2001 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 3 of 34

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GX 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This car is a money pit

Faults:

Window cable attachments, both windows - 70,000 miles.

Tie rod ends - 70,000 miles.

Numerous pieces of plastic and buttons breaking everywhere.

Cruise control won't stay on - 60,000 miles to present.

CV axle - 79,000 miles.

ABS sensor, hub assembly - 75,000 miles.

Rotors twice - 40,000 (?) and 79,000 miles.

Front calipers - 79,000 miles.

Still have mushy brake, might be ABS unit.

Starting to rust.

General Comments:

By far the most problematic car I have ever owned. Started falling apart after 55,000 miles.

It's not as easy on gas as it should be.

It looks good and it's pretty comfortable, but this car might be mechanically inferior to a Yugo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2010

2001 Oldsmobile Alero 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Pass lock has went off 7 times in the last year, requiring us to leave the key on for 10 minutes solution. Now the car will not start at all. Had it in the shop 4 different times for the right front wheel.

Fuel filter replaced, next is going to be the fuel pump, dealer wants $700 to do it, going to do it myself.

And we bailed GM out so they can sell us junk?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2010

14th Oct 2010, 16:28

Pretty short list of problems, most of which are minor, for a 10 year old car. You bought it with 80K miles on it, so who knows how it was treated before you took possession of it?

14th Oct 2010, 19:48

"And we bailed GM out so they can sell us junk?"

Yeah, pretty much.

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 kilometres
Most recent distance143000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

She ain't pretty, she just looks that way

Faults:

Let's see if I can remember the list ha.

Wheel bearing hub twice, A/C not working anymore, rear window defogger box melted, brakes front and back, fan switch only works 3 and above, annoying ticker that never stops etc.

What can be said about this car that hasn't been said before? Beautiful looking car, and somewhat sporty. We unfortunately bought the GLS top line, and I kick myself ever since. Lots of the things have gone wrong that are easy DIY, like fan resistor and defog box replacements. But the cheap assembly of the panels makes it easy to break clips and never get them back in the original place. GM dealers know about the problems and don't care. With all these problems, there should be a reduction on parts ie hubs. Never let a woman pick the car because of looks, when you've done your homework and still go against what you learned.

General Comments:

Leather doesn't seem to hold up with age.

Not as quick as my 3.1 GP, and gas mileage is terrible.

Because of this time period in GM's history, they have ruined their reputation forever with me and many others.

Bought a 1990 Celebrity Wagon recently, and in the ten years between these cars, the quality and reliability of GM cars is night and day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2010

2001 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

The car looks nice, but I think they all are lemons

Faults:

I got a Olds Alero, and it's nothing but a big headache.

The dashboard lights light up like Christmas tree. When that happens, you can't shut it off till the security light quits blinking.

The ignition key keeps getting stuck when you shut it off. Have to work with it for 10 minutes. so you can get key out.

The car is a very nice looking car, but as far as keeping it, NO! It's good for looks only, and I'll NEVER own another one.

General Comments:

All seat & inside were nice, but it's the computer that is the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2010

28th Aug 2010, 09:12

"and it's nothing but a big headache."

- You have mentioned the main reason that Olds is out of business.

11th Oct 2010, 23:13

I bought my Alero 4 years ago, and it's still going. At 9 years old and a high mileage of 150000, I think it's getting along pretty well.

The problems that I have had with it has been numerous. Initially the car started shifting really hard all of a sudden. We got the transmission replaced and that didn't fix the problem. Then we took it to a place that told us it was the computer that was causing the problem. They replaced the computer and that didn't work either. Finally, they flashed the computer and it fixed the problem for the most part, but it has come back since then, but it's weird because all you have to do is turn the car off and restart it, and it's fine. Same thing with the security system. It will malfunction and I have to reset it. The car has episode where it will do this, and then for months I won't have any problems with the security system.

The suspension has had to be replaced in the last four years.

The ABS is disabled in my car also. It just made me change my habits a little, and give a safer braking distance.

My Alero has made it through some bad winters; it's heavy so it drives pretty well in the snow.

I would have to say that an Alero wasn't my first choice, it was my husband's choice at a desperate time when we were in need of a car fast, but we haven't had to put any more time or money into this car than any other car we have owned (besides financing it).

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 114 reviews