1994 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 3 of 8

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Worth the $400.00 I paid for it!

Faults:

I just recently purchased this vehicle and something is wrong with the turn-signal/high beams switch. When I switch the high beams on sometimes the headlights turn off completely.

The check gauges' light always comes on, was well as the check oil light.

The low coolant level light went on and I filled up the coolant, and it will not turn off.

General Comments:

It is so far a pretty nice car and handles well.

I was actually wondering if anyone could help me out with the low coolant level light problem. I bought the car used from an acquaintance of the family's and did not get an owners manual with the vehicle. If anyone has any suggestions or answers to what the problem might be, email me at Lyddie21@hotmail.com. Thanks a lot!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2003

28th Sep 2003, 19:21

The "Low Coolant" light problem is pretty common on GM sedans.. I had the same problem on my '89 Celebrity. It's annoying, but will not affect how the car runs.

6th May 2004, 19:40

The check gages light on my 92 has been coming on since I bought the car. Common problem on these cars. Low coolant light came on for me because of a leak in the heater core. After filling the coolant, light stayed on for a few days. Suspect air bubble around sensor.

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S V6 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

I love this car!

Faults:

My Mom had the car before me, and the only problem was the starter wouldn't start in a parking lot at 8pm in 1998.

The car has always seamed to have a mined of its own, the power locks would lock and unlock themselves while the car was driving. It will roll while in park too.

At 74,000 miles the Starter fuse blew.

At 74,200 miles I rear ended a Volts Wagon at 2 miles per hour, but that was my fault.

At 74,600 the horn wouldn't work then it would again with out being touched.

General Comments:

This car handles very well.

The interior is still like new.

The body is still like new, except were I had that little run in, but you can't really tell.

I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

21st Sep 2003, 12:37

The oldsmobile achieva is a piece of junk, the interior is plastic on plastic, and breaks easily. The steering column isn't stable.

I know this, because I have one. And this is everything that's wrong with mine.

16th Oct 2004, 11:38

Your Achieva is probably junk, but not all of them are. I have a 1994 oldsmobile Achieva s and have had it trouble free since september 2002. very reliable car I have beat a lot of cars on the road with it my 3.1 v6 is a force to reckon with.AACHIEVA.

1994 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance204000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Tempest

Summary:

Has been a good reliable car.

Faults:

Have replaced the original Battery 2 years ago. Considering I live in Canada and do not have a block heater on this car and never had it indoors...that's pretty impressive.

At 115,000KM's the driver controller arm went, but it was covered under manufacturers warranty (just in time too :-) )

I had a warped header around 160,000 KM's which was causing some oil to leak out. I had it machined down and the mechanic relaced all my seals and gaskets while the header was off. No issues since. Engines still runs great.

Replaced alternator at ~170,000KM's.

Replaced driver power windows motor ~180,000 KM's.

Just replaced passenger front wheel bearing ($350 CDN) at 203,000 KM's.

General Comments:

Really can't complain about this car. It has NEVER broken down on me or left me stranded in the 9 years I have owned it.

The V6 still has good power and is going strong.

Suspension is starting to get weak (but there are 204,000KM's) and will cost ~$900 CDN to replace. I am at a a crossroads now as to whether to replace the suspension or just trade the car in.

Ride comfort is good. I have a few creaks from the suspension and the drivers seat now when cornering.. showing signs of age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews