1994 Nissan Sunny XLS 1.6 twin-cam from Iceland

Summary:

A basic car, nothing exciting

Faults:

The rear shocks were replaced.

The driver's seat was crooked and half loose.

General Comments:

A very basic car.

It was silver, had gray plastic interior, the seats were gray, everything was gray, and the car even smelled gray.

The sort of car a Soviet tax collector would drive. This thing was just a dreary, cloudy Tuesday made into a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd February, 2012

2nd Feb 2012, 22:44

Just my humble, subjective opinion here. Cars such as this may be reliable, practical, use barely any gas, and even (sometimes) last for a very long time.. but because of their complete lack of character and the apparent inability of their designers to give them a hint of style or personality, I wouldn't want one even if you paid me for it.

Even though most people view cars as that simple 'going from A to B', mere-transportation-and-nothing-more thing, I would equate sitting in a gray, bland interior every day, like having to work in a little concrete walled cubicle, as opposed to the plush, comfy, wood paneled office my 1977 Triumph 2000 sedates me with each morning.

Such little things make quite a difference, or am I just being too much of a subjective wa*ker?

1994 Nissan Sunny LX 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The car that will convert you!

Faults:

Nothing except spark plugs when they reached the end of their life, one switch is jammed (in the right place) and the tyres.

General Comments:

This is a seriously useful car.

I'm learning to drive in it and there hasn't been anything I can't do in it.

I don't have power steering, yet I can still get it parked in seconds!

The power is very good as well, it's there on tap for when I need it!

The cabin is well thought of, with all switches right where you need them. You get the feeling that they thought of everything.

I love this car and everything about it, and for £400 who can blame me?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2008

1994 Nissan Sunny LX 1.4 from Cyprus

Summary:

Rubbish, buy something else

Faults:

Well, let's see:

I bought the car used, but so was my previous car (which is still trouble free after all these years). About the Nissan Sunny however:

1) As soon as I bought it, after 2 weeks, there was a petrol leak from the hose of the petrol filter.

2) Two months after purchase, the clutch disc needed replacing as it became worn out.

3) 1 year after purchase, the wheel switch that turns on the lights and controls the left/right indicators needed replacing.

4) 6 months after purchase, the car started leaking oil. Mechanic says it can be fixed, but after a few months the same oil leak will re-occur.

5) The oil in the engine immediately becomes very black, even right after being drained and replaced.

6) 1 year after purchase, the car was exhausting black smoke: this was a problem with the automatic air intake control of the car, so a mechanic disabled it altogether.

7) 1 year after purchase, the air conditioning gas became empty.

8) 1 year after purchase, both front shock absorbers needed replacing.

9) Even from purchase, there is a knocking sound coming from the back suspension. Dealer replaced for new ones, but the sound never went away.

10) The reservoir cooling fluid disappears after a few weeks of driving.

11) The car pulls to the right, even though it has new tyres.

I absolutely hate this car, but I bought it for my wife (who is a new driver) so she did a couple of fender benders so far and broke the door mirror once...

At least I got for a good price back then (1500 CYP) and the car is steady on the road and feels safe and solid (the car is very heavy, around 1200KG).

General Comments:

Unreliable, expensive to maintain car with low performance and very bad mileage (uses 45L of fuel per 350km) no matter how economically you drive in town.

I think Nissan brings shame to all other Japanese manufacturers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

5th Aug 2008, 06:24

You got a lemon. I don't know why you have gone off and completely defamed the car.

The sunny is known as a reliable, cost effective car.

Why you wrote this review, I don't know??!

3rd Oct 2008, 03:15

I totally agree with the first comment - no matter what car you buy, there are always lemons around. Get a mechanic to look over it if you're unsure as to its condition.

25th Feb 2010, 12:36

Amazing!!... You buy a car after 10 years of it being on the roads, and you claim it is not good enough... LOL... yeah I agree there are lemons around...

Important: average age of a car in Europe is 8.5 years... Source: http://www.acea.be/images/uploads/files/20090529_average_car_age.pdf