1992 Oldsmobile Achieva SC 3.3L from North America


For what I paid I expected just a little more


The day I was test driving the car I was on my way home to get paper work when it over heated to like 280 plus. So I called the dealership and they came and towed it and supposedly fixed it. When I got it back the engine temp. bounced from like 160-220 all the time until one night I was on my way home when it started getting way up past 260 heading to 280. The following Monday I was on the phone with the dealership and they came and got it and replaced the radiator and haven't had a problem with it since. That all happened within 111,000. Now the front struts are bad and my warranty is gone so I'm on my own to get that fixed.

General Comments:

I love the car. It runs great handles like a sports car. But it doesn't accelerate all that great. I believe it to be caused by a semi-tired motor that needs to be replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva SL 3.3 V6 from North America


Slick and powerful bargain.


All of the interior lights burnt out 2 months after I got the car.

The fuel injectors needed to have some work done to them at 148,000 km.

The ABS light, and the park break light go on in the summer.

General Comments:

This car is really fast, with lots of power, and great pickup.

It handles great in the city, and is a good highway car.

The power seats are a big bonus.

There is lots of vision all around and is to easy to parallel park.

There is also very good factory speakers, but it never hurts to put subs in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2002

14th Jun 2004, 20:56

I have the same exact Achieva, year and engine, have you ever had any trouble with the car stalling, or dying? Right now that is my problem and we can't quite put our finger on it. I love my car, but have to get it fixed.

5th Feb 2005, 16:51

If it starts OK and stalls when you put it in gear or stalls when coming off the highway, it's probably the TCC (torque converter) solenoid on the transmission. It can be unplugged without affecting the performance at all.

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3L FI Quad 4 from North America


I would definitely recommend this car to first buyers as a used car only


Dash board lights always come on (eg., Check engine soon, check gauges, etc.)

Considering I only paid $500 for this car, I've spent almost $3,000 on it not counting the $575 I/m spending this weekend getting a power steering pump replaced, which caused a fire under the hood.

General Comments:

The car handles magnificent once it gets going.

But as soon as you hit the brakes, it takes time to pick up speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3 from North America


One of the better used cars I've purchased


Check gauges light comes on when the oil pressure goes down. This ensues after letting off the gas when you stop or slow down.

Tires need to be aligned.

Bugs that stick to front hood peel paint off when you wash it.

Accessories in the back are breaking easily. You know, plastic.

General Comments:

It looks good both inside and out and runs good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2002

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S Quad SOHC 2.3L (16v) from North America


Anything else would be uncivilized


Replaced a cracked cylinder at first.

Recently replaced the fan motor.$21.

Recently replaced IAC motor.$105.

About to replace the ECM.$213.

About to replace vacuum hose.$13.

First paint Job coming up.

General Comments:

This car is ruthless when it comes to performance, it has a good acceleration, great mpg, handles like a dream (at high speeds even better), roomy and comfortable, attractive and you can just keep on improving it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2002

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva SC W 41 2.3 Quad Four from North America


A not well known performance car


My turn signal switch gave up. Swapped it for another from my old 3.3 V6.

Brake pads, rotors, and calipers needed to be replaced. Makes sense, since it has 157849 miles on it.

Tail light bulbs burnt out. Normal.

General Comments:

This car is great!

I've enjoyed every mile with it.

It's got the sport coupe look with an excellent interior design, the gauges are the coolest looking part, and it has a great ride for a 5 speed manual.

And it definitely has a great sound to it that grabs everyone's attention.

With this W41 motor, you can smack down Mustangs!

Buy an Achieva, and you'll be glad you did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2002

10th Jan 2005, 03:21

Hate to tell you... SC's don't have the w41, that's the scx, in 92 I believe there were around 1200 made, in 93 only 500 (I have a 93 :) Sorry though... still.. the dohc non w41 is plenty powerful! :)