1994 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73150 miles
Most recent distance74274 miles

Summary:

Not a car for people with high expectations

Faults:

The coolant level light came on after 500 miles were put on the car. I bought the car used. We filled the coolant and after another 500 miles the light came on. Again, filled up the coolant tank and light wouldn't go off. The dealership accused me of tampering with a thermostat. Which caused a leak in the coolant. The dealership then learned it had to do with the previous owner. Everything was fixed and I was on my way.

General Comments:

For my first car, it's stylish and just right for me.

Has pretty good pick up, but works a little harder when the air conditioning is on.

Very comfortable.

I'm very lucky this car was in good shape before I owned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

No wonder Oldsmobile is going out of business!

Faults:

I got this car as a gift, this is by far the worst gift I have ever had. This car has caused nothing but problems, whenever I get into the car and drive it, it stalls. Granted 120,000 is a lot of miles, but I should not be having all of the problems that have been going on with this vehicle.

General Comments:

Overall the car is very comfortable, it has a decent amount of power, and mine has a good amount of options.

The downside of this car is the cheapness of the materials, the air conditioning does not work, and the cable suddenly snapped off when I tried to open the hood. If anyone is thinking of buying this car, don't do it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

25th Mar 2007, 02:36

Yeah, don't buy a car that's been abused for 120,000 miles. it's the car's fault.

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3 Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Junk on wheels

Faults:

I had to replace the transmission.

The door panels were really loose.

The fan blade on the alternator hits the motor mount when in first gear.

The lights dim when braking.

The electronics in the motor went bad.

The power windows went up and down really slow.

The car leaked window washer fluid.

When I used the window washer it just dumped a lot of it on the bottom of the windshield, and did no good unless I was going 80mph.

The bumper paint peeled horribly.

The trim fell off.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I've ever seen.

It doesn't only look like an old ladies car, but I've seen Tonka trucks that have been built better. In the 9 months that I owned it, I put as much money into the car as I paid for it.

If you are looking to buy one, don't. You will lose so much money.

Trade in on these cars is now only $1600, and no dealer wants them anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Draining our pockets!

Faults:

Cracked head gasket. If you own a 1994 Achieva and have had to replace a head gasket please call Oldsmobile. They had faulty head gaskets in 1992 and 1993 and are covering the costs to repair those years. Oviously didn't fix the problem in 1994, but they will not stand behind the 1994 gasket unless they get more complaints!!!

Replaced struts, alternator, brakes and door locks.

General Comments:

A lot of money in repairs, more than the car is worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25230 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

Drives pretty good

Faults:

Door panels are warped and are loose from the door. Vents are falling out. Speaker cover on the door fell off.

Had to get the turn switch replaced.

The emission system went out had to get it fixed.

Small reflectors on the inside door panel fell out. The button to unlock the door came out.

General Comments:

As far as looks, it is a nice car. But as for the inside, it is the pits. I don't think I would ever want another Oldsmobile of any kind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

28th Jul 2003, 16:57

I have had a similar experience with my 94 Achieva S. Many small problems with interior accessories that fall out easily with normal wear and tear (even my shifter knob seized up and needed to be replaced). Cheap plastic components, particularly tabs that break off.

A solid car mechanically though. Still lots of pep to my 3.1L after 145 km (about 90k miles).

8th Dec 2004, 21:29

I agree completely with the previous comments. The interior is deteriorating while the mechanics of the car are great.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews