1993 Nissan Primera SLX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


An under-rated and excellent buy


There is a switch inside the car that can shut off the central locking that appears to have stuck, but I can live with that.

Apart from that, nothing at all. It's absolutely great.

General Comments:

Some may find the 1.6 engine a little gutless on a big car like the Primera, but it's fine for me: I'm into reliability, not speed.

Acceleration is slower than that of the Peugeot 405 turbo diesel estate, but they cruise at 70 equally well, and the fuel economy is surprisingly similar!

Nothing ever seems to goes wrong on a Nissan; this is my fourth and I'll never stray again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2004

1993 Nissan Primera GT 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


A great poor mans Audi!


Just had the cam oil lines replaced.

General Comments:

The car is very quick for what it is.

Its got plenty of room for a 6 foot 2 frame and very nice to drive.

If you are doubtful of its service history please get the cam oil lines checked.

They tend to block and cause major problems in the top end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

1993 Nissan Primera eGT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


Sporty family car


Knocking anti-roll bar.

Broken drive shaft (didn't see the big pot hole).

Faulty CV joint on the new drive shaft.

Rust beginning to show around the rear spoiler.

Engine has just developed an oil leak, but don't know where from yet.

General Comments:

This is a good all round car, whether you want a family car or a sporty run-around. I've made a few modifications to the car, the usual things - air filter, exhaust, lowering springs - but there are very few after-market parts available for this car - the exhaust was a custom job. The boot is huge, I've taken myself a four others the length of the country with lots of luggage without any space problems, I even fitted a two seater sofa in the back with the rear seats folded down. The boot is now filled with amps and subs with just enough space left for a nitrous bottle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

1993 Nissan Primera SLX 1.6i from UK and Ireland


Reliable and surprising, but dull looking


Radiator fins dropped out. Replaced on 143000 miles.

Leaking water pump leaked. Detected and replaced at 143000 miles.

Worn rear suspension link.

Drivers electric window pops out of rail, but has never fallen out.

General Comments:

Surprising! To look at it's a little bit dull inside and out, but despite the fact it's a 1.6 it goes faster than a lot of 2.0 cars.

The handling is also sharp and I've never had the guts to go as fast as it requires to lose the front end.

Despite problems, it's been very reliable considering the mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

1993 Nissan Primera eGT 2.0 from UK and Ireland




The clutch went at109000 miles the Nissan dealer drove the car and said it was the gearbox £1100 for new one.

Crunching noise from near side, CV or bearings?

Track rod ends wear easily.

Creaky suspension bushes.

Beginning to rust badly!

General Comments:

Looks great in silver.

Very underatted drivers car.

Handles like its on rails.

Above 4000rpm its like a rocket faster than my brother in laws BMW 320i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1993 Nissan Primera SLX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


A car with problems, but lovable


Rear suspension links worn.

Front, left upper suspension link worn.

Fuel pump, replaced.

Radiator, replaced.

Central locking, all passenger doors lock on their own, unknown fault?

Rear disks, replaced.

Rear brake slave cylinders, replaced.

Front disks, replaced.

Head gasket blew at 15,000.

Car heater only blows air on the highest setting, No4.

General Comments:

This car is a delight to drive.

I have had a lot of problems, but I still love my car.

It is very comfortable and roomy.

Plenty of boot space.

The steering is firm and smooth.

Forward gears are easy to locate.

Some difficulty getting reverse gear.

Very hard wearing seat material, seats still look like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

9th Jan 2002, 03:32

The following was mentioned: "Car heater only blows air on the highest setting, No4."

I have the same car and the same problem, is this easy to be fixed?

Thanks (markwhitman@hotmail.com)

24th Mar 2003, 08:31

About the problem with the heating. I read somewhere about that problem, and it is a common one. The good news is that is easy to repair. The bad news is I can't remember where I read about how to fix that. You should check that address: http://www.npoc.co.uk This is the Nissan Primera Owners Club. They should know.

There is another site of another Primera club. I believe there was where I read about the problem. It's some kind of resistor (plate) under the glove box or something like that. If you find out something, please post it here so others can benefit from this info. As I say, this is a common problem with the Primeras.

14th Jul 2003, 09:51

Blower motor has a resistor module located above passenger footwell. Easy to replace- see Haynes Manual for exact instructions.

10th Nov 2004, 09:43

I have the same problem with my blower!

Has any body ever fixed the problem, if so, how?

27th Sep 2009, 16:53

I have a Primera 1.6 SLX, and it does lock the doors on it own also! Don't have a clue on what it is, seems to be random, sometimes with the engine running and other times completely turned off.