6th Jul 2017, 20:17

Maybe so, but they do manufacture replacement gas tanks for a '66 Impala/Caprice which would probably fit a Delta 88 along with other GM full sizes built on this same platform. Not sure if 10:56 was referring to this, but it's possible.

7th Jul 2017, 00:54

So put in a new fuel cell tank dude.

7th Jul 2017, 08:12

You are going to pay at least 400 plus shipping to restore (possibly) and by then you have already dropped the tank. I'd try Hemmings first for a decent one before pulling the tank.

7th Jul 2017, 13:19

A replacement fuel tank for a '66 Impala/Caprice fits only a '65/'66 Chevy full size, not an Olds, a fact of which 10:56 was clearly unaware.

And as to the dude's fuel cell tank suggestion, if you don't care about originality, why not just throw a boat fuel tank in the trunk?

7th Jul 2017, 17:15

Never tried it myself. But with the frames and platforms being the same, I would think it would fit with some modifications.

7th Jul 2017, 19:36

Check if a car fuel cell is legal in your state and ask a professional. It's maybe an option here. Don't bring up boat marine tanks. Another option is to search and buy classic cars with very strong parts support like a Olds 4-4-2 Convertible.

7th Jul 2017, 21:53

Is this is a 2 door or 4 door? No mention of being a convertible. Even if a mint ragtop one completed auction was at 11k at Barrett Jackson. So maybe we are looking at a 5-8k car based on condition. How's the body and paint? Then maybe up up 10k with mileage indicated. My thoughts. So is originality going to matter in a hot investment gain? My thoughts are a nice driver and put the top down. If this was a 4-4-2 69-72, I hear you.

8th Jul 2017, 11:51

Your power steering fluid or pump are either bad with age or needs replaced based on the noise mentioned. If lucky, it's air trapped in the system. This car, if sat for a long time, likely needs attention. The corrosion from the tank indicates more likely new fuel lines needed as well. I'd go through the car and redo the brake system and lines if necessary. Belts, hoses, radiator flush, all new filters and fluids etc. before racing Chevelles. This is a big car that is better suited for cruises, not pressed hard out on the street.

9th Jul 2017, 02:39

425 -

- 2 barrel or 4 barrel carburetor?

- Regular fuel or high compression/premium fuel?

If it does not have dual exhaust, get it installed - really wakes these engines up :)

10th Jul 2017, 00:58

My tip is make it safe first. Roadworthy. Then hop it up.

16th Jul 2017, 03:08

Good point.

The duals add about a 10% boost in power. That in and of itself is not much of a threat, but the sounds it releases might encourage more "spunky" operator behavior, which could lead to "issues" ;)

16th Jul 2017, 10:55

If it's a 4 door, please consider leaving it as is.

16th Jul 2017, 18:26

Yeah, because it's a crime if somebody owns a classic 4 door and enjoys it for what it is eh? Ever see a Continental with suicide doors? What a shame!

17th Jul 2017, 00:20

My dad had a 62 Continental Convertible. I couldn't see modifying its exhaust system either. Maybe a new correct top or correct upholstery or body work. Would love to have that car today though. I'd save the duals for another well deserving Lincoln, Mercury, or Ford product like a Mach 1 perhaps.

17th Jul 2017, 10:47

I saw an older Rolls Royce at a car show that actually has a GM V8 engine transplant with headers. What they also did to the seats and instrumentation was also a shame. Probably a smart move however if the Rolls original engine was bad. You can pick up an old one under 15k that needs work. The issue being with that, as well as other luxury cars, is the added noise. I think a nice luxury car should have minimal sound and isolating the road noise. That's also why you see very heavy sound deadening material throughout the cars. Even the trunk area. Why would someone add free flowing duals and likely a new air intake? The car may truthfully accelerate a bit quicker. But the drone from the exhaust to me is a negative. I had a 500ci Cadillac with no emissions long ago. It was both quiet and moved briskly for its size. Even if I put on a set of Magnaflows and split the exhaust, the drone would be annoying. On a large early luxury car at least. For a 10 percent or so gain, what's the point? These are not race cars. They are large boulevard or turnpike cruising at its very finest.

17th Jul 2017, 21:01

How about a crew cab fullsize pick-up with 4 doors? I see a ton of folks doing that. Would you consider that pointless too?

18th Jul 2017, 14:58

The pick up truck crew cab idea absolutely is great. A full size, vintage era, classic luxury car I would keep quiet. You could even add through bed dual high rise stacks on the truck. Especially diesel. Where on earth this analogy came front staggers the imagination. Maybe you could install a dual mode exhaust with a mild to wild switch. You can really up the decibels! Again my restoration on a nice classic isn't on dual exhaust. There's so many nice areas to focus $ on a period restoration. Perhaps new chrome etc.

19th Jul 2017, 00:52

So what. If it's a 2 door, what's the difference? It's still considered a luxury car. Not all duals are loud; do it so the motor breathes and performs better.

19th Jul 2017, 21:01

First of all, I do not own a vintage Delta 88, so this is only an opinion. I feel a 300 HP car of this model year with no emissions is fine and not in need of added marginal horsepower gains.

Secondly, in 4 door form I think adding dual pipes looks horrendous. If it were a 2 door in 4-4-2, Cutlass or even a Toronado I can see it. This is a Delta 88. I would possibly buy a convertible version in nice stock condition. This is a free exchange of ideas. If someone is open and specific with model and year indicated, all can understand the comments being made. You may love a 4 door with duals. There's very few cars that I like with too many doors. That's my opinion. You like what you like. I think the exhaust comments have really run their course. Other than the reviewer, who else has this car? There's got to be more comments owner wise to make this a much more interesting read.

20th Jul 2017, 15:55

Most 4 door full size models from this era came with dual exhaust from the factory.