2004 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2004 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance55556 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

I feel almost everyday like letting it roll off a cliff!

Faults:

The dashboard is peeling and wrinkled.

The windows take forever to roll up and sound like nails on a chalk board.

Transmission only a year old, and is slipping and bucking. Or at least that's what they say it is.

General Comments:

My Alero is about a year old and is driven on a daily basis, so it is not like it sits in the sun for days at a time. The dashboard looks like someone had left a wet towel on it and let it sit in the sun for weeks.

Also, it seems as though the transmission is slipping more and more. On I-75, it starts to shake, then idles high and drops very low, then starts to buck. It feels like I am slamming on the brake for a split second.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2005

28th Sep 2005, 21:17

I also have a 2000 Alero and the dashboard is peeling, it looks so ridiculous. I don't even want to bother trying to waste my time fixing it. My sunroof creeks and moans on turns now also, I'm just waiting for it to spring a leak in heavy rain!

18th Oct 2006, 02:30

I think its sad that people get a car with nearly 30,000 miles and hate the car company that made it because it gives them a few problems when God only knows how it was treated before they came to own it. I had a 2002 Alero and the dash started to peel shortly before it was traded in 2006. It was a wonderful car aside from that... We only had to put brakes on twice in almost 80000 miles, first time covered by warranty, and one air filter. The new car, a Grand Am (basically the same thing) 's dash began to peel at 33,000 miles and was replaced under warranty. Aleros aren't that bad, treat them good and they'll treat you good!

2004 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance38700 miles

Summary:

This car needs recalled

Faults:

First of all the rack and pinion steering had to be replaced, then I needed new brakes. Today, I had to have both front wheel bearings replaced, and I was told the rotors need turned or changed as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2005

2004 Oldsmobile Alero GL2 3.6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance13100 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

This is a great car!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I went into the dealership intending on purchasing another Mustang. I saw the Alero and fell in love. The price was better than I could have asked for for a car that only has 13k miles, especially considering I have a lot of time left on the warranty. The stereo was more than I expected. I love the way the car handles. It's great on gas and it has a sporty look. I never thought I'd drive anything, but a Mustang, but I absolutely love my Alero!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

2004 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance2550 kilometres
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my 2004 Alero GLS. Its sporty and comfortable. Its my second Alero. My other is a 1999 GL which I still own. It has 65000kms and the only thing I've ever had to do was replace the brakes. I guess I was one of the lucky ones. Both my Aleros are #1. I wish I could get my hands on one of the final 500. I would buy that too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

2004 Oldsmobile Alero GL3 3.4 liter V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6043 miles
Most recent distance28067 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Very good car for the money (GL3)

Faults:

A screw came loose on the center console. The dealer fixed per warranty.

The seats are mildly uncomfortably especially on long distance trips.

The factory 225/50-16 Goodyear tires were very loud/harsh. I replaced them with same size Continental Contitrac tires.

General Comments:

This car is nothing short of amazing given the price I paid ($18,995). It handles like a BMW and is fast as well. The interior design and the coloring placement was very well executed (tan/brown). The stereo could use some better speakers, but, the deck (CD) is very easy and comfortable to use. The layout of all accessory controls is one of the easiest to use that I have seen. This car has been a very fun and enjoyable car to drive. If only I could keep my foot off the gas pedal!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

29th Aug 2010, 17:32

I have a 2004 Alero with 115,000 kms and it runs like a new car. It has lots of snap and is a lot of fun to drive. For the price I think it's hard to beat. If you do need repairs it's a lot cheaper to fix than a Japanese or European car.

I love my Oldsmobile.

2004 Oldsmobile Alero GL2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles

Summary:

Oldsmobile's best car yet!

Faults:

I've only had one problem with my car since I bought it. It was not the dealers fault either. The first time it rained, my sunroof leaked. There was a bad seal around the window. I took it to the dealership and they fixed it at no charge. No problems since.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It's very roomy and comfortable. The trunk space is awesome! It's a quick little car and I enjoy driving it. It's cute and very affordable. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a new car. Plus, it's got plenty of room for the bulky car seats manufacturers have out now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

29th Apr 2004, 11:15

Should add that if you want one you better get one now--today 4/29/04 is the last day of production for Oldsmobile.

27th Feb 2005, 04:27

I just bought a (used) 2004 Alero GL. It came with the 3.4 engine. It is a great vehicle and I expect to have many good miles in it. GM finally made a vehicle that fit my tastes and then discontinues making it. What a shame when GM is trying to build up it's rep for quality.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 31 reviews