1997 Oldsmobile Aurora Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles

Summary:

Its well worth the time and money

Faults:

I bought the car and immediately replaced the following:

Fuel Pump

Tires

Spark Plugs and Wires

O2 Sensors

Radiator

Rear Struts.

General Comments:

There was always another Aurora in the family, but I never thought too much of it until I drove it. I have always liked the pleasing looks and comfortable and stylish interior with the cool blue dash that seems to light up like a space ship at night. The engine has so much power at high r.p.m. When properly tuned and maintained, the D.O.H.C. V8 engine will climb to red line extremely fast and silky-smooth while pushing you back in your seat. It really is a highly tuned masterpiece. The handling is actually very good for a car of its size. I would attribute that to the size of the tires. They did not cheapen anything up when they made this car. That seems to happen a lot to Japanese cars. The tires are something like 225/60/16. Not only do the tires look really cool because they are so big, but the size of the sidewall gives you an incredibly smooth ride on the highway, just like you are floating on air. Because the tires are so wide, the car can hold a corner quite well for its size which really impressed me. It is a very fun car to drive and people enjoy being passengers in it. That's important. All the little things they added to this car really add up and make it a very great car that I am extremely happy to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 North Star from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 North Star Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53606 miles
Most recent distance54112 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A luxury bargain

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

The car rides very well for a 4,000 pound car. Acceleration is great. If you can't afford a Seville STS, this car is a perfect fill in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2004

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Cadillac quality with a Pinto price tag

Faults:

Well first off the compressor went out.

Next to go was the steering column, I think that the steering column went out only because the mechanic that rebuilt the compressor lowered the suspension to far, thus snapping the steering column.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride.

Notable power.

Quiet ride almost Cadillac quiet.

Descent sound system (I don't even have Bose).

Heated seats (oh how I have become so spoiled).

Tilted mirror when you reverse is really nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

24th Jul 2004, 02:30

Just wanted to add to or possibly correct your comment about the aurora being a very quiet ride, almost Cadillac quiet. According to Popular Mechanics Magazine the Cadillac Seville STS or was it an El Dorado? Maybe all the Caddy's by my interpretation of the article are almost as quiet as the Aurora inside while driving. Although the rear portion of the window seal mainly on the drivers door tends to leak and cause wind noise,due to the lack of upper window frames, on the doors at highway speeds. One thing I know is the Aurora is a great car and there is no way I will ever part with mine.

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 Northstar from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Faults:

Coil Pack failed.

Sending unit in tank failed.

Serpentine belt pulley bearing failed.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car that is full-featured with options that you would really want. From the theater lighting to the "properly" designed seat belts this car is a delight to drive.

At 90 mph it is smooth for mile on end.

Under all conditions, with the V8, it still delivers a consistent 22mpg.

I am so glad GM designed a car just for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2003

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 DOHC 32 Valve V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 DOHC 32 Valve V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired62500 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Aurora

Summary:

Performance with luxury

Faults:

Automatic leveling suspension failed at 70,000 kilometres and was covered under extended warranty, total cost $650.00.

Recently repaired alternator bearings that caused a whining noise for almost close to a year and became worse with knocking and louder whining noise, total cost: Labor - 400.00 and new alternator 600.00 all covered under extended warranty. The car is EXTREMELY quiet after this repair.

General Comments:

The Aurora is a sleek and powerful automobile that as they say is a wolf with sheep's clothing, too bad many other people do not recognize what this car is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2002

16th Nov 2002, 01:43

I bought a 1997 Aurora a little over 6 months ago now... it had 84,000 some odd miles on it when I bought it... it has just under 87,000 miles on it now... it has a problem with the electrical wiring inside the drivers door and the intermittent w/w do not work... PLUS the head gaskets just went... total cost of repair for everything... $ 3500.00.

If you buy one... get a good warranty with it.

6th Apr 2005, 13:47

April 6,2005.

I have a 1997 Aurora with 90,000 miles. The only major parts that needed replaced so far were the alternator, serpentine belt and water pump.

I purchased the car to replace a 1990 Oldsmobile Toronado Trofeo with 210,000 miles on it.

Both cars seem to be about the same in comfort and I have no complaints about either.

My wife wouldn't give up the Aurora for anything.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews