2001 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 3 of 11

2001 Nissan Sentra GXE 2.8 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.8 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired219 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Nissan sucks bad

Faults:

- Power window failed a year ago at 52,000 miles.

- Passenger power window failed 5 months at 52,888 miles.

- Emission tube, cracked at 52,000 miles, & $250.00 to repair.

- Front struts failed at 55,999 miles.

- Currently the ignition key, if not set just perfectly, the car will not start.

- Very poor fuel mileage. 12 MPG in town and 24 highway.

- Catalytic converter starting to stink. Thus, it is going.

- I drive about 5000 miles yearly and just went through another pair of front brakes.

- Tranny is shifting hard or not at all from 4th to overdrive.

General Comments:

I am going to change all filters, plugs, and plug wires, even though Nissan does not recommend this till 100,000 miles.

I am an old-school guy. Back in the day Nissan was a car to buy, like Toyota or Honda are today.

Boy was I wrong. No more NISSANS for me.

If the car had 100,000 miles on it, well "OK", that's to be expected. But I have 56,000 easy miles on it, and it's coming apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2010

12th May 2010, 15:47

Be a very careful driver, too. I had a 2006 Nissan Sentra 1.8. I was rear-ended in a wreck. The seatback (vertical) part of the driver's bucket seat failed and I was ejected into the back seat. That's right, the metal seat frame snapped. I'm not that heavy, either 5'9" and 200 pounds. The bottom part of the seat where the recliner & adjuster is was still standing straight up, yet half-way up the back was sagging & hanging by the fabric and foam. I could grab the top of the seatback and swing it back and forth. The right side of the frame was broken lower than the left. That's how come I slid out under the (buckled) seatbelt, too. I wound up hurting my shoulder and neck. They don't make them like they used to!

2001 Nissan Sentra GXE 1.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

OK car, get a Toyota or Honda instead

Faults:

Check engine light is on. Comes up with Cut Bypass Valve. Replaced this valve twice and light still on. I think it might be the ECU, but not sure.

Belts make a lot of noise even after being replaced.

Engine makes a grinding noise.

Other than these small problems, nothing serious.

Bottom of the doors rusting.

General Comments:

I'll probably buy a Honda and stay away from Nissan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2009

2001 Nissan Sentra SE with Performance Package 2.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I would buy it again in a second!

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong with the car.

Window regulators at 130,000 Kms.

Starter at 175,000 Kms.

General Comments:

This has been an awesome car.

The Sentra SE has been sadly under rated. The car handles very well, has many options and performance found on more expensive makes. It also has the looks of a performance sedan.

With 190,000 kilometers on my Sentra, it's been extremely reliable and I would buy another in a second.

I highly recommend this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2009

2001 Nissan Sentra SE Sport 2.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Distance when acquired250 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Bad brakes

Faults:

I bought my new Sentra SE SP 2.0L, 5 speed, 2001, in 2001.

I hate this car mainly for the bad brakes...

At service #1 at 16500 km, the front rotors were already warped, not under warranty.

At 57000 km, all 4 discs+pads were replaced.

At 125000 km, again all 4 discs+pads replaced.

At 153000 km, again, all 4 discs+pads AND rear calipers were replaced.

Rust start appearing on each doors (inner bottom) after 3 years only.

At 136000 km, need to replace the air flow sensor ($100) and the 1st O2 sensor (the one before the catalysor) ($250).

Some minor electrical problems: Electric roof switch went bad at 59000 km; under warranty.

Check Engine lights up now and then, when I fill up the gas tank... this issue seems to be related with the tank cap. I don't bother anymore.

At 162000 km, Blower fan resistor dead (only working at speed #4). I fix the problem by soldering a wire on the PCB bypassing the cooked trace. This is really a bad design!!

And the front rotors are starting to get rusty again 4 months after they were changed (uneven braking). Will go back at M. Muffler to hear their song...

I use this car to go to work. Average 23000 km per year. 50% highway, 50% city.

Last minor comment: The headlights clear plastic quality is really cheap because it is now blurry & yellow.

Will I buy Nissan again? No. Was this model built in Mexico???

General Comments:

I'm getting tired of the firm suspension.

Original tire size is not very popular (195/55R16). Using 205 size now.

In 2001, the timing chain was an added value compared to a timing belt used on many other cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2008

27th Sep 2008, 20:48

The reason for the harsh braking is because there is no ABS on the car. you can't just stomp and steer like other cars. I currently have 65k miles on the car and now having the first rotor and pads all around and rear caliper seized. Expensive, but maintenance is on foreign cars.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 36 reviews