1998 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 15 of 17

1998 Peugeot 106 Look 2 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Cheap to run and good to drive!

Faults:

Required an inertia cut out switch on the ignition at 1500 miles. After that, nothing.

General Comments:

Gets an oil change every 9000 and a gallon of petrol every 45 miles and goes like a clock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2001

1998 Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106 1.0

Summary:

Fastest hot hatch for the price

Faults:

Sometimes had trouble starting. Must be immobiliser related as removing the key and reinserting seems to fix.

Noisy tappets since bought.

Alternator belt needs tightened.

All of the above were minor faults.

General Comments:

This is an excellent hot hatch. Peugeot really considered what the consumer wanted when designing this car. It is very light, fast and handles like a dream. Faster than a SAXO VTR and would probably give a SAXO VTS a run for its money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

3rd Apr 2001, 07:22

I had the same problem with starting. Taking the key out and re-fitting would work, but this got worse. The dealer supplied new keys with no fix. In the end I had to hit the steering column to start. The problem was a faulty immobiliser (transponder) aerial in the steering column. A new one fixed it.

Martin.

106 Rallye fan

1998 Peugeot 106 Rallye from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Stripped out pocket rocket

Faults:

Only minor niggles really.

Leaky rocker cover (oil came out!!) only cost £15 to repair.

Poor CD player that broke.

But seems to be bolted together OK.

General Comments:

Excellent little car. Funny to see big BMW's on the motorway panic when you follow them up to 125mph!!

Good as standard, unreal when modified - change those wheels!!

Don't be too cocky with the lift off over-steer as I managed to smack into a ditch @ 85mph - not a scratch on the car, but requires wider wheels (more grip).

Mine seems to be quicker than standard though it is untouched, 0-60 in 7.5 seconds!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

29th Sep 2003, 06:57

Come challenge a Citroen AX GT then we shall see which is more amazing!

27th Jan 2006, 16:46

The 106 1.6 rallye is the best of all 106's, once properly modified it will destroy most of the competition. Ax Gt's are nothing compared to the RALLYE! 185/55/R14 will give you the best balance.

17th Feb 2006, 09:40

I'm sorry, but there is absolutely no need to upgrade wheel size to give more grip. Why do you think peugeot put 175s on it? because it offers the best grip/handling compromise with good steering feel. From experience putting wider tires on a car from std just makes it more numb to drive. It won't handle half as well in the wet either! :)

Tim.

P.s. going off into a ditch at 85mph is less to do with the tire size and more to do with the speed and angle entered!

1998 Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTi

Summary:

Lighter, cheaper, faster

Faults:

Faulty alternator - the car wouldn't start if it had been left in the rain over night. Peugeot had 4 attempts at fixing the problem and in the end an AA man told them how!

Steel wheels rust and go yellow (but this can be sorted out using Wonder Wheels cleaner).

Steering wheel is ugly and plastic (but with no air bag, making upgrading to a Momo very easy!).

General Comments:

I bought this as a replacement for a 205 GTi, and it's everything that car was and more. The review in CAR magazine said it was better than the 106 GTi - for 3k less.

This car can do 0-100 in under 25 secs, which is as fast as a Puma 1.7. I just love humiliating drivers whose cars cost over twice as much.

If only more manufacturers would realise that we don't all want to pay through the nose for creature comforts - we'd rather just have light weight and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

19th Feb 2006, 07:11

It's a good time when you consider the price and engine size of the car.

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles

Summary:

You've got to drive it to believe it

Faults:

Broken tape deck - fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

When I test drove the car before I purchased it, I only drove slowly and didn't push it too hard. I picked the car for its looks, it was only when I got home and put my foot down that I realized that I had just made an excellent decision. I find myself making excuses to drive somewhere. It's the most fun you can have with your clothes on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 66 reviews