2000 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 16 of 36

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

This car sucks for a female single person

Faults:

I had only owned my Alegro less than 6 months when there was a recall on it and I had a problem of it squeaking from the rear end of it. My blinker lights wouldn't work either... they were erratic, sometimes working, sometimes not. Of course none of this was covered by my extended warranty.

After I had owned my car for 2 years I had problems with my brakes, I took it to a mechanic and needed total brake work done.. pads, rotors, hoses, etc. They also found that my coolant was going into my engine... extended warranty paid for that, but the car only had 50,000 miles on it.

Went to get out of car and the door wouldn't open on drivers side. The next morning it worked!

General Comments:

The car is easy to handle.

I like its looks and interior.

I wish I didn't have problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

5th Oct 2005, 16:31

I have the same issues with my blinker. Did you ever get that issue resolved?

9th Oct 2005, 12:19

My Alero is a real pain I've fixed every window at least once. The brakes are horrid I've replaced them twice the past year for excessive wear. But the reson I'm writing is to let you know there is a factory recall for the blinkers. I replace it on my own as my car wasn't covered yet and it's worked ever since I changed it a year ago. It's not hard to do and will cost about $20 I think it was, but don't quote me on that. Good luck.

5th May 2006, 17:14

I have a 2000 Alero and have had to have the wheel bearing replaced four times in the last year and a half. I just got it replaced again on 5-4-06 and the repair guy told me this was a problem that they are having with the Alero's. It has cost me $1200.00 in the last 1 1/2 years. Is it just me???

21st Jun 2006, 16:51

When my rear passenger bearings went, my ABS, low trac, and service engine soon lights all came on.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34020 miles
Most recent distance35210 miles

Summary:

Good for a first car, though not the best quality

Faults:

I had a problem where the coolant would mysteriously dissappear from the surge tank, almost causing the car to overheat. The remedy for this was to replace the thermostat, costing me about $150.

The fan speeds 1 and 2 don't work, but 3 and 4 are okay.

The middle tail light burned out and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The acceleration is pretty good, and has no trouble getting a quick start from lights.

It handles well in corners and under adverse driving conditions with good tires.

Unfortunately, the road noise is high, and the suspension absorbs little of the bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

27th Jan 2006, 22:56

Adding comment about the fan speeds. The first time 1 & 2 went out was covered under warranty. The second time they went out I just haven't felt the need to expense it yet. I get along fine with 3 & 4.

31st Jul 2010, 14:14

I have a 2000 Alero, and I had the same problem with the coolant level. They did replace the thermostat and replaced intake gasket, as well. It was an expensive fix, but it solved the leaking problem.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

This car is nice, but unless you are a mechanic, get ready to spend all your money trying to fix it

Faults:

First my water pump went out, then my head gaskets blew. So I put it in the shop, now my engine is blew!!!

General Comments:

Well, it is a very nice and roomy car, but it has its defaults.

When I first got the car, it was great. Then about a year later, all kind of things were going wrong with it. The head gaskets blew, my heads cracked and worst of all, my engine is now locked up. I had trouble with my brake lines, and the air blowing cool. Also, my turn signals were bad. They had a nationwide recall on all 2000 and 2001 models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2005

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 135 reviews