1997 Oldsmobile Achieva LS 2.4 from North America


Hey, it gets me places..


Only a 4 banger.

General Comments:

The car is not that sporty or flashy, but it gets me places. I got it at an auction for $2000. I have driven it from Ohio to Florida with no problem. I have only had to do minor repairs; tires, oil changes, fuel filter...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

30th Sep 2004, 10:56

My 97 Achieva SL was likewise purchased at on auction 0n 9-25-4. The car was a fleet car for a local power company. It has 108,900 miles logged and is in excellent condition both interior and exterior. I am curious to see how mine holds up. I will be undercoating the car and keeping it in the garage. I am glad to hear your car is doing well and hope mine does the same.

1997 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America


Not worth the maintenance.


The biggest problem is the maintenance.

The water pump has broken down 3 times and is was very expensive, about $500 each time.

Electric locks no longer work.

The car runs hot, often coming close to overheating.

Eventhough I have on time maintanence, car just started leaking coolant and transmission fluid.

General Comments:

Love the way the car runs.

Was surprised by how powerful it was.

Very comfortable to ride in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th May, 2004

1997 Oldsmobile Achieva SC 3.1 V6 from North America


This car is wonderful for whoever owns one


I had to put a radiator on the car when it reached 96,000 miles.

Power window in passenger seat has been replaced twice.

General Comments:

I love this car.

The car handles like a dream in any weather.

It is funny flying by people while they look stunned.

The car looks innocent for having a V6.

I plan on having this car a long time, but I think my next car will also be an Oldsmobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

1997 Oldsmobile Achieva 2.4 from North America


Was worth what I paid for


I had the car one week and the altanator went out in it.

The check coolant light came on and wouldn't go off, was told it was a bad sensor.

Had to have new rotors after about a year and new brakes too.

I have had 3 sets of brakes on it and am about to replace them again.

Also have had to replace shocks and struts.

The water pump went out in it and that cost $800.

The timing gasket cover seal now leaks oil and that will cost another $300.

The ignition switch sticks.

General Comments:

Has never left me stranded on the side of the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2004

6th Jun 2005, 06:56

You can buy a water pump at autozone for 55$

1997 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America


Don't buy unless you have your Batman money belt


Alternator replaced 47000

Replacement alternator replaced 48000

Front struts and suspension replaced 70000

Brakes rebuilt 70000

3rd alternator replacement 90000

Left window motor replaced 90000

Front rotors replaced 90000.

General Comments:

Oh my god.

This was the first 'newer' type car I ever purchased. For a few thousand at the time I could have gotten a new car and I will never make that mistake again. Didn't get the used dealers extended warranty for a grand. Big mistake on my part.

Right out of the gate the alternator went bad. A grand to replace and a lot of time as the first one installed burned out a few weeks later. Then there were issues with the suspension, then the brakes, the the alternator again, then the window stopped working, then the brakes again.

Had I found this site before my purchase I never would have gotten this car. It is fairly comfortable on the inside and has a sporty zip to it, but the electrical system is seriously under engineered. They should have recalled the whole line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

17th Apr 2004, 23:57

A grand for an Alternator? Surely could have got by cheaper than that. The replacement then burned up, but that's not the car's fault. Not unusual to replace rotors at 90000 miles. Real issue here may be that buyer paid too much for a used car in the first place.

5th Feb 2005, 11:14

I have to agree with the original Author. The Alternators go out way too often. Just replaced one about a year ago and it's on the way out again. The car is extremely buggy. The lower intake manifold started leaking at 100,000 miles. $900.00 bucks to replace. The water pump went out at 115,000 miles another $500 bucks. etc etc.

20th Oct 2005, 07:07

It's more expensive to make an older car new than to build a new car!

I have two 96-97 cars, Both auction cars and both have cost more to make right than the purchase prices. one is a 97 achieva quad-4.

I've had most of the complaints mentioned. 3 window motors out, motor mounts, axle shafts, brakes. But I bought it at 98000 miles and expected some problems.

I have no car payments, but I'm way over blue book and still have an old car I'd rather not own.