2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.5 Twin Cam from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32252 miles
Most recent distance56780 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

One of the best cars made by Oldsmobile

Faults:

Other than the oil consumption, that everyone notices, I have not had anything gone wrong. Oh yea, gas consumption is something that I am worried about.

General Comments:

This is a great car. If a car is maintained correctly, nothing should happen to it out of the ordinary. Oldsmobile out done themselves when this car was made. I customized my intrigue and have it looking good.

When I was a junior in high school, I drove my mom's 1999 intrigue, it's bronze mist. It has 208,000 miles on it now. The only problem the car has had is that the alternator went out. It was replaced and everything is fine once again. As a graduation present my parents bought me my own car. Now, I have 2002 Onyx Black intrigue. Leather seats and all the other options of a GL edition. I added some of my own accessories that you would find on the GLS model, like wood grain, etc. Now, I'm an 18 year old college student who greatly appreciate and enjoy my intrigue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2005

14th Sep 2006, 10:33

Where did you get your mods at for the car? iam looking everywhere!

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

It is a good car except for the air pump

Faults:

The air pump in this auto has been replaced eight times.

General Comments:

A friend owns this 2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue and wonders if other vehicle owners of this make and model have had similar problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2005

27th Sep 2005, 22:12

I had the AIR pump replaced once. Next time if you want, simply have them clear the codes, disable it and drive it. It actually makes the car run a bit rich and produces a bunch of extra power with it disabled. Does eat a bit more fuel and will not pass emission tests, but it's a bunch of fun if you don't have the $ to fix right away.

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.5 Twin Cam V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Twin Cam V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9043 miles
Most recent distance19500 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

You can keep your Imported Junk, I love the Olds!

Faults:

At 13,000 miles, faulty power steering pump was replaced under factory warranty. The pump was not totally shot, just the steering was a little harder than the way it was intended to be, so the dealer replaced it. As far as money is concerned, this car has not cost me a dime as far as non- scheduled maintenance. We have been very pleased with it.

General Comments:

My family finds the Olds to be one of the best cars we have ever had. My wife is the "Hotrod Harriet" type, not so easy on the accelerator pedal, and the car still gets awesome gas mileage, and never "complains" about it. In fact, we love the car so much that that is the reason I felt compelled to tell others how wonderful (and often overlooked) this car is. I read many of the comments on this site about the other Oldsmobile Intrigues, and after reading all of the bad things about them, I went against the grain and purchased one. Best decision we have ever made. I have talked with many fellow Intrigue owners, and all of them say the same thing I do, that this car is of excellent build quality. I have not experienced any of the light flickering, burnt out power windows, or any of the other maladies that others are complaining about, so I will tell you that I believe this car ranks right up there with the imports. Except that it is of an American company, and supports jobs over here.

I must warn potential lookers though, this car does not ride like the Oldsmobiles of yore. It has a firmer ride, and tight handling to match. We love this car's performance, and the only reason I marked it an "8" out of "10" was because the has a beautifully performing engine, with a superb power curve (power at all RPM's), it could use a little more low end punch. I gave the dealer a "7" because I was (and still am) disappointed at how they jerked me around with the financing aspect. But that has absolutely no reflection on the car itself. We have received many positive compliments on the car, from family to friends, and even complete strangers!! I'd like to hang on to this car for a while, so I will be writing again to give updates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

23rd Jul 2004, 08:18

Give it time and you will change your tune. Especially when the warranty runs out.

11th Sep 2004, 23:40

I agree, Olds is definitely the best car and I believe the Intrigue is the best car I've ever owned.

14th Sep 2004, 05:37

Just an update to what I wrote originally, the dealer is really starting to re-earn my trust. I took the Olds in for an oil change and they re-surfaced all four of my rotors for me free of charge. When they asked me if I had any "other concerns" about the car, aside from the brake pulsation, I was proud to say "NOPE!" This car still hasn't left me disappointed yet, and as far as maintenance is concerned, it has cost me only $24 for an oil change!! Not bad considering I have put 14,500 miles on it since late March!!! Wish I knew how or where to write GM and tell them how happy I am to own this Oldsmobile.

-Proud Intrigue driver.

13th Oct 2006, 19:16

Some of your points are dead on. Power 100% great! Handling 100% great! Looks, style (people think you have coin when you drive the OLDS) 100% great!

I question what you think is great build quality though. As a previous Olds owner, I am a bit upset with this Intrigue. The little things add up to a question for me. I am die hard GM, Chrysler and even Ford since I support the home made product. As the proud former owner of awesome Oldsmobiles, a great Cavalier and even an unkillable Mercury Topaz I think you need to accept the comments on this board are accurate. I have experienced EVERY complaint on this board, not just a few quibbles.

I am glad you are happy with your Intrigue. I am also not totally dis-satisfied. That said, for others looking at an Intrigue... if you think it's going to be extra reliable because of the higher price or Olds name... it's not. As this person states in his "update" he has brake "chatter". This appears to be his only concern of late, but, it seems to happen after relatively low mileage is on the break job (again, I have had all of the problems on this board including the brake problem).

ALL OF MY COMMENTS SAID, I HAVE THE CAR STILL. I LOVE THE CAR STILL FOR ALL OF IT'S GREAT THINGS LIKE HANDLING AND POWER.

Just make sure those are the things you like, otherwise, you may have problems coping with the issues you have with your Intrigue.

2002 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX Base 3.5 Liter Twin Cam V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter Twin Cam V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

So far, a high performance luxury sedan-even in basic form!!

Faults:

The only complaint that I have about the car is that the power steering failed (it only happened intermittently) at 12500 miles. Other than that, it starts right up every morning, and there are NO problems.

General Comments:

I love the way that this car does everything. Well, actually, the brakes could afford to be a little larger for the size of the car, and it could definitely use a little more low end torque. Not to say that it is underpowered, because it certainly is not. The moment I drove this car I was in love with the engine, it is so refined feeling and smooth! I feel confident racing a whole host of cars, including anything with a Series II 3800 (I've smoked a few already!!). The car is extremely comfortable in the front and back, although rear leg room is a bit sparse. I am 6'5, and I have absolutely no problems fitting in it, in fact I can stretch my legs a bit. I have received many positive compliments on it's sleek, yet elegant lines, including from my VERY critical best friend. That's an accomplishment all in it's own. My pregnant fiancee loves the car too- for it's looks and comfort!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2004

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews