1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S 1.3 from North America


Not a bad buy, reliable


The Acheiva has electrical problems. The dash always flashes "check gages" and "check gas".

The bumpers peel constantly, even after painting. Makes it look unkept.

Inside parts fall off easily. Cup holder broke and arm rest in the back, both door speakers coverings came off.

General Comments:

Very easy to drive.

This car is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2002

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva SL 2.3L Quad 4 DOHC from North America


Good car on gas


Muffler needed to be replaced at 54,000 miles.

Clamp on radiator hose broke causing it to leak coolant when the engine heated up.

Radiator cap needed to be replaced because it didn't hold the proper pressure.

General Comments:

I like this car a lot. It is very comfortable and it's one of the faster 4 cylinder car that has good gas mileage. A great first car so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3 quad four from North America


A financial crisis waiting to happen


The head gasket blew shortly after I got the car at 74,000 miles. Along with the head gasket a cylinder head was cracked. The rear main seal was replaced a week after I got the car. The struts just went out last week. Dash lights are constantly coming on for no reason. Anti-freeze mysteriously evaporates. The steering wheel vibrates, especially when turning corners. The bumper cannot hold any paint, its constantly peeling.

General Comments:

I've put $8000 into a car that is only worth $1600 now! I've had the car less than a year!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

5th Feb 2002, 22:07

Why the devil would you keep a car that you're spending more to keep running than you paid for it???

11th Dec 2004, 20:13

What an Idiot, You should have junked the mother.. I had one and gladly sent it off to the crusher's...


31st Jan 2007, 15:10

I have a 92 Acheiva and it was given to me in May. I've had to have the following done. Brake line broke so I had to have that changed. Both Engine Mounts replaced. A tire replaced. Radiator replaced. Now it's smoking and I'm told that the Head is cracked and will cost me $2300 to replace that along with the Waterpump and the temperature as well. The car isn't worth that amount of money and I need to junk it. I'm just not ready for a car payment right now. Oh and yes the Dashboard Lights keep saying "Brakes" and "Check Gages" and "Check Oil" they say it's a sensor. Oh and the Windows don't go up and down great, it's sluggish.

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva S V-6 gasoline from North America


Overall it's a great car with great comfort


Windows of my car suck... The windows don't go up and if you take em down, they always miss their lines...

The car needs lot of maintenance and it also needs a tune up every 300 miles.

General Comments:

This car is real easy to control, cruise control is better than other cars, but the doors in this cars really are stupid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

1992 Oldsmobile Achieva SC 2.0 from North America


This car sucks terribly!


The damn lights always turn on and off for no good damn reason.

The doors always lock by themselves.

Seats are all cheap and stuff. You sit on them and they rip. It's like sitting on wet toilet paper.

The fake ass windows always jamming and getting stuck.

The car is ALWAYS making noise like a freakin train wreck. The damn thing sounds like I'm driving a retarded camel with one leg.

General Comments:

This car I try to give away for FREE, and people still won't take it.

I tried to trade my nephew for his bike and he refused.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2001

16th Jun 2001, 20:05

I agree. I've had the same vehicle (year, etc), and it sucks. I've replaced all 13 sensors, the engine block, starter, alternator, a/c, all hoses and lines, etc, and the thing still runs like crap.

6th Aug 2001, 14:13

I bought my 1992 Oldsmobile Achieva 3.3 new from the dealer. I experienced major problems with the brakes at first, but GM ended up replacing all rotors and calipers at 62,000 miles.

I have had a problem keeping water pumps on the car for more than 60,000 miles. It costs an average of 400.00 to replace this item. I've done it 3 times.

The engine has been practically maintenance free until this week and I needed a thermostat.

The interior has been falling apart since day one, speaker covers falling off, electronic door locks not working, windows jumping track.

The car has been paid for a total of six years and I now have 218,000 miles on it. I figure the only way to break even is to drive the wheels off of it. I commute 1,000 miles weekly from S.C. to Alabama. I am averaging 27 miles per gallon and it uses no oil. Good engine, crappy car.

1st Dec 2001, 23:06

How could you complain about a car that has lasted you 218 thousand miles. It is just mileage defaults. I have a Sport Coupe and it kicks ass.

19th Jan 2002, 16:34

Yeah, 218,000 miles on the speedo and your complaining? I wouldn't be, I hope mine lasts that long. I have a 92 SL with 55,000 miles and it runs great.

24th Aug 2005, 21:42

Reading your review was hilarious. Seriously, I was crying from laughter after reading it. Well put.

However, my '92 Achieva SC just bit the bullet last weekend after 13 years of faithful service. I got 192k miles out of it, which is better than can be said for most GM products. Keep that in mind, considering you're bumping elbows with 220k.

26th Apr 2008, 20:50

I may be getting a 1992 or '93 Oldsmobile Achieva at the end of the summer. It was driven by an elderly woman who lives in my neighborhood. Due to health reasons, she cannot drive it anymore. She's owned the car since day one and it's basically a cream puff with low, low mileage. Currently, the Achieva is sitting in her garage unplated, unregistered, and uninsured. Don't know how long it's been sitting, but would this be worth getting if I were to get it for just doing yard work? Are Oldsmobile parts getting expensive or scarce? Someone please let me know.