1997 Oldsmobile Aurora Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora loaded 4.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carHonda Pilot

Faults:

First was the door handle on passenger side now its driver side, it has been hell keeping it on the road, but could not find a better car to drive.

General Comments:

Its fun to drive and not as bad on gas as most v-8's out there ave 23 miles per gal tune ups are costly, I have been told that the engine is good, but the car was just poorly designed I have spent half of what I paid for it in repair, but just keep falling back in love when its fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

17th Mar 2006, 20:24

I just bought my secound 1997 Aurora, The first one I sold because it started to cost too much in repairs. The car had 129 k miles on it. Every summer it would over heat, the a/c would quit, and the ingnition key stopped working. Loved that car. Now! On the way home from the dealer, my secound one started over heating and still do not know why this happens or what to do about it. Maybe someone out there can help me. Overall, I am crazy for these cars. If being insane means making the same mistakes, then I'm just nuts. Now, In 15 years when I'm sitting next to it in a car show, I'll be looking pretty sane.

24th Jun 2006, 07:53

My aurora was overheating too until I re-installed the front air dam that directs air up into the radiator. the previous owner has ripped it off from too many parkinglot curbs. I bought one and installed it and I noticed about 10-15 degree celsius drop in operating temps. check your car and put it back on if it's missing!

19th Aug 2006, 07:31

I have 170K miles on my Aurora. It is now having overheating problems, the door handle broke on the drivers side and my a/c went out. All of this occurred within the last 6 months. Otherwise, I love my car! It has a V8 North star motor and it can go!!!

20th May 2013, 15:23

Where did you buy the air dam? I have a 1997 Aurora, and haven't been able to find one. Can you help with a place to purchase one? My email address is kcpsports@aol.com.

Thanks, Kim.

21st May 2013, 09:14

Kim... a junkyard might have it.

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired113432 kilometres
Most recent distance134687 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Luxury and power in a solid, comfortable package

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong since I have owned this car.

General Comments:

The northstar derived 4.0L V-8 engine is very smooth and responsive. I am particularly impressed with the power available from 30km/h right through 160km/h+.

I have found full synthetic engine oil does add a measure of safety as this engine does run hot, as it was designed to do.

The handling is somewhere between comfortable and firm. I found the best handling in the stock 16" rims came from a set of v-rated michelin tires.

The stock sound system upgrade, just below the BOSE option, with 12 disc changer is adequate. one fault though. if you shut off the car with the changer playing "disc 12" you will find that magically "disc 1" is playing. a minor fault to me.

The front seats are wonderful. I recently drove for 8 hours on the highway and felt fairly good when I stopped for gas. good mid and lumbar support and adjustments.

I am overall really pleased with my aurora and the thought of purchasing a second one has crossed my mind a few times. if you are considering buying one, just do it! find a clean, well maintained example and go for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2005

1997 Oldsmobile Aurora Gold V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Beautiful car!

Faults:

Radiator leaked and had to be replaced. Am still wondering why at times it won't start and says "clean key and wait 3 minutes". Tried cleaning key etc and it still happens. Am not to thrilled about taking it in and paying someone $1000 to fix this problem. It has not stranded me yet, but gets cold waiting 3 minutes 3 times in a row in WI winters.

General Comments:

The Aurora is the most comfortable, luxurious car I have ever driven or rode in. I love all the options, and think it beats the most expensive Cadillacs's. I am thinking of getting an Olds SUV now. I am spoiled with all the options.

Its quick and handles wonderful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2005

19th Jan 2005, 14:34

Your non-starting problem is due to malfunctioning VATS (anti-theft) system. Your key has a resistor built into it which the system has to read in order to allow the car to start.

Try getting a replacement key at a locksmith that is able to duplicate VATS keys (places like Home Depot are NOT equipped to do this). It's a lot more expensive than a regular key (like $30-$35) but still much cheaper than the repair figure you were quoted!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews