1991 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1991 Nissan Sentra EX 16v 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 16v 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance63700000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

High performance racing

Faults:

Transmission (peelouts I guess).

When you're at top speed the car shuts down. I guess I overworked it racing with my friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

15th Oct 2001, 14:38

The reason your car shuts down at top speed is because of your governor. You can remove it yourself, save big bucks and increase your top speed. You could also get an A&K clutch to stop from burning the clutch or even possibly another tranny.

I have a 1991 Sentra SE and have had the same problems until I did the suggested repair work above, my car now runs low 12's in the quarter and is the fastest import in my area.

Other things and performance parts were added to it. For a complete list, e-mail me at oz55555@hotmail.com

Oz.

1991 Nissan Sentra XE 1.6 from Japan

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

The best

Faults:

Nothing except for the usual wear and tear.

I replaced the clutch at 100,000 miles and 211,000 miles.

I replaced the rack and pinion because I lent my car to someone and they went 4-wheeling in the desert!!

General Comments:

I LOVE MY CAR! It is incredibly reliable and the engine is still kicking!! I have taken it in for regular maintenance, e.g. oil changes, tune-ups and it is still getting great gas mileage!

I have spoken to mechanics (non-Nissan mechanics) and they have found that the Sentras's engines are very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2000

3rd Jun 2001, 14:51

I also have the same car (1992) and am just as satisfied as you are, I know what you went through, unbeatable reliability.

Do you know your next car is going to cost a lot to match this now?

Is that good or bad?

Comment me at "Enjoy the ride, I sure did" in Sentra 1992 Carsurvey.

1991 Nissan Sentra E 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

I personally blew the transmission (doing peel-outs in a automatic), trunk leaks after accident (can't fix it).

General Comments:

Great car! Still on its first set of tires after 8 years and 200,000 (highway) km!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

31st Jul 2001, 00:27

I have a 1991 SE, at 170,000 I was rear-ended (stupid me for being stopped at a STOP sign) and now my trunk leaks as well. Luckily I am in Utah, not very humid or rainy here.

23rd Jul 2004, 11:43

I just recently got a 1991 Sentra E myself... Haven't had it for long, but I'm loving it so far! Pretty nice car, dependable, fast (I've beaten everything that's messed with me yet... no 5.0s yet hehe), and very easy to modify. If you find one, buy it!!!

22nd Aug 2004, 00:56

Fast??? AHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHA, my crappy Regal Turbo will smoke a Sentra even with the 140 horse engine. AHAHAHA!!!

1991 Nissan Sentra SE-R 2.0L DOHC, 16 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC, 16 valve
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Three suspensions have been replaced. The other one needs to be replaced soon. EGR valve has also been replaced. Electric problem in the dashboard.

General Comments:

This car is excellent because Nissan put a 2.0L engine instead of a 1.6L. Power is more than enough for this car. I think Nissan uses cheap materials for the suspension, because they should not be replaced at around 60,000 miles. However, this car is fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 1998

1991 Nissan Sentra SE-R 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 2.0L
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Windows hard to roll up and down.

Had the car in several times when new for erratic idle problem. It was within spec but they replaced alot of things. It's some what better but still happens occassionally.

Brakes replaced at 60K, tires at 30K, muffler at 75K.

Ride getting a little rough, possible suspension concerns.

Vent control knob won't go all the way to the left (face only position).

General Comments:

Real nice compromise car. Wanted a low cost reliable new car, which was sporty, yet needed good gas mileage, and room for four. At $12,200 for a 5k mile demo how can you beat it?

Still can't find anything to replace it with similar qualities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 1998

31st Jul 2001, 00:34

>>Windows hard to roll up and down.

Me too, and on the passenger side the tint is all scratched up.

>>Had the car in several times when new for erratic idle problem. It was within spec but they replaced a lot of things. It's some what better but still happens occassionally.

Let me guess... It occasionally would idle at 1500-2000 rpm... with the AC off and the car in neutral. Then, you push in the clutch and the engine cuts to 0... and dies. Mine did this for about 2 weeks (2100 miles, with my ex-commute), but I told the car that I loved it and is was a good car, and it fixed itself.

This happened at about 168000 miles.

>>Vent control knob won't go all the way to the left (face only position).

I can't turn my center vents off. It's broken, but they go through a full range of motion.

Other than these probs, though, it's the best car in the world. Can't buy ANYTHING now that even compares.

26th Nov 2001, 01:27

The suspension is cheap, oem parts need to go after a few months of NYC driving.

Gas mileage is sketchy - gas gauge doesn't work properly. Ever.

Good engine.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 30 reviews