a crap, I would never gone back to Nissan and purchased another of their products. To think that they are aware of this problem and won't own up to it shows a lack of integrity and respect for their customers. I will join in any lawsuit that is initiated. Contact me at catchuslater@yahoo.com.

14th Oct 2008, 23:20

Yet another bitterly disappointed '95 Pathfinder owner here. Was a GREAT truck, served me very well since bought new in 1995. 150,000 miles and almost all original parts. If not for the stinkin' rear-frame rust, I'd get at least another couple years out of it.

Noticed it about two years ago, and not terrible then but concerning (small holes here and there). Now, barely any rear frame left and back bumper is held on by old, wrapped CAT5 cable.

I was going to list it as a possible welder-special but after seeing all these reports, I'm not sure what to do. Too bad there are no big cliffs and old quarries around here ;-)

Got a good 14 years out of that truck. No lawsuit worries here. But it IS a shame. Wish it could be affordably repaired...

So bought a 1990 VW Bus as a replacement. Beauty. I'm happy and I'd buy a Nissan again, but will shed a tear when the truck is towed away.


Annapolis, MD.