2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.5 Liter V6 from North America

Summary:

Best car my family's ever had

Faults:

Fuse for right side door speaker needed to be replaced.

Left blinker needed to be replaced.

Every now and then needs two tries to start it up.

Some plastic interior parts break easily.

Front bumper paint chips easily.

General Comments:

Oldsmobile used their heads when creating this automobile, great styling and performance. Handles like a champ, reliable, great resale value. My dad bought this car in 2002 and it was used for about 2 months before. Only problem it had then was some jackass put a cigarette burn into the driver seat. Other than that it's a fantastic car. If my dad gives it to me I'm seriously thinking about holding on to it until it becomes a classic which I had definitely hoping for. I've said it before and I'll say it again I think GM should have discontinued Buick before they discontinued Oldsmobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.4 from North America

Summary:

I'd buy another in a second

Faults:

The car never need any major repairs. The interior had some design fits.

General Comments:

The car was awesome. For 215 hp, it really took of. My new Impala which has 18 more hp is only a little better at accelerating. It definitely outperformed my Catera. The interior was roomy, clean, and casual, just the kind I needed. The suspension was OK. It was definitely the funniest car I ever had. The car had the best front looks. The back needed a spoiler (which I had) to bring it up to par. It was definitely the best in it's class. The Intrigue was a great car. Maybe when I retire, I'll buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2007

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.5 from North America

Summary:

Shoot GM for dropping Olds just when the get thing right

Faults:

Weird sound from steering. Radio buttons also losing paint, all preset buttons. Dang paint peel!

General Comments:

Have loved the looks of this car since it came out. Have finally got one. Just got my 2002 loaded GL. About the radio, can I get new buttons or just use electrical tape. At night the amount of light is nuts. The thing that scares me is I have never had GM's magna-steer and at low speed turning (parking etc). A knocking sound like a loose ball joint sound is present. Steering is tight at speed no wandering or nothing. Sound only at low speed maneuvers. Have looked at tie-rod's and ball joints and they don't seem loose. Would it be the rack it self???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2006

22nd Jun 2006, 18:46

Found it. Intermetiat shaft. No more clunking. Now have 93000 kl (58125 miles). No light problems, no oil loss and get 27 mpg mixed driving. U.S. gal. Love the car.

2nd Sep 2006, 20:00

Well, now 96300 km (60187 miles). Still no problems, no oil loss nothing to complain about.

12th Mar 2007, 18:06

"Shoot GM for dropping Olds just when the get thing right"

- 100% agreed!

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS from North America

Summary:

I love my car and want the engine replaced with a reliable one

Faults:

Engine needs to be replaced at 62000 miles and cannot be rebuilt due to nature of the engine material. Engine problems appear to stem from manufacturing origins.

General Comments:

Beware of engine noise and get it in to a GM dealer asap before you develop major problems on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

29th Nov 2005, 22:13

Put a 3.8 in it if you can.

22nd Jul 2009, 20:12

I did love my 2002 Olds Intrigue. But, at 70,000 kms after regular maintenace and loving-care...the engine is gone.

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue 3.5 V6 from North America

Summary:

Fast poor cheap quality car

Faults:

Wipers would not park in winter of 2002

Wipers would not park in winter of 2003

Wipers would not park in spring of 2004

Wipers would not park in summer of 2005

A.I.R. pump failed 2003

Lights flicker

Triangle in hazard button fell out

Dash rubber appears to be shrinking

Power windows at times don't work

Turn indicators will not work after automatic lights turn on

Rust on bottom of doors and in engine compartment already.

General Comments:

Generally, I like this car. It goes like stink, handles great, has fantastic stereo, can hold a pile of stuff like a monster stroller for the kids and all of our other family junk.

This is the fourth Oldsmobile I have owned. We have always had GM vehicles. Unfortunately, this problem with the wipers and the way GM has handled it, not to mention the way the dealership has handled it will put me into a Mazda 5 at the end of the month.

It is a well known fact that this parking system on the Oldsmobile, also used on Gran Prix, Lumina vans and others, is very unreliable. Next time you are on the road and see wipers sticking straight up and down on these vehicles, you will know what I am talking about. Those of you who are suffering from this, please know it is not because you are not clearing snow from the window or anything you are doing or not doing, no matter what the dealer says... it's not your fault. If your vehicle is out of warranty and this happens, don't be afraid to take the wiper arms off, remove the wiper motor cover and look at this system yourself. You can fix it in 5 minutes and save $150 every winter.

It is unfortunate that GM forgot that Oldsmobile was supposed to mean the same as quality. Anyone buying one of these used, I suggest a different car if you are basing your choice on a prior Oldsmobile success. The old days are gone... it's time to get a Nissan or Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

19th Dec 2005, 19:29

Update... It is winter again. To my surprise, the wipers are messed up again. I don't feel half as bad as this time is was my half right fix that has lasted the year.

28th Sep 2006, 20:11

Update 2006.

My fix on wipers still working OK. Now, A.I.R. pump gone again. Turn indicators work a little bit, but, not often. If I push the hazards, then try the turn indicators, will work maybe.

What the heck happened to Oldsmobiles that get to 500,000 miles no problem?