2001 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 7 of 11

2001 Nissan Sentra 1.8 Liter I-4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles

Summary:

The famous 58,000 mile oil change car!

Faults:

Nothing has failed on the car. I have no idea why, (You'll understand when you read further.), but everything is still good.

General Comments:

Okay, it's not my car, but my friend's. She (knows nothing about cars) so that's why what happened, happened.

One day she picks me after I get off of work. Then I comment her on her car saying that it rides nicely. Somehow after talking with her we got on the subject of oil changes. I told her I change my oil every 3000 miles. Well, she tells me that she's never had to do that before. UH OH!!! Immediately I tell her to take it to a car shop and have it done now!

So, in short, the shop spent 3 hours on the car because they had to flush all the junk out of the engine with some potent chemicals. The oil was actually paste. I have no idea how that engine survived 4 years and 58000 miles without an oil change, but it did, and not only that, it runs really good now!

I keep telling my friend to change her oil every 3000 miles, but she says "Well, if it can go 60,000 miles before I need it, why should I?" That's for her to decide, but there is no doubt in my mind that my next car is going to be a Sentra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

7th Nov 2005, 01:16

But my dads vauxhall Vectra C has 30,000 mile oil change intervals!!!

7th Nov 2005, 12:20

My Mother in law drove her 1996 Chevy Beretta 36,000 miles on an oil change! What a cruel way to treat a car!

7th Nov 2005, 18:50

I commonly run my GF's 97 Escort 20,000kms on synthetic with only filter changes and top-ups b/t (at 10,000kms) using Mobil 1 5w30. There's absolutely nothing wong with the car, and it runs very smoothly.

If you hang around the website BITOG you'll understand how oils are made up to withstand long intervals without breaking down/

As for 60k miles on the same oil...well, I really don't' know abtou that, but I'm sure that some parts would probably sustain some damage!!!

2001 Nissan Sentra SE 1.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance68500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Mediocre

Faults:

Constant oil leak problem and overheating. Was told by Honda service that it would be the rear main seal and VERY costly. Serviced the rear main seal and it was not the problem. Head gasket problem, engine sensor light coming on, car serviced at Honda and Honda saying 'an entire new engine needs to be installed' after spending nearly $2,000 to service. Car didn't even make 100,000km.

General Comments:

So far the Nissan Sentra is fine. Much more affordable than the Honda Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

1st Oct 2007, 06:15

Not trying to knock you, friend, but if you are willing to pay a dealer to look at your Nissan, why not take it to a Nissan dealer instead of a Honda dealer? Chances are they will be better able to diagnose your problems.

4th Apr 2009, 21:25

I agree with above! Why buy Nissan and service at Honda? Unless you bought from Honda?

2001 Nissan Sentra SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Low price and High Speed family car

Faults:

My mom drove her Sentra and had a car accident two years ago in the highway. Since that, the car often leans to one side.

General Comments:

The car is cheap and fast. Honestly, it is faster than most of the cars in that price range. It is faster than Corolla, Civic (not the Sir/Type R), Mazda Protege, Lancer, Tiburon 2.0 (not the V6).

It is easy to handle. My mom loves it very much.

The brake is amazing. Very sensitive.

However, the rear of the cars look weird, or even awful. Other than that, I have no complain about it. It is a great family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

11th Nov 2008, 15:02

I am the original writer of this article, and here is my updated information about my Sentra SE 2.0.

I still own this car and I am driving it to work everyday. My mom bought another car and she let me drove her Sentra.

I am a construction inspector in Toronto, and I am driving my Sentra inside the muddy site everyday. I drive my Sentra like a RALLY car and it still works.

Major Problems:

Sometimes the horn is not working if the weather is too humid.

The re-sale value is poor. <--- Sorry, off topic.

Minor Problems:

Be careful when it is raining or snowing. The brakes are good, but this car intends to slide. Maybe this is my driving skill problem. I am not sure about this.

Comments:

This car is 7 years old now and it reaches 140,000km. The engine, brake, doors, mirrors, air-conditions are still working.

My car is a little bit slower than 4 years ago, but I still have no problem in entering the ramp of the highway. My car can easily reach 80km/hr and it is very smooth in the highway.

Some other Sentra drivers have problems with the seat belt, but I don't because I seldom buckle up.

I am not advertising the car, but I hope my reviews can help people in some way.

R. Tse.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 36 reviews