1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 3.8 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

This is the most fun and enjoyable car I have ever had

Faults:

The power antenna quit working in the halfway position.

Rear main seal leaks a little.

The old lady that used to own it had to replace the transmission.

The carburetor needs replaced.

I had to replace the struts.

General Comments:

Having the Braugham package makes this car the most comfortable car I have ever had.

Having a V-6 makes the car a bit of a sled to start, but it kicks in fast.

This car has the smoothest ride of anything that I have ever driven, and I have driven a lot of cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Brougham 3.8 liter from North America

Summary:

It was the best car I ever owned!

Faults:

Replaced carburator twice. Replaced transmission twice. Replaced water pump and engine mounts twice. Replaced whole starter system.

General Comments:

This car had the smoothest ride ever! The gas mileage wash great. I'm looking for another one just like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2005

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 231 V6 from North America

Summary:

A major waste of money

Faults:

It had 3 transmissions in 20 months.

The air conditioning never worked right.

It used a quart of oil a week, but the dealer said this was normal for that engine.

It got about 12 mpg on the highway.

It had several rust spots in less than 2 years.

General Comments:

This was the worst piece of junk I have ever owned. I traded my reliable Escort that got 45 mpg for this lemon. Our Pinto with 150,000 miles was more reliable than this GM junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

9th Oct 2007, 16:16

This has got to be the most fake review I have ever come across!!

Nice try buddy.

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 307 ci V8 from North America

Summary:

The pimp daddy ride

Faults:

The cutlass at 168,000 miles is just now starting to give me a little trouble. The only trouble I have had is the external parts of the motor. The motor itself is all original and doesn't smoke. It does use a quart of oil about ever 2500 miles. External parts that have died most recently as of 11/25/02, belts (all), alternator, ignition module and points in the distributor. Overall, not too bad.

General Comments:

Since I have bought it I have done several things to it.

First, all new interior... very nice.

Second, I rebuilt the transmission with a shift kit, It runs much better now. It never gave out, I just wanted better response.

Third, I'm gathering everything I need to do a paint job, I'm gonna see if I can't bring a little life back to her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

19th Jul 2006, 16:17

Cars haven't used points in the ignition system since the early 1970's. Maybe a new mechanic...?

30th Sep 2006, 23:14

Correction, the Hyundai Pony's that were manufactured in the mid to late 80's used points in their ignition system's.

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 350 Chevy from North America

Summary:

A well built car with lots of potential

Faults:

The car was originally equipped with the 3.8 liter Buick V6 which was running when I pulled it at 200,000 miles. It is currently equipped with a Chevrolet 350 V8.The worst thing that happened with the original drive train was that it went through TH200 3 speed transmissions with surprising regularity. In fact, it went through 3 of them. The original starter and alternator lasted for 140,000 miles and both failed within a week of each other. When I changed engines, I also changed transmissions (required since they use 2 different bolt patterns). The transmission I used was a TH200-4R automatic overdrive. It also failed within 10,000 miles of installation (not surprising since it was used). I also wound up going through a rear universal joint. All these problems I consider acceptable since the car was used primarily as a pizza delivery vehicle. Perhaps the most difficult thing to repair on one of these cars (and it is sadly quite common) is that the roof has a nasty tendency to rust right above the doors. Mine did, and required extensive cutting and welding in order to properly repair it (I have had to fix 5 rust holes in the roof).

General Comments:

In stock condition, it has to be the slowest vehicle I've ever driven. The handling is also quite poor (although it no longer is due to some suspension modifications). The brakes are also inadequate for anything other than normal driving. That being said, the car also has some very good points. The interior is very comfortable, and wears quite well-so long as the windows are tinted to avoid sun fading. These cars are also extremely easy to upgrade using aftermarket and factory parts. Thanks to GM's standardization of components across many product lines, parts are easily obtained also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

10th Feb 2004, 22:58

With reference to last comment re: 'my Cutlass has a 5.0L Hemi engine.' Really? Since when did Oldsmobile, or any other GM division, offer a "Hemi"? Maybe you should call your Cutlass an "Oldsmopar"! -Steve- Kitchener, Ontario, Canada.

11th Feb 2004, 06:21

You have never had a Hemi in a cutlass, and the reviewer said his 3.8 V6 was slow no the 350 V8.

24th Mar 2004, 13:16

Man ohh man, I can't believe someone would make a comment about a HEMI in a GM car. The HEMI engine as stated above is strictly a chrysler production engine. And as far as the 3.8 v-6 stock engines that came in the cutlass... if you had it properly tuned and knew how to drive, the car has more than enough power... remember the thing wasn't made to drag race.

9th Sep 2004, 18:47

What is the most inexpensive way to get more power out of my 1985 Oldsmobile cutlass Supreme?

12th Sep 2004, 02:13

The cheapest way to add power to the stock Cutlass is K&N air and oil filters. For about $40.00 for the air filter and $8.00 for the oil, you can add up to 12 HP to your engine without having to do any major engine modifications.

19th Dec 2007, 01:01

As the original writer of this review, if you read it I never said anything referencing a Hemi in it. As for bang for the Buck, gears. These cars had pathetic gearing standard with a 2.41. I found a 3.23 axle and swapped it in for under $100 and it made it much better. The car is both faster and better on gas in the city.