2000 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 19 of 36

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 liter V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance98600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Saturn

Summary:

If there was ever a car that needed to be recalled entirely, this is it

Faults:

Fan does not run in first 2 positions.

Passenger side rear Speaker quit working.

Rattle up front during warranty period, Dealer replaced front strut mounts.

Anti-lock and traction control lights came on - Failed Wheel speed sensors 50,000 miles.

Replaced sensor failed 3000 miles after replacement.

Rear strut mounts rattling over bumps.

Transmission sometimes slips when going from reverse to Drive, if I drop to low and back into Drive it takes off. Can be dangerous when backing into traffic.

General Comments:

The 3.4 V6 is very peppy and has been reliable thus far. (98,000; knock on wood)

The downfall seems to be with the suspension and brake components. I have had more thumps, rattles and vibrations with this car in the first 50,000 than I had through the entire 240,000 I put on my Saturn.

The traction-control anti-lock system is dependent on electronics that fail quickly and often. The brake pads seem to where quickly, with the inside pad wearing faster then the outside pad.

It is impossible to get to a comfortable temperature with heat or air, with the faulty fan switch.

I do not understand how recalls work when I read of all the problems with this car on the Internet; and the only recall was to fix a glove box latch?

When your anti-lock brakes don't work that is not a safety hazard?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Can't be done in one sentence

Faults:

All of the power windows do not work any more. One motor does not work. The bracket that holds the window has broke on two of them and the piece that the cable holds on to in the fourth window is broke. It has been this way now for a few months.

Now the fan switch for the air in not working on the two lowest settings.

The cruise control button broke.

Finally, the blinker working improperly.

General Comments:

The car would not be that bad if it would stop breaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

2nd Jun 2005, 07:30

You and I and so many others have the exact same issues. Must be nice working at GM repair shops. Job security at its finest.

18th Jun 2005, 17:47

I have a 2000 Alero GLS that I've replaced three window motors the first two years I owned it. Now ALL four window motors are broken (with a baby in the back seat). That's 7 times! I'm wondering how many others are having problems with their window motors?

23rd Jun 2005, 10:53

Ill add another to the exact same things. First my motor went out in my passenger window. Then one of my back windows brackets broke so the window wouldn't go up and down right. Next my cruise control button stopped working. and finally.. my ac does not work on the first two speeds. also if I have my ac on cold and its on a higher setting, my cds won't work because they get to cold to play. gm trapped us good.

28th Nov 2005, 11:07

I have the same exact problems as the rest of you. Windows don't work, first two speeds on my heating and AC stopped, a weird clicking in the brakes, and now finally my hazard lights don't work. If this is happening to all of us, why aren't these recalls.

Can't wait to get away from GM.

16th Dec 2005, 14:57

My Alero, let's see My dash is rippling up, I have fixed a passenger side window, now my drivers side is broke. My brakes are starting to click in the pedal, my fan for the a/c and heater is starting to make a noise, my turns signal only works half the time. Basically the car is junk and I have told everyone I know NEVER to buy one.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Buying this car is one of the biggest regrets of my life

Faults:

It all started when the front brakes and rotors had to be replaced soon after purchasing the vehicle two years ago. They've needed to be replaced two more times since then.

A recurring gasket problem has lead to multiple expensive engine repair costs.

The button on the gear shift knob broke off while driving. Luckily I had a pen handy that I could shove in there to put the car in park when I got home.

Whenever it rains a lot or snow is melting, the car experiences multiple computer problems. By this, I mean the gauges randomly stop working, the doors constantly lock and unlock, the trunk refuses to stay closed. The car behaves as if possessed.

The control for the driver's side window goes into hibernation for a few weeks at a time once or twice a year.

Activating the rear defrost causes the radio to get nothing but static.

The first three settings on the heat/air fan stopped working.

Every once in a while, the cruise control stops working.

Whevever a kind person I know is behind my car, they let me know that one or both of the brake lights do not work. Whenever a mechanic or myself look, they work.

There's a very loud windy sound coming from the rear passenger door. I've never been able to fix it.

General Comments:

The car looks great, and when there are no engine problems, it drives great as well.

The car is a safety risk in every possible meaning of the phrase. The engine is unreliable at best, and the doors and trunk can sometimes open themselves to become a literal display case for thieves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

10th Apr 2005, 21:18

I, too, have had multiple problems with my 1999 Alero. I have had to replace wheel bearings 3 times. The heater/air conditioner fan works on the last two highest settings and has had to be repaired. My cruise control works most of the time, however, there are times I cannot turn it on. At this time my check engine light is on, along with the Anti-lock brake light and the traction light. The estimate for the repairs is over $500. Oh, I forgot to mention that the gas gauge does not work either. It quit working about 1 year ago and I haven't had the courage to see how much it will cost to repair. I have owned nothing, but an Oldsmobile since my first car- a 1971 442. Never have I had the problems that I have been having with this car.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 135 reviews