2000 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 20 of 36

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Nice car, but only worthwhile if you are willing to learn to do repairs yourself

Faults:

Fuel pump went at 70,000 miles, but it was caused by bad gas.

Rotors need cut or replaced every 15K miles.

Material on driver side dashboard is separating from dashboard.

First 2 settings on heater/air conditioning don't work.

EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) Valve needed replaced at 65K miles.

Tie rod ends and struts replaced at 65K miles.

Glass on driver's side front window is scratched from the door.

Driver's side front power window needed replaced at 60K miles.

Recently started getting horrible gas mileage of 12-15mpg as opposed to 19-20 of before.

General Comments:

Rotor problem can be fixed or at least delayed by purchasing quality rotors and non-ceramic brakes such as Kevlar.

Blower settings can be fixed by installing new blower resistor costing about $15.

The car still looks sporty and handles well with proper tires.

Backseat legroom is very inadequate.

Car has good pickup for being so inexpensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2005

2nd Jun 2005, 07:43

RE: blower resistor.

Was replacement easy for this item?

21st Jun 2005, 06:56

Thank you for your input. I have had the same problem with the lowest two settings on my AC/heater fan.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 2.4 liter 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Faults:

Dash cover is peeling back again. The cover was professionally fixed and only last about one month before it started peeling again.

Car won't start. It will turn over, but not fire. I had been smelling gas before it quit so I assume it is a leak or other fuel problem. I have also read on GM's Techline that there have been problems with the fuel sending unit and although the gauge is reading 1/4 tank, it may be out of gas. A new fuel pump is nearly $350 from the dealer so I hope I don't have to go that route.

General Comments:

My wife and I both love the car.

It looks good, handles well, and is very comfortable.

Plus, we got it for $2000 under NADA book value.

After 4 months and 10,000 miles we are experiencing our first major problem. Maybe this is why we got it so cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL 2.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

The car is exceptionally adequate!

Faults:

After putting 18,000 kilometers on the vehicle, I have yet to experience any breakdowns or faults... knock on wood.

General Comments:

I find the car has very good acceleration, good stopping power, and very stable in the turns, not to mention, that I find the ride extremely comfortable, and quiet.

The stereo is very nice, as it features dual formats, meaning that it supports both cassette, as well as CD`s.

However, I can`t understand why Oldsmobile would incorporate a ton of electrical marvels into this car, (IE: ride control, traction lock, digital dash) yet, can`t provide power windows!

Also, when the car was brand new, Oldsmobile was stating that this vehicle would obtain fuel mileage in the neighborhood of 40 miles per gallon... I can surely atest that this number has been expressly exaggerated, as my vehicle will get approximately 25 miles per gallon, on a good day!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2005

2nd Jun 2005, 20:46

I get good fuel mileage on my Alero 2000 3.4 V6, I keep the vehicle well maintained and it seems to hold up for me.

27th Jan 2006, 23:53

I consistently get 27mpg on my 2000 GLS V6 3400 (120K miles) - I commute 60 per day... 20 of it is stop and go. I've gotten 30 on all hwy miles a couple times (I don't run the ac though)

I have a cold-air intake and aftermarket exhaust (flowmaster).

Myriad of other problems though... gonna try and make it to 200K before I get my Ford pick-up.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero 2.2 four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 four cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Why did I ever trade my Dakota in for the car?

Faults:

I've needed to replace upper and lower ball joints.

My power steering pump went.

My lights on my mirror have stopped working.

The rear cup holder constantly breaks.

The bearings in the front left tire needed to be replaced.

The clips that hold plastic trim on the inside of the trunk all snapped off and is now is totaly useless.

Most recently however the internal linkage in my transmission broke and is unfixable.

General Comments:

I was impressed by how fast the car was.

The seats are very comfortable however with the car breaking down once a month for the 5 months that I've owned the car. The seats become more or less useless.

With only 85000 kms. There has been far to much wrong with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 135 reviews