2004 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 2 of 8

2004 Oldsmobile Alero GL from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired19444 miles
Most recent distance50800 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Finding someone to work on it

Faults:

I am having a terrible time getting anyone to work on this car. Is anyone else having the same problem?

Off warranty, obviously, but even so, anyone outside of where it was originally purchased giving song and a dance. Dealer themselves lost the manual and never went over the details.

This car was purchased by a family member who didn't care, and I am stuck with it. I have no clue. Can't sell yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2010

2004 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Great for the price

Faults:

I bought the car with 91,000 k`s, so it was about the time when things like rotors needed to be replaced, but so far it's run great without problems. I make sure all maintenance is done on time.

General Comments:

I am enjoying the car.

The engine is a 3.4 litre and has surprising power.

I installed a Pacesetter exhaust system, which sounds nice and adds power.

Also installed K&N air filter, which I hope will help the engine.

I really look after the car, and I know it will look after me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2010

15th Apr 2012, 15:48

I wrote a review on the 2004 Alero back in 2010. I mentioned I installed a few performance items.

Well it's been two years, and I am very happy to say the Oldsmobile Alero has stood up to aggressive driving, so I don't understand why anyone who would have anything negative to say about the Alero.

It was a sad day when GM closed down the Oldsmobile factories.

Lots of power for the size of engine, and not bad gas mileage.

I receive lots of compliments on the appearance; it's loaded.

Don't be afraid to buy an Alero.

2004 Oldsmobile Alero 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

This is the best car I've ever owned in terms of reliable service

Faults:

2 wheel bearings had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Other than routine maintenance, I have paid virtual pennies to keep the car running.

It currently has almost 173,000 miles on it, and still runs incredibly well.

The interior looks almost new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2010

2004 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

For the price, it's number one

Faults:

At 94.000 k's, front rotors needed replacement.

Otherwise, the car has been problem free.

General Comments:

I have always done preventive medicine on the car, eg. regular oil changes etc.

I look after the car and it has been very good to me. It has a great stereo system, and I removed the original tires with an upgrade and it rides great.

For a six cylinder it has lots of power.

Every option except heated seats.

Fantastic automobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2010

2004 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

I am very happy

Faults:

Nothing, the car is almost in perfect condition.

General Comments:

The car rides like a sports car.

It is fairly quick for a six cylinder so far. It has been very reliable.

The radio is great.

I have nothing but good things to say about Oldsmobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2009

2004 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Sick of replacing wheel bearings

Faults:

I have had to replace the wheel bearings three times. I had the right front wheel bearing replaced on 2/14/06, the left front wheel bearing on 2/12/07 the right front wheel bearing on 3/14/07 and I have an appointment to replace the wheel bearing on 3/19/08. My mechanic is going to check and see which one if not both need to be replaced. No one can seem to figure out why the wheel bearings to not last.

Other than the above problem I love the car. No other problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

8th Apr 2008, 13:09

I just had a left front bearing replaced at 43,000 miles. While I was very surprised by this problem occuring the replacement part carries a lifetime guarantee so replacing the same bearing again won't be a problem.

9th Apr 2008, 13:05

I understand what you mean, I have the same problem with mine; it's a 2004 and I've changed already 3 times the bearing.

23rd Apr 2008, 21:01

I have a 2004 Alero with 83000 miles on it and I am having both front wheel bearings replaced. I will have a lifetime replacement with these but hopefully I won't need to use it.

19th Sep 2008, 14:53

There is a grease fitting to your bearings, and at the auto shops they usually won't grease it. If you grease them when you get your oil changed, they will last sooooo much longer.

24th Feb 2009, 10:22

I am about to replace my front wheel bearings for the 3rd time! Yet I am at 94,000 on my 2004 yet my mechanic says the brake pads look like new. Nothing else has ever been a problem. I'm glad I'm not alone!

8th Mar 2009, 22:15

I own a 2004 Alero and have replaced both front wheel bearings, and just now I'm reaching 60,000 miles. So far this is the only problem I have had, other than the car is sitting on the side of the road currently waiting to be towed to a repair shop because it will not start. After talking with my mechanic, the conclusion is it sounds like it may be the starter. Guess I will find out tomorrow.

3rd May 2009, 17:05

I just bought a 2002, and the bearing is done and now it just quit on me, won't start... Sensor or something?

30th Nov 2009, 15:40

I had a 04 Alero GL with the 2.2L ecotec. Nothing but trouble from the first day. Brake rotors at 11k, 23K and again at 29K. Wheel bearings, the ignition control unit and finally the transmission failed at 41K (no I didn't get the extended warranty..) finally traded it in for a Honda. Only got 2500 dollars for an 04 car with only 43K miles on it. Looked awesome and the ride was fine when it was not in the shop.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 31 reviews