1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 307 ci from North America


One fast Cutlass


My ignition switch went out, and then the same day I got it fixed, I had to put in new belts and a fuel filter.

General Comments:

My Cutlass has a 307, but I put a lot of performance parts on it, so she has 410 hp and runs 7.19's in a 1/8 mile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2008

13th Feb 2008, 15:09

410 HP from a 307? You must be smoking some funny cigarettes!

17th Feb 2008, 21:37

No way!! 410 hp out of a 307.. come on!.. 210 hp maybe with lots of mods... ah well!!

18th Jul 2012, 15:13

It is possible, you can make any engine put out high HP/torque, depending on the real work you put into it, inside and out.

18th Jul 2012, 15:18

If he is running 7.19 in a 1/8 mile, it's as fast as he says. My Tahoe ran 10.0, and all it had was performance heads on it.

22nd Jul 2012, 10:30

410 HP out of an Olds 307 is possible, but you're going to have to spend a lot of money and time on it!

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 307 from North America


Wonderful car!!!


Normal wear items, except for headlight bulbs, which seem to need changing frequently.

General Comments:

I had an 85 Olds Supreme for 19 years, and it never left me stranded once. It had 235,000 miles on it, and still ran great except with the expected lessening in compression, which reduced power somewhat and increased gas consumption.

Before the wear, it had great power and got very good gas mileage for a car of its size. It also had a wonderful ride.

I only changed oil every 5K miles. And it had the best car seats I ever sat in.

Best car I ever owned!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2007

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 3.8L V6 from North America


Safe and built like a tank, but TERRIBLE fuel economy, breaks down a lot


1.) Air Conditioner died after 2nd year of ownership.

2.) Radiator Core rotted out - Needed replacement to the tune of ~$490.

3.) Carb needed to be cleaned every summer, rebuilt every 2 years.

4.) A couple Steering Column parts needed replacement.

5.) After year 20 (2005) the front-right brake line nut rusted, snapped, and the brakes went out (lost pressure) on the freeway and almost killed me. The front-right brake line was repaired the system re-pressurized, and all was good... Until the front-left one went out on me during rush-hour traffic. Once again, almost got into a major accident.

6.) Valve Cover gasket started leaking oil after 85,000 miles.

7.) Transmission started dying after 106,000 miles. First reverse quit working. Then the forward gears started to slip/die.

8.) 19-year-old exhaust system finally rusted out, and needed replacement in 2004. The ENTIRE exhaust system. Thankfully I had the tools & shop to do it myself for only a couple hundred bucks.

9.) Interior trim items started falling apart.

... Too many things to write here...

My previous vehicle was also a GM vehicle. I think after these two I have had enough of American Made cars!

General Comments:

EXPENSIVE gas & oil consumption! 12 mpg City / 17 mpg Highway (on a GOOD day)...

On the positive side, the Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham was a TANK! It saved my LIFE! I don't think there's a SAFER, more SOLIDLY BUILT passenger car in the world.

On a highway, an old man in a Volvo V70 pulled in front of me (he was running a stop light) and I plowed into the side of his car. $2000 damage to the olds, but it was fixable; $24,000 damage to the Volvo -> Totalled.

The olds cut through the Station wagon like a knife through butter. Forget the "Passenger Safety Cage" that Volvo raves about in their ads. My olds sheered straight thru it (Impact at only 35 MPH), the engine was smashed off its mounts and shot out the other side of the car and slid 10 ft across the intersection. The car was obliterated and I was thankful (and lucky) that nobody was injured. The passenger was almost hurt, as their dash board was about 2 inches from pinning them to their seats. They tilted the seats back and crawled out the back hatch door to safety. Otherwise they'd have been stuck.

The car slipped & fishtailed on slick roads or snow, but once you get used to rear-wheel drive it's not a problem, and can be a bit of fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2006

24th Oct 2006, 14:34

"Forget the "Passenger Safety Cage" that Volvo raves about in their ads."

- Volvo talks too much.

24th Oct 2006, 20:48

It appears to me that the owner did not take the vehicle in for maintenance very much. A regular mechanical maintenance schedule would have prevented the brakes from rusting or perhaps the transmission failing. Any car will last a long time if cared for correctly.