1991 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1991 Nissan Sentra from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired290000 kilometres
Most recent distance290800 kilometres
Previous carMazda 929

Summary:

Awesome little car!

Faults:

CV boot worn out.

Warped front rotors.

Factory tapedeck worn out.

General Comments:

Excellent car all around. Easy to fix, easy on gas, easy to park, easy to find parts for... you get the idea. Simple, efficient & practical pretty much sums it up! Buy one if it's in good shape. Owning and driving this puts my old 929 in a distant unfavorable memory!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

1991 Nissan Sentra E 1.6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired111400 miles
Most recent distance111700 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Absolutely the worst vehicle I have ever owned!

Faults:

The transmission would not shift from 2nd gear into over drive one day after I purchased car. I had the transmission replaced by the dealer.

Trans-axle became disengaged twice, resulting in immobility of vehice.

Power steering pump stuck. Also the power steering belt fell off.

Headliner dropping from the car ceiling.

General Comments:

The car is far from reliable. After only owning it for four weeks I have completely broken down three times in this time frame.

Once one part is supposedly fixed something else breaks on it.

Due to the unreliability of the vehicle I have only been able to put roughly 300 miles on the vehicle. I am sick to my stomach because of the frustration this car has caused me!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

12th Oct 2005, 10:28

I bought my 1991 Sentra from a tow company for $500. The interior (of course) needs some TLC, but it runs great without having done anything to it and it drives fine. All it needs is a headlight and a brake light. When I picked it up, I drove it 125 miles at approximately 70 mph. It did an excellent job and used only 1/2 tank of gas!! I am glad I bought this car.

5th Jan 2006, 09:41

How much did you pay for this car? $100 maybe? You should always have an independent mechanic check out any used vehicle your considering purchasing. I have a 1991 Nissan Sentra GXE with 185,000 miles on it and it is still running strong and is very reliable. The only issues with it are cosmetic in nature. Sounds like you got ripped off - buyer beware!!!

11th Mar 2008, 11:11

I bought a white 1991 Nissan Sentra SE and only paid 200.00 for it. I am only 17 and I got the car when I was 16 years old and it was the greatest car I have ever owned. Everything in the car worked, including the ice cold air. I got it, it had 197000 miles on it, and I drove it until it had 220000, after I hit a big deer with it. I sold it for 600.00 to my girlfriends mom and that was after I hit the deer with it, and the A/C didn't work and the CV axle was clicking. She fixed all that and is still driving it.

15th Dec 2009, 03:24

I have a 1991 Nissan GXE. I have had it for 4 years, and put about 100,000 miles on the car, which puts her at 250,000 miles. She still runs strong, but it started having tranny problems. It won't move because the syncros are done, but I would buy another one in a heart beat, and they're pretty fast. Mine has the 1.6 16 valve in it, and I was smoking Honda Accords and Civics in it, so everybody should own one I think.

1991 Nissan Sentra XE 1.6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Worth the money

Faults:

The left and right axles needed to be repalced.. clear coat on the paint has left a funny shape on the hood.. (needs a paint job)..other than that the car is a solid ride and very cheap to keep it running.

General Comments:

Well worth the $900.00 I paid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2005

8th Nov 2005, 10:17

I also own a 1991 Sentra XE, I paid $1000 for it and its still going strong since I got it. I got it with 121,000 miles and I have 132,000 on it right now and the only thing that is wrong with it is the gas tank is leaking near the top, I suspect rust and old age it is a 91 after all. The other is the windshield is broken, but that is easily fixable. Other than those few things this car has been giving me the reliability and gas mileage I want for the price that I could only afford. I'm glad I bought my car, its gonna have to get me threw college until I can afford something a lot nicer.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 30 reviews