1993 Nissan Primera SLX 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliable and surprising, but dull looking

Faults:

Radiator fins dropped out. Replaced on 143000 miles.

Leaking water pump leaked. Detected and replaced at 143000 miles.

Worn rear suspension link.

Drivers electric window pops out of rail, but has never fallen out.

General Comments:

Surprising! To look at it's a little bit dull inside and out, but despite the fact it's a 1.6 it goes faster than a lot of 2.0 cars.

The handling is also sharp and I've never had the guts to go as fast as it requires to lose the front end.

Despite problems, it's been very reliable considering the mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

1993 Nissan Primera eGT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

The clutch went at109000 miles the Nissan dealer drove the car and said it was the gearbox £1100 for new one.

Crunching noise from near side, CV or bearings?

Track rod ends wear easily.

Creaky suspension bushes.

Beginning to rust badly!

General Comments:

Looks great in silver.

Very underatted drivers car.

Handles like its on rails.

Above 4000rpm its like a rocket faster than my brother in laws BMW 320i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1993 Nissan Primera SLX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A car with problems, but lovable

Faults:

Rear suspension links worn.

Front, left upper suspension link worn.

Fuel pump, replaced.

Radiator, replaced.

Central locking, all passenger doors lock on their own, unknown fault?

Rear disks, replaced.

Rear brake slave cylinders, replaced.

Front disks, replaced.

Head gasket blew at 15,000.

Car heater only blows air on the highest setting, No4.

General Comments:

This car is a delight to drive.

I have had a lot of problems, but I still love my car.

It is very comfortable and roomy.

Plenty of boot space.

The steering is firm and smooth.

Forward gears are easy to locate.

Some difficulty getting reverse gear.

Very hard wearing seat material, seats still look like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

9th Jan 2002, 03:32

The following was mentioned: "Car heater only blows air on the highest setting, No4."

I have the same car and the same problem, is this easy to be fixed?

Thanks (markwhitman@hotmail.com)

24th Mar 2003, 08:31

About the problem with the heating. I read somewhere about that problem, and it is a common one. The good news is that is easy to repair. The bad news is I can't remember where I read about how to fix that. You should check that address: http://www.npoc.co.uk This is the Nissan Primera Owners Club. They should know.

There is another site of another Primera club. I believe there was where I read about the problem. It's some kind of resistor (plate) under the glove box or something like that. If you find out something, please post it here so others can benefit from this info. As I say, this is a common problem with the Primeras.

14th Jul 2003, 09:51

Blower motor has a resistor module located above passenger footwell. Easy to replace- see Haynes Manual for exact instructions.

10th Nov 2004, 09:43

I have the same problem with my blower!

Has any body ever fixed the problem, if so, how?

27th Sep 2009, 16:53

I have a Primera 1.6 SLX, and it does lock the doors on it own also! Don't have a clue on what it is, seems to be random, sometimes with the engine running and other times completely turned off.

1993 Nissan Primera eGT 2.0i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A truly brilliant all round driving car

Faults:

The only things ever replaced on the car were the ball joint behind the front driver's side brake disc and a driver's side drive shaft, this needed to be replaced through ignorance (spinning on a wet surface at just over 90 mph in 2ND GEAR!!!)

Apart from that everything else on the car has been there since I bought the car 2 and a half years ago.

General Comments:

Brillant car, since lowering the suspension 50mm all round the handling and cornering is unbelieveable. The car itself is like a wolf is sheep's clothing, people normally think a Primera nothing racy or fancy, but this car can and has given Subaru Imprezas and an Evo a run for their money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

20th Feb 2001, 08:28

Your Primera eGT beat's or gives Impreza's/Evo's a hard time, and then you wake up. A Nissan Primera, against a Impreza, and an Evo, no chance mate, I raced my mates Primera eGT in my 86 Corolla GT Twin Cam 16 and he couldn't get away, don't fancy my chances against an Impreza or an Evo.

26th Mar 2001, 07:55

A Corolla twin cam keeping up with an eGT yeah right, Surely you couldn't have got over 80 m.p.h. My Astra Sri was faster than a Corolla GTI and my eGT is quicker than that above 80 m.p.h. I am also sure you couldn't keep up with a Primera through corners with a decent driver behind the wheel as the handling of these cars is phenomenol. I have wiped the smile of several Cavalier GSI owners faces with mine. I agree I couldn't see one beating an EVO though, well at least it doesn't look as stupid as one so that is one thing I suppose.

4th Apr 2001, 15:27

You wanna try driving a Nissan 200SX 1.8Turbo, 0 -60 in 6.5 seconds, blows em all out of the water!

5th Jun 2002, 01:22

I've got a Subaru Turbo and a Primera eGT. Performance wise, the Primera doesn't stand a chance. Having driven 200sx's too, I would agree that they would stamp all over it. Still handles very well though.

21st Aug 2002, 08:35

Finally people who appreciate the joys of the eGT. I recently came by one and as I was in search of a new car at the time I thought I would give it a shot. It has given me nothing but joy leaving Lexus IS200's and Mark 3 and 4 Golf

GTI's in my wake.

This car is beautifully understated, but does anyone know where I can get factory made engine mods as I have tried NISMO, but all they seem to do supply Skylines and 200sx's.