2006 Perodua Myvi Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2006 Perodua Myvi EZi 1.3 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Rattling sound appeared at front passenger's door one month after the car was collected.

General Comments:

In a nutshell, this super-mini has a spacious and quiet cabin, and is a well-built car..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2007

2006 Perodua Myvi EZi 1.3 DVVT from Malaysia

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 DVVT Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired55 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres

Summary:

Spacious

Faults:

There are some annoying sound coming out from the dashboard.

General Comments:

The car is great. Spacious. Performance is acceptable since this is a small family car. However, the build quality of the car is on the down side. Annoying sounds coming from everywhere especially from dashboard. This problem was not solved by the service center.

Overall, this is a good, affordable, cheap to own car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2007

2006 Perodua Myvi EZi K3-VE from Malaysia

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission K3-VE Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70 kilometres
Most recent distance9500 kilometres

Summary:

High fuel consumption car

Faults:

1. High fuel consumption. I mainly use for city drive ONLY. It is about RM 0.20 - RM 0.22/km (RM 1.92 per litre, which translates to 11.5L/km which is very high).

2. Dashboard has lots of noise like parts have come loose

3. Not recommended for a newbie as there are blind-spots all over

4. Steering has a popping noise whenever I turn left, and the service center couldn't solve it.

5. Interior plastic prone to be scratched.

General Comments:

It is quite spacious and can be said to rate top among our national cars.

Due to the reason I am having other makes of cars in my house car porch, I am using them as benchmark.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd January, 2007

21st Mar 2008, 10:53

I agree with you about the fuel consumption. I use Myvi EZI, the fuel consumption is about 11.8km per liter.

29th Jun 2011, 10:02

Be happy about 11.8 per liter.. Drive a Saga and you'll know. I'm getting 7.5 per liter from my 2010 Saga with only 8k km :(

2006 Perodua Myvi 1.3 SXi 1.3 DOHC DVVT petrol from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 DOHC DVVT petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72 kilometres
Most recent distance5500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Value for money, cheapest "modern car"

Faults:

When you brake, you can hear some high pitch noise. Other than this, everything is in good condition.

General Comments:

Very roomy and have very good leg rooms especially for the rear seats.

Air cond is excellent, really cooling even the sun shines at full brightness.

Bright red LED rear lights.

At this price, you won't be able to find any cars that comes with ABS, two airbags, immobilizer, and EFI 16 valves DOHC DVVT engine.

I love this car, but I have a few comments.

In my opinion, Perodua should install 90/100W headlights instead of 55/60W.

4th gear and 5th gear do not show much difference.

Should not have a latch to open the trunk, should be opened by key instead.

Overall, this is the cheapest "modern car" available for Malaysians. Much better than any cars offered by Proton.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2006

2nd Jun 2007, 14:17

If you want to improve the light power, use Philips Xtreme+80% H4 halogen bulbs. They give 80% more light and are road legal. I have fitted these to my MYVI to great effect.

Why would you want a key to open the boot? UK spec cars have remote locking and the handle on the boot lid opens the boot. This is far better than using the key!!

2006 Perodua Myvi SX 1.3 from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance11500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

A worth to buy car

Faults:

Engine hood hook plastic holder broken at 11000km and it's now waiting to be changed via warranty claim.

Have some noises at the air cond. vents area when go through bumps.

Radio cannot be turned off after 1 month and it's changed.

General Comments:

This car is worth to buy at it's price and features.

Great leg room for which is more than enough for a six footer.

The fuel consumption is great where I can get the best record of 17km/l (urban and extra urban with traffic jam)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

2006 Perodua Myvi 1.0SR 1.0 EFI DOHC DVVT from Malaysia

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 EFI DOHC DVVT Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance1350 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Economical supermini for a young family of five

Faults:

None yet.

General Comments:

Roomy for a family of five -- children aged 10, 8 and 6.

Comfortable for long trips. Like the recent 850 km round trip to the capital city of Sarawak in the searing heat. In the middle of a prolonged drought.

Air-conditioner seriously cool, even at medium setting.

Needs MP3-compatiblity in stereo set. Better speakers needed too.

Noise in cabin starts to get uncomfortable above 3000 rpm.

Average weekly distance of 300 km in town driving, fuel comes to just RM30 (US$8.11). Just what a budget-consciousness family needs at a time when fuel prices are soaring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

17th Jan 2007, 19:22

Nice car. But it is not a super mini. Just an ordinary K Class Car with ample space provided.

10th Mar 2007, 06:54

MyVi is a SuperMini based on the latest model Toyota/Daihatsu Sirion.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews