1994 Nissan Sunny Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Nissan Sunny SR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

GTi-R looks at half the cost

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with my new car.

Although I was a bit annoyed when trying to overtake a Ford 4x4 turbo. It was trying to match me speed for speed and managed to do so for a bit. Lucky I was turning right otherwise I would have blown it away.

I plan to get a power boost put on my car, just to make sure none of the other cars on my level take me on. Maybe I might also get an air filter K&N induction kit.

General Comments:

I recently bought a Nissan Sunny 1.6 SR which I've been meaning to get for some time now.

I had a Nissan Sunny 1.4 LS which I kitted up quite well, but it was not really doing it for me on the performance side of things, although it can be very fast at times.

I bought my new SR up in Newcastle and drove it back to my home in London. All I can say is what a test drive back home, tearing up all the other motors on the motorway.

Super power and overtaking (come and get me).

I'm just glad I didn't see my big brother the GTi-R, otherwise it would have left me for dead.

Tomorrow I plan to fit on my GTi-R bonnet and spoiler to transform my car into a GTi-R replica, but it would look even better as my SR has front fog lights and rear head rests which the GTi-R hasn't (ha, ha).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

13th Sep 2001, 01:40

Do me a favour!..Faster than a 4x4 ford turbo!..Yeah right/whatever you say matey!..You must be on "the good stuff!"

21st Sep 2001, 16:09

Er, I meant a Ford XR4i 4x4 turbo Sierra, the old 5 door model shape. Why, who are you, are you up for a challenge?

Anyway, to all Nissan Sunny 1.6 SR/2.0 GTi owners, I am looking to start a web site for us as we are overshadowed by the GTi-R. Any one is interested let me know. I would like to start this as I think I have the best model to represent.

Reply with pictures if possible to ekechi@btopenworld.com

28th Apr 2003, 05:40

Owner of a SR myself would would very much love to get the real thing, the GTIR!!

Who wouldn't that pocket rocket is the beast of all time!

Still love my car though! more power than any of its 1.6 rivals!

Will only ever buy jap cars in the future nothing can touch them with their price range, look at the new 350Z!

1994 Nissan Sunny GTI-R 2.0 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf 16v

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Buy one, if you think you drive a fast car you havn't driven one of these. Any other GTI model of car is slow compared to this Cosworth eating flying machine that keeps up with cars five times the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

28th Dec 2000, 01:40

I agree... great car, but maybe you should drive the car for more than 9000 miles before saying how good it is?

14th Feb 2001, 11:49

9,000 miles is plenty. Sort of miles Schumacher and McRae clock up in a year!

24th Aug 2002, 05:49

Just wanted to know what insurance company you are with, I'm 19 and the best quote is around 3k mark. e-mail me simonhook4@hotmail.com.

1994 Nissan Sunny SR 1.6 twin cam 16v from Iceland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 twin cam 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres

Summary:

One of the best!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong except I had to change the clutch which is normal for a car driven approximately 96,000.

General Comments:

I love my Sunny SR, it's one of the best cars that I've driven.

My car is red with dark rear windows and a red sunstrip on the front. My rear lights are black, and even though it's illegal, my front lights are red, which I think is very cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2000

1994 Nissan Sunny GTiE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco Storm

Summary:

A (were)wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Nothing, although I've only had the car for 2 weeks. It is my 2nd Sunny, the first one I had for 2 years and it was also trouble free!

General Comments:

This is my second Sunny GTiE, I absolutely adore this car! I would really recommend it to anyone. Don't be put off by the name, you really cannot buy a car as quick, reliable and stylish for the money. Mine's as quick as a VR6 Golf and cost less than half the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

1994 Nissan Sunny LX 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Relatively quick car for its class (89 bhp) and very reliable. Only minus point is its boring looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 1999

1994 Nissan Sunny LX 1.4 from Norway

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong in 5 years but the car has only clocked 65000km.

General Comments:

I have put 15" alloy wheels with 195/50-15 tyres on it so the ride is a bit stiff but handling is much better.

The most reliable car I have had in the last 20 years!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 1999

1994 Nissan Sunny SLX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing except from the silencer which is normal.

General Comments:

I like the engine. The car handles curves well, but the ride can be a bit hard sometimes. I am very satisfied with my Sunny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 1998

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 18 reviews