27th Aug 2004, 09:48

C'mon now, you're not really that much of a numbnutz, are you?

Did you really think you could buy a car with almost 300K miles for $400 and not have to make any repairs?

Go buy a Honda or Toyota with that much mileage and see whether you have problems or not.

27th Aug 2004, 13:50

OK, let me get this straight. You're blaming a car company (General Motors in this case), and swearing off of their products, because of a worn out used car that you purchased for 400, was built a decade and a half ago, and has well over a quarter of a million miles on it, that's required basic maintenance and repairs? You expected this car to be reliable? And now you think the ultimate solution to this perceived problem is buying a Honda or a Toyota? Well, wait till you need parts for a Honda or Toyota (Which you will, judging from what your price range is). Than you'll really be crying the blues about how much more expensive they are than parts for your Olds, or even worse, the timing belt will go, and destroy the engine. Your expectations far outweigh reality.

28th Aug 2004, 12:31

I agree that you will have a lot more luck with an Accord or a Camry. You can't go wrong with either one.

6th Sep 2004, 16:51

If the comment above this one isn't a deliberate flame, I don't know what is! As for the original review, if you're going to be stupid, and buy a car with almost 300,000 miles on it, that's on you. You're complaining about reliability, but with almost 300,000 miles on it, and still going, I would say that would make the car pretty reliable, even though you don't think so. If I were you, instead of going with the old "I'll buy a Toyota or Honda, and it'll solve all of my problems" standby, I'd look for another one of these with significantly lower miles on it. Even if it has 150000 miles on it, you know you'll get that much out of it, especially if it's been well maintained.

5th Oct 2004, 10:40

If you think that the problems with your car are the fault of the company that sold it 300,000 miles ago, you really have issues and should not be driving any vehicle at any time because you live in a fantasy world. You got off easy for a 300,000 mile, $400 POS.

1st Nov 2004, 16:49

OK, so this is not original... but GET REAL!!! The fact that the car made 295,000 miles speaks wonders for it. That is almost 20 per year for 15 years. That car served countless owners well and you just happened to be the sap that bought it at the end of it's life.

6th Dec 2004, 22:00

"Oh woe is me! I bought an older beat to death car with incredibly high mileage, and now it is giving me problems!" Whoever sold you this vehicle must've seen you coming a mile away.

23rd Dec 2004, 11:06

Is this review a joke or something? yes, you should go get a accord or camry, because consumer reports said so... really, who even buys a car with 300k on it... and especially then comes back and COMPLAINS because it has problems... its not a semi tractor you know.. but yes, I know I know, those imports are just AMAZING and can't be beat, thank you automotive journalism...

21st Oct 2005, 17:51

You probably don't think any car is reliable. What did you expect out of this car? 1 million miles?

4th Oct 2007, 19:18

Oh wow, your 98 had 300k on it, and is still going? That's great to know, because I just inherited one of these with 85k on it.

24th Sep 2008, 14:47

Yeah, okay - you are complaining about an 89 '98 with over 300K on the clock. Did you expect this thing to run as if it came out of the showroom yesterday after 15 years and 300,000 miles?

19th Nov 2009, 23:41

I drive one and it's got like 125k miles. And sounds like a kitten, and it rides like a Cadillac. I've had it for 4 years and been in two fender benders, no body damage, just a bumper and a paint job, good as new. Great on gas, parts are cheap and start right up every time as long as I MAINTAIN IT. HECK I'D BUY ANOTHER ONE before anything new.

17th May 2012, 12:49

I have a car just like this with 230000 on it. It runs just like new, but yes, it does need routine maintenance. You just can't go out and buy a car (any of that sort) for 400 or 500 and expect nothing to be wrong with it. If it had 300k on it, that's good to show reliability. These types of cars will run a long time as long as you MAINTAIN them!

4th Dec 2012, 15:47

First off, I bought one this year for $900 and it had 145,000 miles. Yeah, sure the windows are slow. Try some WD40. Mine are too. It helped mine though.

The creaking is supposed to happen. It does that in mine too. Keep in mind it is an older car and there will be a few problems though. NEVER blame the car because you never know what it went through. General maintenance has to happen. I have seen new cars with problems.

17th Apr 2013, 00:36

I've owned my '89 Olds 98 for over a year and a half now, and it's been great for me. I bought it with 89,000 on it, so I haven't encountered as many problems as a car with 300K miles would have, but I've had to switch things like the spark plugs and other maintenance things, just to keep the car working efficiently.

Other than that though, the car runs smooth, is a gangsta ride, and it has never left me stranded. So, so far so good, this is my first car too BTW. I think it's one of the better choices you'll get out there for the price, as it does seem to show resilience and reliability when it comes to performing the essentials.

4/5 rating, only because I wanted an Eclipse and got this instead, but I'm actually liking this decision!

23rd Apr 2013, 08:13

I just bought an '88 98 with 135k for $1400. It has a rebuilt engine and trans - done by a mechanic friend I've known for many years - no rust to speak of.

Friends are already making cracks about my pimp-mobile, and my roommate suggested a picture of Donna Summer for the dashboard, but so far I love the car. First car I've had in a while that really has some punch, and it's a nice smooth ride as well.

It kills me when I open the door at night and it lights up like a friggin' pinball machine - the car has a zillion interior lights and they all work.

I'll be happy to get 2 years out of it with reasonable maintenance costs. Fun car...

23rd Apr 2013, 19:37

Instead of Donna Summer, I was thinking Madonna or Paula Abdul for 88.

24th Apr 2013, 09:46

The real Delta 88/98s (pre 1985) would have fit Donna Summer, but not the tiny, unibody, front wheel drive ones.