2008 Nissan Qashqai 2.0 DCi diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

TRASH

Faults:

Where to begin? Passenger door actuator failed, faulty engine sensor, OSF window came out of its guide. DPF problems ongoing from around 13000 miles, usual pointless advice... long runs, high speed etc, £600 and counting to sort this ongoing problem.

The car has 55000 miles, 1 owner from new, full service history, mmm, sounds great. BANG! Crankshaft main bearing failure, when the engine is stripped down we find the timing chain is also stretched... to cut a long story short, £1800 to repair, totally lost confidence in the car, getting rid of it ASAP.

Wouldn't wish this garbage on my worst enemy! Avoid at all costs, the 2.0 DCi has been a disaster.

General Comments:

Overrated, underpowered, uncomfortable, UNRELIABLE - SEE ABOVE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2017

16th Mar 2017, 14:42

Nissan are going downhill these times. The company just doesn't have a good management/engineering team. Better stay with Honda or Toyota until Nissan turns either into a competitive car maker, or just simply leaves the car making market.

16th Mar 2017, 16:40

I don't know about Nissan or any other manufacture in particular going downhill, but I think the problem is modern diesels.

By modern I mean most cars built after about 2005 onwards.

Across all reviews I read a lot about clogged DPFs, faulty injectors, and even flywheels wearing out prematurely.

Myself I went back to driving petrol cars after bad experiences with diesel. The extra cost on fuel is still better than dealing with the £1000+ repair bill a diesel hits you with at some point, thus defeating the purpose of saving money on fuel!

I'd only recommend a modern diesel to someone if they were doing crazy high mileages to see the benefits out of it. Otherwise stick to an older petrol car - cheaper in the long run.

17th Mar 2017, 01:47

Nissan is also terrible here in North America. Not as bad as Mitsubishi, but pretty close. People buy them thinking you get "Japanese quality", but the engines are nowhere close to as reliable as Honda or Toyota. Had 2 Nissans, both leaked tons of oil on my driveway and were in the shop often. Now I only buy Ford, GM, Honda and Toyota; I'm not wasting my time and money with Nissan ever again.

18th Mar 2017, 03:59

Nissan hasn't gotten much right since the merger with Renault.

5th Jan 2020, 18:00

I'm happy to see a reviewer recommending all Ford, GM and Honda together. No patriotic one sided opinions for once.

6th Jan 2020, 18:29

Probably because it's a UK based review. Car culture is a little different here than you guys in the USA. Ford and GM (or Vauxhall as GM are known here) can definitely make good cars when they try. But the other manufacturers from Germany and Japanese brands all have a similar image in regards to reliability. French cars on the other hand are regarded a little under average in reliability here. That's probably what happened with Nissan and Renault here - I'm not sure if Renault had any input in the making of this car, but the Qashqai model is considered a little under par for a typically reliable Nissan like they used to make. Same goes for the Juke. Not Nissan's best.

2008 Nissan Qashqai Tekna 4WD 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Trash

Faults:

Interior trim started to fall off after less than one year and barely 10,000 miles.

Heater and air-conditioning were slow to work, and finally failed after 15,000 miles.

Interior light-bulb blew after 17,000 miles, and again after 22,000 miles.

Ignition failed after 24,000 miles.

Driver's window motor failed after 26,000 miles.

Stereo packed up after 27,000 miles, and shortly afterwards I traded it in.

General Comments:

This car cost me nearly £20,000 to buy, and I've never wasted so much money in my entire life.

Don't get me wrong, it wasn't too bad to drive, and it was quite comfortable.

But it was badly built and unreliable, and within a year I knew I would be getting rid of it as soon as I'd paid for it.

As soon as I paid for it, I traded it in for a new Mondeo. My previous 3 cars were all Mondeo's, and they were all far better than this trash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2011