1992 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America


If you want to waste money go out and buy an Achieva


Seats have started to wear badly.

Starter busted when I first got it.

My odometer won't work anymore.

Poor defrosters.

General Comments:

Very poor construction.

Maroon on maroon isn't that inviting.

All the interior is breaking apart.

Not a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S Quad4 SOH from North America


Good car


Head Gasket Blew Out at 175,000 miles.

Ignition Coil at 90,000.

Starter 130,000.

Alternator 145,000.

Driver Seat Broke a year ago.

Dash warning lights come on when driving.

Oil gauge floats around.

Broken control arms.

Paint is falling off.

Windows fall of track.

General Comments:

It's been a good car that is on it's way to the junkyard. Once it hits 200,000 miles it is gone. I was hit from behind last year in it, so it has a huge dent in the trunk. I'd buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

4th Jan 2006, 21:42

I've had the exact same problems, but at lower miles. I bought the car when it had around 70,000 miles and now it has over 120,000. Head gasket is still good, but I contribute this to having the coolant flushed and changed on a regular basis. Still I imagine it is only a matter of time before that goes too.

This past summer this car would randomly start and then not start. I had the starter replaced and changed the ignition switch before a mechanic found out it was a transfer fuse.

Some problems I still have not corrected include failing power locks on the passenger side, high beams won't go on until the car is warmed up, drivers side window will not roll up unless pulled up by hand, check gauges and check oil light comes on, oil pressure gauge jumps around, gas gauge jumps around, cheap interior parts keep breaking off, and now when I put the car into gear the interior light comes on briefly.

On the plus side the car gets over 30mpg and the air conditioning still works like brand new. I will probably get rid of this vehicle soon for a newer more reliable one. I'm still overall happy with this 14 year old vehicle and if I could go back in time 6 years ago I'd buy it again.

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3L Quad four from North America


High cost waste of money


At 30000 miles oil tensioner broke and cause the timeing chain to jump allowing the valves to hit the pistons and break (valve). The replacement of pistons, valves, timing chain, timing gears, tensioner, and bearings. at 42000 miles to 45000 the starter, alternator, and ignition coil went out and needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

Nice looking, but not very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2003

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva LS Quad 4 from North America


High Maintenance


One week after purchasing the car during January 2001 (at 175,000 miles), the car wouldn't start. The mechanic diagnosed a blown head gasket, and instead of replacing the gasket, replaced the entire engine with a 1995 engine. The '95 engine has a slight oil leak which the mechanics could not locate.

Since that time, the mechanics also replaced the a front ball joint, starter assembly, the tail light switch, the alternator, and the alternator belt. The exhaust system, the heater core and the thermostat were also replaced. The rear right brake drum has been replaced.

The mechanics who performed the prior work (and replaced the engine) also stripped two of the spark plug holes. The new mechanics have replaced the coil pack, the timing cover gasket, the fuel filter, the ECM computer, the air filter and cleaned the fuel injectors. They also replaced the alternator belt (again) and the muffler (again).

The power locks do not work (in fact, the power locks and the trunk lock often spontaneously click open and closed), the driver's side power window does not work (probably the motor), and the heater fan works sporadically. The right CV boot and a hub bearing needs replaced. The windshield wipers and passenger window work most of the time.

Since January, 2001 until October, 2003, the cost of repairs (using several less expensive, used and rebuilt parts, and labor discounts) is now at approximately $3,600.

General Comments:

Oldsmobile should have recalled the Achieva Quad 4 during 1992.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

30th Mar 2004, 16:21

It sounds like you are blaming the car in the first and second paragraph for things your mechanic did.