1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass supreme 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile none

Summary:

Best car I will ever own and will never get rid of it

Faults:

Engine mounts loose.

Heater control switch stuck on high.

Valve cover gaskets, small leaks.

Starter failed.

Water pump replaced.

Carburetor rebuilt.

General Comments:

Excellent car to own, handles like a boat, but its worth the comfort it provides. V-6 engine is slightly under powered, but its burns less gas than the v-8.

Reliability is outstanding for the cost and the age of the car (payed $2300 for it)

Never had any major mechanical problems in 8 yrs of ownership, never left stranded anywhere even with a bad carburetor. Moved the car from Virginia to Alaska and it still runs fine at extreme cold conditions.

This is my first and only car I owned and never had any regrets owning it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

20th Mar 2004, 06:34

Recently I picked up an 85 Cutlass 2 door in showroom condition with 73,000 original miles with all service records for 600.00, how bout that for a deal!!! but, get this, not an hour later, the power seats ceased to function!!! but, no big deal!!

18th Apr 2005, 20:29

I can top that. I own a 1985 Olds Cutlass Supreme with less than 60,000 miles on it and only payed 200 bucks for it!

15th Jun 2005, 14:13

I got my 85 Old's from my Grandma for a $1 in 1999. It had 45,000 original miles. I have driven it across country and have put about 65,000 miles on it. I am currently putting a LT1 from a Camaro in it. She was the original owner and as far as I am concerned it will stay in the family for future generations to enjoy. Its my Poor mans Cadillac and by far the best car I have ever owned.

1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 5.0 liter 307 Oldsmobile from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter 307 Oldsmobile Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

The 1985 Cutlass is a Cheap car with lots of performance potential.

Faults:

One of the emissions air intakes was rusted off.

It blew tire.

It needs new Plug wires, Points, and spark plugs.

It could use some new fan belts.

The A/C blows some cold air, but I think it needs some freon.

It's starting to show the rust.

It needs a trip to Exhaust Pros for a exhaust donut at the manifold.

The windshield creaks.

General Comments:

It's is a great car I love it.

I wouldn't want anything else for a first car.

You can easily pick up a 2 door for around $1500.

It's handles well, and it's not too bad when you floor it, although it could use a 3:73 rear end instead of the 2:14's.

Every seat in the car is like a Lazy-Boy.

The power accessories are great and mine all work, cruise control, windows, locks, rear defrost.

It's not something everyone has.

A nice piece of American steel.

It's easy to work on.

All rear wheel drive cars are fun.

It can leave rubber almost anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2002

30th Nov 2006, 14:14

I Have a 1985 cutlass supreme 4 door and a v6. It's all original and I wouldn't mind finding any performance parts or replacement parts for it. Anyone Know where I can get these or is thier no point? I live near Duluth MN any thing would help. I also need body parts.

31st Jul 2007, 12:24

Will a 305 match to a transmission in a 1985 442 old with a 307 in it now. Can we do an engine switch and keep the same trans?

Email.. wcoady@accesswave.ca.

26th Aug 2007, 08:39

Hey, I got a '85 Cutlass Supreme, and I'm wondering if it would be better to get a carb from around '78-'80 to avoid all the computer junk.

Drop me a e-mail at arizona_cars@yahoo.com.

25th Feb 2013, 21:48

Unless someone installed a point distributor from a 74 and previous Cutlass, this 85 did not have any ignition points. GM didn't use points in any of their cars after 1974.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews