2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL V6 from North America


In my opinion there are major computer wiring problems in Aleros


I replaced the rotors at 28,000 miles.

My rear defrost went out at 15,000 and they had to replace a module for it.

My radio antenna is in the rear window, and I had to replace the rear window due to static in the radio at just over 20,000.

My tire pressure light will come on for no reason. I will pull over and check my tire pressures and they are all in specs.

My low oil light has come on, and I have pulled over and had plenty of oil.

My service engine soon, ABS, and no traction light have been on for six months. I can't afford to go and have it fixed at this time though. I was told it would be costly because it was in the computer.

General Comments:

I know of 5 other people who own an Alero, 99 or newer, and have identical problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

1st Oct 2004, 16:45

I had the problem with the ABS and traction off and service engine soon and it was only the fuse.

18th Jan 2005, 21:33

I have had many similar problems.

I replaced the hazard switch.

I currently have no horn,no rear defog, and my ABS is not working.

I have very little faith in my suspension.

All of my dashboard lights come on and stay on, even if there is no problem.

And yes I checked the fuses, they are fine.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero LX 2.4 from North America


A headache and getting worst

General Comments:

When I first purchased the car I had to take the car in to get the rotors/brakes replaced at only a couple of thousand miles used... The brakes are still grinding, however the brake pads are not worn down...

Gas mileage is horrible - had to fill up too much, not good at highway or city driving...

Two recalls already... but were repaired in one day... Good comfort, horrible car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 from North America


Too expensive, both to purchase and run


After reading the many reviews on this site it seems I have been lucky. So far I have only had to replace the intake valve. However, after reading this site and others I was able to conclude that this happens a lot and borders a recall. I was also able to convince the dealer of this and they fixed it after warranty, mind you I was only a few hundred km over warranty, but it was over warranty.

The problem I have now is front end noise and from reading this site it sounds like it may be the wheel bearings.. thanks for the info..

General Comments:

Over all I am pleased with the car however there is no resale value for it and I don't think I will buy another GM vehicle for that reason..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 6 cylinder from North America


Good car, few issues


Replaced front Brakes at 40,000

Replaced blower resistor at 50,000

General Comments:

Other than the 2 issues, the car is reliable and a pleasure to drive. Good pick up and handling for most conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 from North America


The price looks good used, but look again


The window regulator had to be replaced.

The power steering pump had to be replaced b/c of a faulty hose clamp (ran dry)

The intake manifold gasket had to be replaced.

The back rotors and brakes had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I have bought cars for $150 that were more reliable than this one. I will never buy another domestic car again. It looks good, but that is about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL V6 from North America


It's a good buy if you don't plan on keeping it for more than 3 years


The first thing to go out on my car at 40000 miles were the front driver and passenger side windows. One day they would not work and the next they would. Thank goodness they always stopped working while up.

I started having problems with the adjuster for the passenger seat around the same time. It would get stuck in one spot and I wouldn't be able to move it without almost breaking the lever. It still does this.

The next thing that went was the driver side tie rod. That cost me over $200 to get fixed. While getting that replaced, I found out the brakes were in need of replacement. That was at 54000 miles.

Ever since the tie rod needed replacement, the car doesn't run as smoothly as when I first purchased it.

I also had to have a gasket replaced because I was leaking coolant everywhere at 80,000.

The fog and head lamps go out every 6 months like clockwork. I just had both replaced in March, and the entire driverside is out again.

The paint on the hood in one spot and on the back fender in one spot is almost gone and there is a distinct difference in the color.

The next thing to go was the signal/hazard lights. I just recently started having problems with them intermittently. Which is very dangerous since I work in the city have must negotiate traffic twice a day.

Now, the fuel pump is gone. I sat on the side of the interstate this morning at 6:30 as I tried to get to work. That's going to cost me $600 to get everything replaced.

General Comments:

I loved my car when I first bought it.

It handled very nicely and the ride was so smooth.

I got it at a very good price still with the manufacturer's warranty and extended warranty, even with the mileage.

The car is very very stylish and fast.

A V6: I couldn't ask for anything more.

I felt comfortable getting on the road to take long trips because I knew it was reliable.

Now, I think twice before taking long trips because I feel something is going to go wrong with it and I'll be left stranded.

Recently here in New Orleans, a man's Alero stalled as he was crossing the high rise bridge.

Apparently, the driver of an eighteen wheeler didn't realize he was stalled (maybe his hazard lights weren't working either).

The eighteen wheeler hit him and pushed his car over the bridge.

He plunged down 50 feet and died still in his seat belt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2004

14th Jul 2004, 19:14

Same thing with my tie rod on driver's side. Now at 50k miles I think the pass side is going too!?!

14th Jul 2004, 19:17

I have had the same problem with the shock. I had the driver side one fixed (Tie Rod)

Now the same noise is coming out of the passenger side. The blinkers quit working, I took it in and was told that there is a problem with the blinker and it was fixed for free. Also, the passenger rear speaker is blown.

Driver's side power thingamajig broke, the power thingamajig worked the bracket, however, was broken. I have haedr that this has happened in other Aleros.