2001 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 10 of 34

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired143 miles
Most recent distance398487 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Excellent, wish I could buy another

Faults:

Emergency flasher switch repaired under manufacturers recall. Cost $0.00.

Shocks and struts at 200,000 miles. Cost 340.00 (eBay).

Starter replaced at 212,000 miles. Cost $127.00 (eBay).

Intake manifold gasket replaced & head gaskets replaced at 293,000 miles (elective). Cost $1400.00.

Transmission overhauled 327,000 miles. Cost $1095.00.

Tires every 75,000 miles. General maintenance.

Oil change every 12,000 miles (Castrol Syntec). General maintenance.

Transmission oil change every 200,000 miles (Amsoil Synthetic). General maintenance.

Front power window switches/regulators wore out years ago, and have never replaced.

A/C blower switch only works on medium high and High. Minor inconveniences though.

General Comments:

Very pleased with this vehicle. I am still driving on a daily basis with a weekly commute to work of 1100 miles round trip. This is used as a daily driver, complete with trailer hitch for hauling twin seadoo trailer. Still gets 28.4 mpg. Does not burn any oil between changes (12,000 mile oil changes).

Have written GM congratulating them on the reliability and design of this vehicle. Their only comment was that it was not unusual for loyal GM customers to contact them with 500k up to 1 million miles on there cars. I answered yeah, right... And how many engines and how old were these vehicles.

In return for my letter of commendation of their engineering, GM sent me a free oil change. I returned their certificate with a note reading "The only reason this vehicle has performed as it has is that I have been using 100% Synthetic oil since day one. Thanks for the certificate, but save it for somebody who uses your service centers."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2007

12th Sep 2007, 14:41

"Excellent, wish I could buy another"

- You can't buy another Alero or any other new Olds anymore, thanks to the GREAT BRAINS at GM!

3rd Oct 2007, 15:55

Just rolled over 400,000 miles and still going strong...

23rd Jul 2008, 11:59

I have decided not to tempt fate any longer. This Alero has been turned into a household 3rd vehicle (an extra in case primary vehicle is down) It is still a good car but its appearance has become very stressed. This car presently has 442,000 miles on its original engine, and it still does not use any oil between oil changes. Oil change cycle is still every 12,000 miles.

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

The car handles well and has been reliable

Faults:

Upper intake gasket twice while under warranty.

Blower motor resistor at 38,000.

Warped rotors.

General Comments:

The 2000 & 2001 models seem to be of a higher quality than the later 2002-2004 models. Guess this is what happens when the folks building them know that as soon as the last one rolls off the line their jobs are gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2007

2001 Oldsmobile Alero 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

They make PowerWheels that are better than this car!

Faults:

After we first got it, the shifter button fell out.

Then the radio won't work and still doesn't work when rear defrost is on.

It will spit out cd's and say check cd.

Traction sensor went out and wouldn't allow the car to run two days before our wedding. Had to take it to the dealer and spend a fortune.

Oxygen sensor went out.

Driver window will not go down.

My headlights wouldn't go off one night, so I pop the hood to look at it, and the alarm goes off and all the lights just start flashing like crazy. It woke up everybody around me. Had to leave battery disconnected all night.

Have water stains on carpet behind both front seats.

Back passenger door hard to open at times.

Air condition only works on the last two speeds.

I could go on forever baby.

Now it broke down on us at a gas station. I pumped gas, went to crank it up and it wouldn't start. I had to get it towed home. I still don't know what the problem is. I'm scared to take it to the dealer because they always give you the runaround and never really fix it. Come on, I know ya'll know what I'm talking about! This is the worst car you could ever buy. Oldsmobile really screwed us over. Thanks a lot!

General Comments:

Just when you thought you have fixed just about all that can go wrong on the car, hey, just my luck. Something else went out and now I have to fork out another $1000. THIS CAR SUCKSSSS!!!

My advice to anyone who owns an alero, put a brick on the gas pedal and send it over a cliff. Trust me you'll save yourself a lot of headaches in the end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2007

20th Sep 2007, 00:56

The reason that your car will not start is because the fuel pump is not working. It will not take much to fix it. I have one and I love it the only thing is now I have a lot of lights on.

22nd Oct 2010, 22:35

I am highly disappointed in myself for not doing my homework first, and purchasing a car second. I would have saved myself a great deal of misery.

The latest issue; the car will not start on a cool mornings, but will start after holding a hair dryer to the under-hood fuse block (that's right... a hair dryer). The problems seem to be a defective fuse block, causing an open circuit when cold. The only reason I've kept the car this long is because of its Mitsubishi engine that has 173K miles. I will be hard pressed to own another GM, even if it is given to me.

29th Mar 2011, 08:41

I have a ton of lights on to every time I put my car in reverse. The SVS light, the trac off light and the anti-lock lights all come on at once.

But otherwise I absolutely love this car, I just can't figure out why it does this...

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 114 reviews