1994 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva ACS Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

Steer clear of these pieces of junk

Faults:

Cracked head at 90,000 miles.

Door locks have fallen into doors.

Windows do not work.

Door panels are falling.

Already needing second brake job in sixteen thousand miles.

General Comments:

Cracked head was a result of a blown head gasket. Obviously from what I have read Oldsmobile is content with not acknowledging there was a problem with this model as well as the 92 and 93 model which they replace. Anyone interested in filing a class action lawsuit please contact me at krw@xtn.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2003

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S QUAD 4 SOHC 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission QUAD 4 SOHC 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

A wallet drainer

Faults:

Cracked cylinder head at 50,000 miles.

Door locks have fallen into panel.

Steering column repeatedly breaks loose.

Loose door panels.

Replaced window regulators 3 times.

Premature replacement of many parts.

General Comments:

A poorly built car with more bugs in it than an anthill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

17th Jun 2004, 21:19

I also have the same type of engine in my car. A mechanic who recently did about $1000 worth of work on the car told me that the quad 4 is a very specialized engine that is very difficult to work on. I put about $1600 into it to find out it needs another $1750 - 2350 plus tax. The car is definitely not worth the repairs.

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva SE 4 cylinder. OHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. OHC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

A big piece of crap!

Faults:

We have replaced the three coil packs twice. The door control panels have fallen out, this car has no power what so ever. We have replaced more sensors than should be allowed on an automobile, I bet the space shuttle doesn't have this many sensors. The steering column has shorts in it, for example, the dash lights flicker, sometimes the blinkers quit working. This being the second steering column. Overall this is a lemon if ever I seen one. You talk about make your lips pucker, ha ha.

General Comments:

The car actually rides pretty good. If only I wasn't scared to pull out into traffic. Lets see, the stereo sounds pretty good, for factory. I wish I could say some better things about my oldsmobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2002

22nd Mar 2005, 17:05

I hate mine too.. same problem with me with the lights, you were scared to drive anywhere bc ur lights might go... its horrible..

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva SL 2.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

A good bargain for a nicely optioned car

Faults:

Crank trigger failed at 185,000 miles.

Side panels are showing wear.

Some heat warp is starting to show on door panels.

General Comments:

250,000 and still on the original engine and auto trans. Talk about a car that was worth the money.

Seating position is rather low.

All power equipment is working well.

You can really wrap the little four cylinder to red-line if you put your foot into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2002

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired244000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

250,000 miles and still running strong

Faults:

Windshield wiper hose had a hole in it.

Trunk and plate lights were out.

Turn signals suddenly began to stop functioning and then began to operate normally again.

The gas door latch doesn't work.

General Comments:

The comfort is unsurpassed, I enjoy the smooth ride and comfort of the air conditioning. This car had close to 250,000 miles on it when I bought it, and we have had no major problems with it to date. The Achieva handles like a dream and acts like it is still brand new. I love the sleek body style and the modern feel to it. I couldn't be happier with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3 Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles

Summary:

Nice affordable first car, not for the speedy type!

Faults:

2 weeks after I bought the car the head gaskets blew between every cylinder. I have replaced the alternator, starter battery, water pump, 2 out of 3 motor mounts.

General Comments:

I actually like this car very well. It has pretty good pickup for a 4 banger. I wish I had power windows. I learned on lesson while having this car, don't put the midas brakes on it, they are terrible and don't last long. I do not like the body roll it has. It also sits very high for a car. Almost as high as my mom's van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews